RWA – A Day in the Writing Life of…Victoria Black

Welcome everyone to another Day in the Writing Life post.  Today we have Victoria Black.

Warning: Some Content may not be suitable for under 18.

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.

I write erotic romance, most genres. I love reading books with that sexy side to the romance, and I guess lots of “what if” ideas have popped up as a result.

Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary?

There are two places where I write – at my desk with a computer, and anywhere else with an exercise pad and a pen.Victoria[1]

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?

I’ve read all the “How To” books and wish I were a plotter. What seems to happen, however, is that I get a great idea, jot down my plot, then start writing. But my characters start developing, and suddenly they’re stuck on a houseboat in Cambodia, and I realise I’m going to have to start the book again in order to get them off. Experienced writers – please tell me it gets easier! As far as editing goes, my internal editor is a nice quiet lady when I’m writing in longhand in my exercise book. But give her a computer, she snaps to evil, uncreative, pedantic attention.

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions?

I exercise a lot – an hour every day at the gym if I can. When you like wine and food as much as I do, you’ve got to exercise or you won’t fit into the pretty dress you’ve bought for your son’s wedding.

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?

Don’t talk to me about computer calendars and being technologically organised. There’s my calendar on the wall where I’ve written all my writing-type deadlines. My notebook I use at my writers group (Sultry Scribes, we’re called) meetings. This doubles as another deadline reminder. A note on the wall with all my email addresses on it. Another note on the wall, which I never use, with my writing schedule printed on it. Various pens and highlighters.

HeavenlyRevenge_SMWhat is your favourite form of procrastination? Do you have any tips to beat off that old foe “procrastination”?

Ann Gracie’s article in February’s “Heart’s Talk” rang so true for me. I do everything she said. My only tip is the afore-mentioned writing in longhand into an exercise book. I know it sounds mediaeval, but it’s the only way I’ve found I can just write, and the ideas and words seem to flow. Of course, the typing and editing on the computer later is a pain.

Thank you for being our guest Victoria.  All the best for your new release ‘Heavenly Revenge,’ available from Secret Cravings Publishers and Amazon.

For more information on Victoria visit her at http://victoriablack.htmlplanet.com/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Maryde

     /  March 1, 2013

    Nice to learn a little about you Victoria.
    I agree with the transfer of Long hand to the PC :) I think all writers should come with their own personal secretary LOL

    Reply
  2. Oh God, Yes! My lovely secretary would be able to understand my writing and type it out onto the computer. He’d make me coffee and give me neck massages. Of course, he’ll be tall and handsome. He can be dark or fair – my fantasy isn’t that fussy.

    Reply
  1. A Day in the Writing Life of…Victoria Black | Sultry Scribes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,762 other followers

