Blog Bites with Susanne Bellamy

susannebellamyI write:  Contemporary romance. My debut novel is White Ginger

I’m from:  Toowoomba in SE Queensland

Three words to describe me:    (My husband refused to answer this one!) A blonde cactus- Short, fair, prickly?

 At home I cook:  A top lasagne with meat and vegetarian halves; saves cooking separate meals for vegetarian daughter and carnivore son.

My worst habit is:  Pinterest! Lol

It’s a bit daggy but I love:  Old black and white movies. Casablanca  is one of my all time favourites.

My first job was:  Check out chick at the old Woolies walk round store. I manned the express register and was never more than two cents out.

My day job is:  High school teacher

Saving for: Next trip overseas. 2014, hopefully with my daughter. We have to hit Paris again now she’s grown up enough to enjoy more than the EiffelTower!

I procrastinate by: Playing solitaire, one more game then I’ll just check the emails. Oh look, more people liked the Mosaic Mini I pinned…sb book

Three things people might not know about me are:  I love salt and vinegar chips over chocolate (is that heresy amongst writers?), a single malt over wine, and I studied ballet for thirteen years.

Current reading:  The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney, then on to The Light Between Oceans by M.L.Stedman

Favourite movie:  Other than B&Ws, movies like Kate and Leopold, Hysteria, SKYFALL!!!!!

Plotter or panster:  Panster, definitely, but I’m trying different methods of plotting to see what fits my style. I do like to get to know my characters in a casual way while I write the beginning. It makes the rest easier.

Why I write:  I love it and I control the world within my pages. (Shades of  despotic megalomania creeping in here)

Latest project: Merger in Melbourne is my current WIP (check out the board and see what I mean about my addiction!  http://pinterest.com/susannebellamy/the-melbourne-merger/ ), although I’ve also got a half written ms set in Nepal with definite leanings toward romantic suspense. I’ve just got to decide which way I want to go with it.

Thank you Susanne for sharing with us today.

If you would like to learn more about Susanne and her books…and pinterest, go to her website: www.susannebellamy.com

 

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hi Susanne,
    Lovely to learn a little more about one of our members and thanks for sharing.
    Having a vegetarian daughter, I will try the meat on top it will definitely same time and washing up.
    Many thanks,
    Margaret

    Reply
    • The odd thing is that son will cheerfully eat daughter’s side of the lasagne too. I use a large pyrex roasting pan for my lasagne so there’s plenty for another meal. If I’m investing the time to make a good lasagne, I might as well make it BIG!

      Reply
  2. Maryde

     /  February 8, 2013

    Nicey to meet you Susanne.
    I swear your name is sooo popular with writers. All you Susanne’s must have been destined to be authors. LOL
    I too love the idea of half / half lasagna. … good call congrats on your Debut Novel :))

    Reply
  3. Hi Susanne,
    I had to give up Pinterest. I was becoming a slave to it, lol.Great to learn more about you.
    Louise

    Reply
  4. I’m so impressed by your half vege half canivore lasagne! Brilliant! And I don’t dare even look at Pinterest, I’d never be seen again! Lovely to have you on the ‘bite’ Susanne!

    Reply
  5. Oh, nice currentl reading list. Always lovely to learn more about you, Susanne – like you can be prickly :) Can’t we all!

    Reply
    • I was feeling prickly at the time, Jenn. Now I’m just ‘need drink, need sleep’. Three words was a tough call! And anytime you want to talk reading lists, call me!

      Reply
  6. It’s funny but I feel I control my Pinterest addiction quite well; it’s FB that gets me and I’ve decided I’m going to have to stay off it except for certain designated times. Otherwise, I’ll never meet the self imposed deadline for my next novel. Thanks for stopping by ladies.

    Reply
  7. Two questions, Susanne. First – is that you on the front of White Ginger, and would that make it your husband on the lower lasagna layer? If so, can I borrow him? (Mostly kidding, of course.) Second – do your highschool students know about your alternative profession?

    Reply
    • Hands off my hunk! LOL Venetia Green! (If I looked that good, I’d still wear a bikini) I love a new perspective but now when I look at my cover for White Ginger, I’ll be thinking “layered lasagne”!

      I told my senior students I was writing, but not what, nor my pseudonym, as I feel it could be misconstrued if I were to share that information. It does make it tricky to promo my work though; can’t be too obvious in my home town.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    kerriepaterson on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Sarah Belle on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    Sarah Belle on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    cateellink on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
    cateellink on Author Spotlight and Giveaway:…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,806 other followers

