A Day in the Writing Life of … Sharon Sherry

Today we welcome, Sharon Sherry, who has kindly agreed to share a day in her writing life. Sharon writes in the category Sexy line and is looking forward to her trip to NYC in September where she hopes to get more great ideas for her writing.

What time of the day do you write?      Mornings now. I used to try and write at night after coming home brain dead until I read one of the RWA ladies say that if you have a busy job that requires you to think a lot, write BEFORE you go to work.

Where do you write? Do you have your own special place?      I hadn’t written for the longest time and have recently started again. I have an office that I rarely use as I often find myself sitting at the kitchen table.

 Is there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?      I think about all the wonderful women I’ve met who are successful…and want to be amongst them as a published author. To do that, one needs to actually write! And so it goes. 

What’s the first thing you do before you begin to write?      I make that heart-starting first cup of coffee. There’s no point talking to me until then.

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?      I have morphed into a plantser…that’s a pantser who’s trying hard to become a plotter (they’re so much better organised). I used to edit as I went until Cath Evans got me out of the habit during an early BIAW. Now I go hell-for-leather while the muse is on my shoulder and worry about editing later.

Do you have a schedule that you follow for your writing time?      As I said, I hadn’t written much – only just returned to it in the past few months – so the schedule is simply to put something on the page.

What writing tools do you favour? Long hand, computer ….. I love the computer…and the message area on my smartphone where I put those little thoughts that occur on the bus on the way to work. A fun toy I enjoy is Write or Die (set a word goal and a time frame and go for it!). I have downloaded Scrivener but haven’t had time to learn how to use it and I don’t want to waste a day of the 30 day trial they give you.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?      I have a GMC laminated page that I’m trying to use as outlined in Deb Dixon’s GMC book… as well as an image board to keep my characters and settings firmly in mind (gotta love the McGrath home sales book…wonderful inspiration for all those mansions I like to write about).

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions?      By changing my writing time to before work, it’s write, write, write, rush into the shower and get ready and get out the door. That is my exercise for the day!

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?      Different coloured fine pens for editing and doodling, a vase of glass roses from my Mum, headphones to drown out distractions, the post-it notes I use when rogue thoughts appear or a GMC needs changes, the image boards to keep my characters in my sights when my thoughts wander.

What is your favourite form of procrastination?      Procrastinate? Me? I confess that reading works by other writers (aka “research”) is my favourite. There’s that old hint (and I paraphrase) “You can fix up something you’ve written, but you can’t fix an empty page”…so I start with a mind map to get the creative juices flowing again. Sometimes a mind map takes me to some cool places.

What’s the last thing do you do before you finish your daily writing session?     A word count and a big, fat sigh of satisfaction that I’ve done it!

I don’t have a website yet but finally have a Twitter presence “@ssherryaus” but it’s mostly about following my author friends and supporting them by re-tweets and comments. It’s good practice for the time when I’m announcing great news.

 Sherry, thank you for sharing your writing life with us.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hi Sharon, great to see you here. I LOVE the idea of a plantser. Perfectly describes me. Good luck with getting back into the writing groove!

    Reply
  2. Are we Twitter friends? We shoud be :) I so wish we’d known we shared a love of writing back in the good ol’ days. I’m sure we could have invented a few ‘meetings’ *wink* and locked ourselves in a conference room to write. That would have been fun.

    Reply
  3. Catherine Evans

     /  May 11, 2012

    Hey Sharon,
    Someone just told me I was mentioned – good grief, did I do something useful? Wow! I wish I listened to myself. Hope the words spill from your finger tips now you’re back writing!

    Cath

    Reply
  4. Hi Sharon,

    So glad you’re back into the writing- and ‘plantser’ is such a great word! Wishing you all the best as you grapple with your muse and then face up to morning rush hour!

    Chris. .

    Reply
  1. I Hate Schedules (AKA A Post With ALL CAPS) | A Serendipitous Happenstance

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Cassandra Samuels on Print Books Outsell eBooks In…
    Iris B on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Iris B on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Rhyll Biest on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    june on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,025 other followers

