A Day in the Writing Life of … Sandra Harris

Welcome, Sandra and thank you for sharing a day in your writing life.

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.     I write science fiction romance and paranormal romance. I’ve always been interested in the ‘not quite normal’ aspect of stories. 

What time of the day do you write?      I mostly write in the morning and if I don’t have anywhere to go it’s usually in my PJs until about 12. :)  I have an office filled with all things ‘Sandy’ where I usually edit at my desk computer. Sometimes for a change of scene I take my iPad into the dining room which has a lovely view that my muse seems to like.

What’s the first think you do before you begin to write?     Actually, maybe I do have a ritual. First thing in the morning after turning on my computer I check my emails then visit the blogs of writer friends. Only then do I dive into writing.

Do you spend much time reading over the previous day’s work?     If I’m editing I re-read quite a bit. I often consider editing like sweeping with a broom – you usually have to go over the same thing at least twice to pick everything up. If I’m writing I read however much is necessary to pick up the thread of the story and get in the scene.

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?      I’m a pantster morphing into a plotter. :) I usually edit as I go and attempt to get my draft in as good a condition as possible. Then I go back and polish, polish, polish with the help of my CP.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?     Definitely visual aids. My fabulous CP has a great collection of worthy hero material, which I find invaluable in helping me nail down his character. I love watching David Attenborough’s “The Blue Planet”, there a so many inspiring places on our little corner of the Galaxy. I also have a couple of ‘crafty’ books which I fill with flow charts so I can progress the romance in a believable way and keep track of scenes.

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions?     I take time out – or I should say my dog nags me for a walk, usually early afternoon. So we head for the nearby nature reserve armed with poop bags and water and while she has a grand time following wallaby spoor, I’ll mull over my character’s next move or current problem.

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?     LOL, that would be telling. :) OK, I’m game. I have two coloured glass butterflies given to me by my best friend, a pink and grey enamelled, lily shaped candle snuffer given to me by my CP and a stuffed Punxsutawney Phil (from the movie Groundhog Day) from my husband.

What is your favourite form of procrastination?      Oddly enough, I usually don’t procrastinate. If I find my mind wandering it’s probably because I’ve been sitting for too long and my brain needs some oxygen. Then I get up and do some house chore (there never seems to be a dearth of those).

What’s the last thing do you do before you finish your daily writing session?     Save my work and close my computer.

 For more information about Sandra, please visit her website : www.sandraharrisauthor.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Cute pup!

    I agree on the procrastination – why beat yourself up? Your brain knows when it’s exhausted…and those household chores always need doing ;)

    Reply
  2. Hi Jenny,

    Thanks, she’s a Cavalier who loves the beach. Hope the bustlepunk is going well for you. Thanks for dropping by. :)

    Reply
  3. Hi Sandra, nice to learn more about you. I’m the same, I can’t write until I’ve checked my email (and facebook updates!) ;)

    Reply
  4. Hi, Juliet,

    It’s funny how our psych needs that little ignition switch of routine to get going. All good character flaws, I’m sure. :)

    Reply
  5. Editing is like sweeping with a broom. Love it. Puppy pats from mine to yours.

    Reply
  6. Hey, Jenn!

    Editing, it’s just as hard work as sweeping with a broom. :) KC says hi to the Wagtails.

    Reply
  7. Thanks Sandra for sharing your day and a little of your writing process.

    I love to hear how other writers work and your day sounds peaceful and perfect.

    Cheers,
    Margaret

    Reply
  8. Thanks, Margaret. :)

    I know what you mean about hearing how other writers work, makes you feel less isolated knowing there are others out there like you. And yes, my day is peaceful and perfect when it goes to plan – and that’s never guaranteed! :)

    Reply
  9. How did I miss this. Sorry Sandra.
    Saving one’s work is a must. I have learned the hard way once. Lucky for me I had a back up on an extendable hard drive.
    Great to have a sneak peek of your working area.

    All the best,
    Suzanne :)

    Reply
  10. How did I miss this post!! Lovely to learn some more about you, Sandy. A dog should be mandatory for any writer – they force us outside even when our stories are consuming us!!

    Love the photo of you and KC :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,220 other followers

