BLOG BITE with Sandii Manning

My worst habit is… Just one? That’s tough. I do have a secret love of The Deadliest Catch, there’s something about those men…Don’t get me started about the marathons!

My writing bad habit is forcing myself to sit down and write. One word then another. Even on days when I feel Purex is a better read, I make myself write.

It’s a bit daggy but I love…  Antiques Roadshow. I love to have a good cry when a hideous Toby jug that someone’s great aunt Ethel leaves them. Something so hideous you wouldn’t put in your fish tank turns out to be an early work of Lladro and is worth half a million.  Also whenever the jaunty theme song comes on, my husband and children run screaming from the room, so I get a whole hour of peace.

My first job was…  Deli girl at Glenfield Foodtown on Auckland’s North Shore, after school. After searching the pickled onion vat for the largest and most decadent I was caught by my supervisor. Lucky mum was a check-out chick.  I got moved to Produce.

Currently reading… The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

 Three things people don’t know about me…

I foster dogs for an organisation called Rover Rescue. At the moment we have Reggie who is just adoreable and looking for his forever home. He’s attached for you to ahhh over.

I make to die for lamingtons, even if I do say so myself.

I love anagrams – I’m demon at Boggle and take no prisoners.  

I write… because on days when the words flow it’s magic. One day I’d love to write for Harlequin Romance.

This is my last Blog Bite post. I’d like to thank everyone for their support of the RWA Blog Bite and hope you continue to support the wonderful Jenn McLeod, who has taken over the reins. Thanks Jenn 🙂

Want to share a few fun facts about yourself? Email Jenn to organise your Blog Bite – for all RWAustralia members, published and unpublished.

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Kylie Griffin

     /  April 9, 2010

    Hi Sandii! 🙂

    Oh, I love the picture of Reggie – how could you NOT want to take him home but I bet he’s a little energiser bunny! Good for an active family.

    I really liked your comment about forcing yourself to sit down and write, one word after the other -there are days like that, when you think anything has to be better than the cr*p you’ve just written, eh? Good thing we can edit another day! *lol*

    Oh, and I love Boggle, too! 😀

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 9, 2010

      Kylie,
      I can see us at 3 am, conference weekend, demented, crying and wondering what to do with a k and a q.

      Reggie was one of my favs. He’s was so naughty but I couldn’t help but laugh at him. I cried buckets when he found his home.

      Sandii

      Reply
  2. Sandii,
    you’re looking tanned, fit and gorgeous!
    I had to laugh about the antiques roadshow, it’s something I’ve been guilty of watching in the past – I think it’s the utter laid back style of the show that draws you in (okay, it can be boring) and waiting for that elusive priceless antique.

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 9, 2010

      I do love the American show and people spotting the people in line and what some of them are wearing is sometimes more entertaining than Uncle Frank’s limited edition train set.

      Sandii

      Reply
  3. Bec

     /  April 9, 2010

    Sandii,
    Nice pic!
    I have to say i’m probably more a fan of lamingtons than antiques roadshow.
    Reggie looks lovely. What a great thing to do. Must be so happy/sad when they find a forever home!
    =)

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      Reggie found a home! Yay but I cried when he left. He looked up at me when he was walking down the stairs with a ‘but I thought this was my home’ look. Old Reg, I miss him. We’ve had Mia the retreiver mix since then.

      Let’s have a lamington bake off!

      Sandii

      Reply
  4. Thanks to Anita first for bringing us these little snippets of info on our fellow authors =) Youwill be missed. And thanks to Jenn for taking over! I look forward to seeing what kind of quirky questions you come up with.

    Sandii, I love the deadliest catch too. Anything with life threatening danger, guys with attitude, and the occasional ‘man overboard’ brings out the bloodthirst in me every time!

    Bron.

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      Hi Bron,

      Isn’t there just something about those Deadliest Catch men! I can’t explain it, but when Sig starts hauling those pots…

      I shed a tear at the passing of Captain Phil. He was my fav.

      Sandii

      Reply
  5. Fun Bites, Sandii!
    Snap on the Antiques Roadshow! Some of the things that people bring along are fascinating! Some are truly truly awful, some are utterly gorgeous. I especially love the ones with great stories behind them – how they were given to an ancestor by an artist/explorer/prince/other and passed down the family for generations.
    🙂
    Sharon

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      I love the woman who picked up a Picasso sketch for the local Goodwill thrift store that had been in the bargain bin. Can you imagine? It’s going to be one day, in line with my Goodwill bargain which of course will be worth ten cents.

      Sandii

      Reply
  6. Have you read The Shadow of the Wind? I loved that book. I haven’t read The Angel’s Game but sounds like a good one too.

