Riding the Waves Conference Spotlight ~ Margie Mason

Welcome to a conference spotlight from the

Riding the Waves conference!

Today we have Margie Mason who will be presenting the workshop TAKING THE PLUNGE ~ Presenting with Pizazz.

  

MaggieNBio

A member of RWA since 2003, and former vice-president, Margie Mason (who writes as Maggie Nash and Maggie Mitchell) is very much at home in front of a crowd. As a nurse educator and workplace trainer she has presented to groups for over fifteen years. Margie also holds a Masters degree in Education, a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment and currently teaches in the School of Nursing, Midwifery and Indigenous Health at the University of Wollongong.  She presents frequently at workshops and conferences in both her nursing and Learning and Development careers, and was MC at the first ARRC in 2009 and the inaugural Chair of the Australian Romance Readers Association from 2007 – 2010.

As Maggie Nash she is published in contemporary and historical erotic romance with Total-e-bound, and as Maggie Mitchell, in contemporary romance with TWC  publishing.


Tell us about yourself in 10 words or less.

Teacher of young minds by day, romance writer/author by night.


Have you presented sessions at previous conferences, for RWA or other organisations? 

This will be my first session at RWA, however I have presented at work related (evil day job *grin*) conferences on several occasions.

 

What prompted you to put together this workshop for “Riding The Waves”?

One of the most daunting tasks for a writer can be standing in front of a crowd of people and speaking confidently, but in order to promote your work, it has increasingly become a necessity. For some people this is the scariest part of the business, and they would rather have root canal than talk in public. I used to feel that way, and I wish someone had given me some tips when I was starting out, so I thought I’d share a little of what I’ve learned over the years. *grin*

What will participants take away from this session? (OR what is the key outcome or take-home message?)

My key take home message in this workshop is that those who come along will learn to conquer their fears and gain confidence in their public speaking.

 

Will there be hands-on exercises or audience participation?

This presentation is a mixture of interactive games, activities, and a PowerPoint presentation.


Which members will benefit most from this session?

All writers: published or unpublished, who find themselves in need of public speaking skills

 

kinkybet_800

What is your latest/current/upcoming book release and where can members find out more about you?

My current release under my pen-name Maggie Mitchell is a part of the Moonlit Encounters anthology. It’s available at all regular online bookstores, and in print through CreateSpace. My Maggie Nash release is Kinky Bet and is available now from Total-e-bound and all online retailers.

moonlit encounters FINAL book page

You can find out more about me at my websites:

maggienash.com (Erotic romance)

maggiemitchellwrites.blogspot.com (Contemporary romance and Romantic suspense)

twcpress.com (Our writing cooperative)

 

Finally, we are so delighted you’re visiting us in Western Australia. Is there anything in particular you’re looking forward to seeing or doing while you’re here?

I haven’t been to WA since we lost the America’s Cup, and since I was born in Perth, it will be like coming home *grin*

~~~

Thank you, Margie!

Our next conference spotlight will be featured tomorrow.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m really looking forward to the conference and thanks so much for having me here today :-)

    Reply
  2. I’m so there! What a shame it’s not pre the ARRC. I guess I’ll find out all the things I did wrong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,705 other followers

