A Day in the Writing Life of … Keziah Hill

Welcome back everyone to the start of another bright and shiny new year. I hope 2013 brings good health and the culmination of your dreams.

Today, we have as our guest blogger, Keziah Hill who writes in the genres of erotic romance and romantic suspense.

Warning : Some content may not suitable for under 18.

 

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.     Crime has always been my first love but when I first started writing, I seemed to want to write erotica. That’s been my focus over the last few years, but crime is calling to me. So 2013 will be my year of focusing on crime and romantic suspense.

What time of the day do you write?      I’m definitely a morning writer. I find as soon as I let the day in, my head gets too easily distracted. I don’t think it’s good to be so wedded to a time of day to write so 2013 is also a year of breaking bad habits.

Where do you write?      I write at my desk which is in my dining room. I live alone and have a small house, so I’ve been able to set it up the way I want to. Sometimes I sit on my couch with the lap top to mix it up, and sometimes I sit at a little table I have near a window and hand write.

Is there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?     Not really, but the one habit that works the best is to disconnect the modem and deposit it in the spare bedroom before I go to bed. That way in the morning I have to make a conscious decision to break my concentration and get on the net.

What’s the first think you do before you begin to write?      In the mornings, have a shower and breakfast. In 2013 I want to add a walk to that.

Do you spend much time reading over the previous day’s work?      I tend to go with the flow. I might read the last page.

Keziah Hill photo Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?      I’m a planster. I’d like to be more of a plotter. I write the first few chapters then fall in a heap and have to start from the beginning. It’s an inefficient way to write. But I’ve found writing like this is the only way I can get to know the characters.

Do you have a schedule that you follow for your writing time?      No schedule, no goals. Much guilt, much anxiety, much self-doubt. This writing gig is perfect for someone raised as a Catholic.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?     I scribble with post it notes, get enthusiastic at the latest mind mapping app, then ignore them all and just write. Although Scrivener is great for organising a manuscript. When I start to loath writing I stop and garden and read poetry.

Do you give yourself any writing rewards for achieving goals?      Nope. How could I wallow in guilt if I recognised I achieved goals?

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions?     I’m really bad at this and as a result contribute to my osteopath’s wellbeing.

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?     I have an RWA cup with pens in it, one of those tall jotting pads, my snazzy faux antique document holder, a rather tasteful lamp and my glasses case.

Is your writing space messy, organized or somewhere in between?      It’s tidy. That’s because the dinning room table is a tip. Keziah Hill desk

What is your favourite form of procrastination?      Sigh. The interwebs. The only thing that works for me is disconnecting the modem or use Freedom http://macfreedom.com

What’s the last thing do you do before you finish your daily writing session?     On the days I have to go to the day job, look at the clock and curse; on the day I don’t, look at the clock and curse.

http://www.keziahhill.com

http://www.deborahtait.com

wpid-9781743341278_Business-with-Pleasure_cover6Keziah Hill’s next erotic short Business with Pleasure is out with Momentum http://momentumbooks.com.au/books/business-with-pleasure/  on 15 January 2013 (actually available on Amazon now).

Deborah Tait has a short novella in Moonlit Encounters from TWC Press http://www.twcpress.com/books.html

Keziah, thank you for sharing a day in your writing life. We wish you well with your writing career.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I loved learning more about you, Keziah.

    My favourite quote? “On the days I have to go to the day job, look at the clock and curse; on the day I don’t, look at the clock and curse.”

    Brilliant, and so true for me too!

    Barb

    Reply
  2. Thanks Barbara. Time is my enemy unfortunately.

    Reply
  3. Hayson

     /  January 4, 2013

    Your post made me smile. I like that you hide the modem. I should do that as well. Along with hiding the cheese-puffs. I’m off to Amazon now to download Business with Pleasure. I can’t wait to read.

    Reply
  4. Cath Evans

     /  January 4, 2013

    Hi Keziah,
    I’m with you on that Catholic-upbringing-induced guilt. They do that so well, it lasts a lifetime no matter what you do!

    I loved Business WIth Pleasure. It’s such a hot little read :)

    Cath xo

    Reply
  5. Ah Catholic guilt! I think I read once that Nora Roberts writes 8 hours a day and blames (um credits) the work ethic instilled by the nuns who taught her. Enjoyed the interview :)

    Reply
  6. Hands up as another Catholic ridden with guilt, lol. Great interview, Keziah. Really enjoyed Chains of Revenge and I’m looking forward to reading something from your other alter ego soon.

    Reply
  7. I wish the nuns had installed the work ethic as well as the guilt Jenny.

    Reply
  8. Love the insights into your writing life, Keziah. And empathise with the guilt thing although mine’s complicated by being the daughter of a methodist deaconess and educated by the nuns – a double whammy!

    Loved ‘Chains of Revenge’ and have ‘Business With Pleasure’ waiting tantalisingly to be read!

    Reply
  9. Great interview Kez and love the way your mind works BWG!

    Reply
  10. Marydehaas

     /  January 6, 2013

    Hi Kez,
    Had a how you keep your writing space tidy.
    Interesting link for *freedom* what a practical idea :)
    Loved your new Short * Business with Pleasure* keep them coming
    Thanks Suz for the posting :)

    Reply
  11. I’ve just been reading the comments and can’t find mine! Gremlins! Anyway, great to see you doing so well and spreading yourself around the genres. Can’t wait to see what you do with crime!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    animal rescue saga g… on BLOG BITE with Enisa Hasi…
    Leora on Conference Spotlight ~ Ally…
    Cassandra Samuels on Print Books Outsell eBooks In…
    Iris B on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Iris B on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,029 other followers

