A Day in the Writing Life of … Kylie Scott

Warning : Some content not suitable for under 18.

Today we have a day in the writing life of …Kylie Scott who writes erotic romance with a post-apocalpytic flavour, usually with zombies. Welcome, Kylie and thank you for joining us.

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.     When I started reading erotic romance I was instantly hooked by the emotional and physical layers it added to the hero and heroine’s (or hero and hero or whatever…) story. Also, the way erotic romance authors could move between genres from contemporary to sci-fi, say, really appealed to me.

Where do you write?     I have a corner of the house I’ve dubbed my office. It has a window looking out onto the garden that lets in the morning light. It’s a lovely spot though it’s usually quite a mess.

Is there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?     My muse works for coffee. Anything less than two cups is unacceptable.

What’s the first think you do before you begin to write?     I check out email, twitter, facebook etc before settling down to work.

Do you spend much time reading over the previous day’s work?     I try not to get distracted re-reading too much or I get lost fiddling instead of pushing forward with the story. Usually I try and restrict it to the previous two pages.

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?     I’m trying to learn how to be a plotter. I wasted a lot of time and words pantsing so a simple plot structure works best for me. Just a few sentences about each scene stops me from straying off the story path and into the wilds. Mostly I try to edit at the end. Or that’s the plan.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?     I like to make up a collage of images and save it to a file on the computer. Often I’ll have it open to the side of the screen while I’m writing to try and stick to a certain mood. It really helps me to cast my hero and heroine. Pictures of the landscape, their home etc are usually there too.

Is your writing space messy, organized or somewhere in between?     Yes, but my mother would be appalled. Everything I don’t want to immediately deal with or might need later gets placed behind my computer screen. It’s starting to get a bit scary back there. There’s also part of my TBR pile gathering off to the side at the moment. I’m not sure how that started.

What’s the last thing do you do before you finish your daily writing session?     Save everything twice–once to dropbox and once to my computer. If I’m feeling especially paranoid I’ll also email my WIP to myself. 

For my information please visit : http://www.kylie-scott.com/    

Flesh is available from 1st October from… http://momentumbooks.com.au/books/flesh/   

And Kylie’s Hot Down Under short story, Room with a View, is available 1st November from… http://momentumbooks.com.au/books/room-with-a-view/

Kylie, thank you so much for sharing with us a day in your writing life and we wish you every success with your current and forthcoming releases.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Howdy. Just crawled out of bed so if any of your heroes or heroine saw me I’d probably be shot instantly. And a good thing too. Congratulations.

    Reply
  2. Great to learn more about your writing day, Kylie. I so understand the messy desk. eeek!

    Reply
  1. Stress and the Part Time Writer « Writing Is Hard Work
  2. What I’ve Learned Today « All Paranormal Writing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,257 other followers