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      I adored, adored, adored Shadow in the Wind and is one of my top ten books along with: The Help, Catcher in the Rye, Life the Pi, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, anything Enid Blyton, The Lovely Bones, The Time Travellers Wife, to name a few. I could go on and on…

      What’s your top ten?

      Sandii

      Reply
  7. Great interview Sandii. Love it that you foster dogs.

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      Hi Cathleen!

      I think we’ve fostered about 16 so far. I’ve got photos of all of them. They become members of the family. All different stories. We’ve had a few where peoples houses have been foreclosed and the dogs were locked in the yard and the people upped and left. That was Donny and Marie. We had Scarlett who had acid poured over her for a gang initiation – and she was the sweetest 3 month puppy you’d ever met. We’ve had dogs terrified of men. We had a great Pyrenees who silently rounded up the children.

      It’s really rewarding to help and see them get great homes.

      Sandii

      Reply
  8. Barb

     /  April 9, 2010

    Ahhhhhhhh, Reggie is beautiful, Sandii. He looks like one of those magazine dogs.

    And who knew you were the lamington queen!? I love, love, love them.

    Barb

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      Hi!

      We called Reggie the Disney Dog. He had that face. And he was kinda naughty. We all lost shoes to his chewing and he ate everything including a purple coloured pencil!

      Aren’t lamingtons the best? Hellish to make with coconut everywhere but just biting in… YUM-O.

      Sandii

      Reply
  9. Sandii, lovely to see you here. And I think the new man in your life is rather handsome! What a cool blog bite. I adore the Antiques Roadshow too – almost always have a goosebumps moment. Do you remember when a guy brought in Lawrence of Arabia’s watch and had no idea? This last week, a man had Charlotte Bronte’s bible. I mean, CHARLOTTE BRONTE!!!! How cool is that? She’d written all over it – you just wanted to get your hands on it. Well, I did. Sadly, I don’t have 20,000 pounds for the pleasure, sigh.

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      Wow! Lawrence of Arabia’s watch and he didn’t know! Oh, lordy I’m getting goosebumbs at the thought. AND Charlotte Bronte’s bible. Ruddy hell! Did they cry? I ball, especially if they cry. My children look at me as if I’m mental, but I don’t care.

      There was a woman a couple of weeks ago who brought in this oil painting she’d been hanging in the garage as her husband hated it and it turned out to be a famous Hawaiian artist and it was worth over 100K. I don’t know who cried more, her or me.

      I think her husband was relegated to the garage!

      Wonder if we can fit in a Antiques Roadshow at the conference. All things Toby Jug.

      Sandii

      Reply
  10. I love the Antiques Roadshow as well. Reggie is so cute, lovely to find out more about you.

    Sandie

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 10, 2010

      Sand i.e. from Sandi i.i. (I think we’ve got our own club going…)

      Not much to me I’m afraid! About as interesting as a rash. I think we should start an Antique Roadshow club! A seperate chapter of RWA.

      Look forward to seeing you at the conference.

      Sandii

      Reply
  11. Sandii – lovely to learn more about you. It’s been awhile since I watched Deadliest Catch but there was a time there when I just watched it all the time. I found the passing of Phil very sad indeed. He was a real character. It’s a fascinating profession and show.

    Oh and are we able to get a batch of lamingtons this way? 😉

    E

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 13, 2010

      The new season of Deadliest Catch starts here tomorrow night. The DVR doovie is all set to record. I expect I’m going to need a large box of tissues when we get to Phil.

      I’m starting to feel I need to back my lamingtons with a bake off!

      Sandii – off to buy dried coconut then find it around the house for the next year.

      Reply
  12. Sandii,
    Thanks for sharing things about yourself,
    And Antique Roadshow is cool!
    And I’ll be at Eleni’s house waiting fo rthose lamingtons.
    Thanks, Anita, fo rdoing such a great job here and welcome Jenn,
    Suzi

    Reply
    • Sandii Manning

       /  April 13, 2010

      Hi Suzi,

      I think we should all meet up for a Deadliest Catch Antiques Roadshow marathon. I’ll bring the lamingtons and the sausage rolls.

      Sandii

      Reply
  13. Karen

     /  April 22, 2017

    Im trying to contact Sandii. I used to work with her. Do you have an email address?

    Im from Ireland and in LA for a few days where I think she is now living

    Many thanks

    Reply
  14. Hello There. I dischovered your blog using msn. That is an extremely smartly
    written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra
    off yolur helpful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll defrinitely comeback.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    S E Gilchrist on 2017 Ruby finalists
    annajacobsauthor on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Bernadette Rowley on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Edexcel GCSE Maths H… on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
    Marnie St Clair on Emerald Award and Emerald Pro…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

