A Day in the Writing Life of … Rhian Cahill

Warning : Some content not suitable for under 18.

Welcome, Rhian and thank you for sharing a day in your writing life.

Where do you write?    

I have an office/desk and it’s pretty much where I always write. Sometimes I might go elsewhere in the house and write by hand or edit on paper but this is usually where you’ll find me. And yes, it tends to be ordered chaos most of the time.

 What’s the first think you do before you begin to write? 

Answer emails. I usually get up, wake the kids for school and head straight for the kitchen and the kettle. Once I’ve got that first cup of tea in hand I’m at my desk switching the computer on. Nothing settles in the house until around 9-9:30 so I don’t even TRY to write before that. Or without another cuppa. *grin*

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms? 

I’m a complete pantser! OMG! I swear, even when I plan a small section of story the characters head in the other direction. As for editing as I go, I’m one of those writers who doesn’t put a word down until it’s right in my head. I sometimes re-read the last scene to ground me back in the story but I don’t edit until after the beta readers and CP’s have had their hands on it.

 Do you have a schedule that you follow for your writing time? Are you a goal setter with your writing? 

I’m more ‘go with the flow’ on everything. I live like that through necessity so I guess it’s only natural that it would be the way I am with writing. I set goals but I don’t beat myself up when I miss them because I’d say I’d miss nearly half of them. I’m the mother of four+one+one+one and believe me while the three +one’s don’t live with us it’s still an effort to make sure everyone is fed and watered on time. Of course the four that do live here supply me with enough washing and cleaning to fill every minute of every day and they always need me to do something, go somewhere. I think it was easier when they were younger and only had the lives I gave them. lol

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions? 

I’ve never needed to do this because I’m always getting up to do something, whether it be washing, running a kid somewhere or making a cuppa, I leave the desk regularly enough not to need to do any of this.

 Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write? 

A cuppa, dictionary (3), thesaurus (2), chocolate stash in Mr.C’s wine fridge and my diary.

What writing tools do you favour?

PC but I do write long hand when a scene isn’t working like it should. For some reason, maybe it’s the slower pace, I always find the right way to put the words on the page.

 What’s the last thing you do before you finish your daily writing session? 

BACK UP THE FILE!!!!

Rhian’s latest release is out 17th January 2012 through Samhain Publishing.

For further information about Rhian and her books, please check out her website and blog :

Website – http://rhiancahill.com/ 

Blog – http://rhiancahill.com/blog/

Thanks, Rhian. We wish you every success with your latest release.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Maryde

     /  January 20, 2012

    Nice to hear someone else’s writing life is not well ordered and a little chaotic at times ….
    Love the poster above your desk Rhian. Is that symbolic, memorabilia or inspiration?
    Maryde

    Reply
    • Hi Maryde, my life is total chaos. lol The poster is actually a canvas painting of my first published novella. Mr.C had it done for me as an anniversary gift a few years ago. I love it!

      Reply
  2. Great to learn a bit more about you RC and I just ADORE that cover!!

    Reply
    • It is pretty cool. Mr.C recently got me the first two coyote books done as well. Just not as large as One Night In Bangkok. Now I just have to build my office big enough to put them up. lol

      Reply
  3. Good post :)

    Chocolate stash in the wine cupboard? now there’s an idea :D

    BTW – great advice about backing up your work at the end of the day. I always send a copy to my work email address – just the thought of losing my mss feels me with dread.

    Reply
    • Hi Joanne,
      The only person in this house that goes in the wine fridge is Mr.C and he’s not a big fan of chocolate so my stash is safe. *grin*
      As for the back up…….I feel like vomiting when I think about losing any of my work.

      Reply
  4. I can absolutely relate. Wannabe plotter whose a true panster.
    Kez

    Reply
  5. Deb Bennetto

     /  January 22, 2012

    I agree with you about writing long hand! I always seem to think more creatively when I have a pen in hand.

    Deb

    Reply
  1. Want to know a little more about me?

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Nicki Edwards on A Day in the Writing Life of R…
    animal rescue saga g… on BLOG BITE with Enisa Hasi…
    Leora on Conference Spotlight ~ Ally…
    Cassandra Samuels on Print Books Outsell eBooks In…
    Iris B on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,029 other followers

