Blog Bites with Carla Caruso

 Introducing the lovely Carla Caruso.

I write: Romantic comedy (and yes, I’m a sucker for a Jennifer Aniston movie, too)

I’m from: Adelaide (recently returning from a three-year stint in Sydney)

Three words to describe me: Creative, easy-going, humour-loving

At home I cook: …Actually, I burn! My hubby’s the household chef. (Who knew you could burn couscous? I found out I could the other day…)

My worst habit is: Being easily distracted from knuckling down and writing

It’s a bit daggy but I love: Retro music like ‘90s R&B, ‘80s pop and easy-listening (my parents always had the radio on at home). Oh, and I treat my cat, Luca, like my baby…

My first job was: as a check-out chick (a pretty hopeless one, too)

My day job is: a freelance journalist

Saving for: a house extension – we’re doing up an old bungalow, which could do with a nice, airy, open-plan extension out back

Three things people might not know about me are: I have a super scent, a salty tooth (as opposed to a sweet one) and I’m a dunce at speaking Italian despite my name

Favourite author: Sophie Kinsella hands down

Favourite movie: The Vow (Channing Tatum’s doing it for me at the moment!)

Plotter or pantser: Plotter, but not a hard-core one – I keep the plot points brief and write copious notes as I go along

I would most like to meet: Ex-magazine queen-turned-novelist Maggie Alderson – another author crush. I think she’d be cool!

Why I write: Because it makes me happy – and it’s the only thing I’m good at (as opposed to check-out operating and cooking)


Latest project:
Cityglitter (Destiny Romance) – it’s a fun romance about a gorgeous fairy living a glam life in the big city, who does the one thing she promised herself she’d never do: fall in love with a human, www.destinyromance.com. Oh, and I have my first short story coming out with alfiedog.com called The Grass is Greener on November 18

Thank you Carla for sharing a bite.

If you would like to learn more about Carla and her novels, go to her site http://www.carlacaruso.com.au/blog.html

 

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Carmen

     /  November 16, 2012

    Hello from a fellow salt tooth! I read this while eating vegemite on toast. ;) Congratulations on your release, Carla.

    Reply
  2. Mmm… Vegemite hehe! Thanks Carmen

    Reply
  3. Hi Carla,
    Hope to meet you in person one day. Congratulations on Cityglitter! It’s on my Kindle TBR list.

    Reply
  4. Hi Carla, Loved your blog bites!

    Reply
  5. Becasue it makes me happy! That is the best answer ever. Love it. Also salty tooth. Give me a pretezel to lick the salt off any day :)

    Reply
  6. Thanks Bernadette! And I hear you on the pretzels, Jenn

    Reply
  7. Loved learning more about you Carla. My problem is that I have a sweet AND a salt tooth :)

    Reply
  8. I do like ending things with dessert too, Eleni, hehe :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Iris B on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Iris B on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Rhyll Biest on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    june on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Lisette on BLOG BITE with Enisa Hasi…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,012 other followers

