BLOG BITE with…Daniel de Lorne

Daniel de LorneMy first job was… as a shop assistant in a bakery. I was 15 and it was an after school and weekend job. When you’re 15 it’s not so bad (despite the terrible, TERRIBLE pay) but when you’re 18 and have to work at 6am on a Sunday morning, it gets a bit tired. I was there for about three years and even now, ten years later, I have nightmares about having to return.

I procrastinate by… cleaning the house. Once that’s done, I wander around the house looking for things that are out of place but don’t require too much effort. If there’s nothing left to do, I’ll clear out my inbox and check Facebook excessively before getting thoroughly fed up and bored enough to do whatever it was I was avoiding.

Three things people might not know about me are…

  1. I learned AUSLAN (Australian sign language) for about 13 years, off and on, and got to be quite proficient at it. I don’t have any deaf friends though so for the past few years I’ve gotten a bit rusty, however, it’s still lurking somewhere in my brain, waiting to be used.
  2. I’m the chairperson of a not-profit group called Project Numbat which is a community group raising awareness about the conservation of Western Australia’s mammal emblem, the Numbat. There’s a lot involved so I have to juggle that with my regular paid job, writing and a social life. I know it’s shameless promotion but check the group out at www.numbat.org.au.
  3. I’m not a beach person.

Currently reading… The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas. I love the elaborate plotline and pure vengeance that runs through it. The old writing style can be a bit much sometimes but you can’t fault the craft behind it. It also reminds me a lot of V for Vendetta, one of my favourite stories.

I write… paranormal with romantic elements (of a kind). Currently working on a vampire story about twin brothers.

Thanks for taking the bite today Daniel.

Please contact Jenn J McLeod if you are up to taking a bite at our Blog Bite so we can get to know you better.

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Kylie Griffin

     /  February 25, 2011

    LOL 🙂 on the housework procrastination comment – I think many of us can releate to doing exactly the same thing, Daniel!

    And halleluia to find another non-beach person. Give me a nice river or lake (and a fishing rod) and I’ll spend hours sitting there enjoying the water. Don’t mind dipping a toe in it either – no salt to dry on my skin or sand to scrape my flesh. 😀

    Good to get to know more about you, Daniel. Recovered from last year’s conference yet?

    Reply
    • Thanks Kylie. I’m not totally averse to some time at the beach but whereas friends go just about every weekend, I can’t seem to get that enthusiastic. Oh well, plenty of other things to do. And I can honestly say I’ve never been fishing. 🙂

      Have recovered from last year’s conference. Was a blast (once I’d gotten over my initial nerves). Looking forward to the next one.

      Reply
      • Kylie Griffin

         /  February 25, 2011

        Acck! NEVER FISHED!!! Are you nuts? You have to try it at least once!

        Great to hear you’re coming back for seconds with the conference, maybe you’ll start a trend and entice a few more of your brethren authors to join us. 🙂

  2. Kylie Griffin

     /  February 25, 2011

    LOL 🙂 on the housework procrastination comment – I think many of us can relate to doing exactly the same thing, Daniel!

    And halleluia to find another non-beach person. Give me a nice river or lake (and a fishing rod) and I’ll spend hours sitting there enjoying the water. Don’t mind dipping a toe in it either – no salt to dry on my skin or sand to scrape my flesh. 😀

    Good to get to know more about you, Daniel. Recovered from last year’s conference yet?

    Reply
  3. Daniel,
    So in sympathy with the procrastination thing,
    Must be a writer’s syndrome!
    And great to see you at conference and hope to see you this year too,
    Suzi

    Reply
  4. Daniel,
    Completely forgot,
    Hope you have a very happy birthday today!!!
    Suzi

    Reply
  5. Non-beachy people unite!! Good to see you on the Bites, Dan. If I’d known you had a pathological fear of fresh bread I’d have used that long before now 😉

    Happy Birthday to you

    xx

    Reply
    • Thanks Nikki. It’s not so much the fear of bread (which I love!) but more of bakers and being awake at 6am to serve people warm bread I can’t eat…and on a Sunday too…for barely minimum wage.

      Reply
  6. Sandra Harris

     /  February 25, 2011

    Hey Daniel,

    I have a numbat sitting on my office architrave! Cute little begger, shame he’s made of wood. 🙂

    Ah yes, the old style writing. I tried to make my way through Henry James once, gave it up as it was too heavy going for me.

    I often find that doing a mindless task lets my hind brain kick in and work on a knotty problem I’m having with an ms. Kills two birds with one stone – gets the ironing done and a step ahead with the story! 🙂

    See you in Melbourne.

    Reply
    • I’m often surprised by how many people know about Numbats. Quite often I hear people say they’re squirrels!

      And you’re right about using menial tasks to get the answer to a tricky (story) problem. I also find watching contemporary dance quite helpful 🙂

      Reply
  7. Sandra Harris

     /  February 25, 2011

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you…..

    Reply
  8. Hi Daniel! I can relate to the procrastination thing, but sadly not to the house work compulsion – as the state of my house attests!

    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  9. Hey Dan *waving* – great to learn more about you.

    LOL – I had a job where I still have nightmares about too!! And your motto should be ‘procrastination or us’. Though sometimes I use procrastination to nut out an idea that’s floating for a story (it’s the non plotter technique).

    And I see it’s your birthday. Happy Birthday to you!!!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks! The nightmares are probably to do with some bigger life issue, I’m thinking “getting ahead and not going back”. I know the terror is real though 🙂

      Reply
  10. Nicky

     /  February 25, 2011

    Hi Dan! Happy Birthday!

    I know those I live with quake with fear when I get ‘stuck into’ my housework – they know I’m avoiding (or *cough* working on a knot in) writing.

    Looking forward to catching up with you at the conference. They are awesome to attend. Keeps you going for a whole year.

    Oh & Kylie – I’m banned from fishing. Apparently the look of horror on my face as the animal is caught was enough to have the others say “don’t bring her along” LOL!

    Reply
    • Thanks Nicky! Been a good day so far. Trying to keep in the air conditioning (It’s about 38 degrees today though it feels more like 50).

      I’m inclined to agree with you about the fishing. Not a big fan of the whole gasping for air thing. I can understand how NOT catching anything might be good for contemplation.

      See you at conference!

      Reply
  11. Fun Bites, Daniel. I enjoyed reading about your bakery experience – I felt like that about picking strawberries. TERRIBLE pay and early, early starts. Ugh! And snap on the procrastination – housework is an excellent tool for it since it’s a never-ending job. Always something for an excuse to avoid a blank page!

    I hope your vampire twins are cooperating with their story!

    Happy birthday!
    🙂
    Sharon

    Reply
  12. Serena

     /  February 26, 2011

    Nice to meet you, Daniel. Hope you had a terrific birthday!
    Hugs
    Serena (who is mother to twin sons who thankfully aren’t vampires (she hopes!))

    Reply
  13. ooh, i want to read the twin vamp book.
    kez

    http://www.kerri-williams.com

    Reply
  1. Blog bites | Daniel de Lorne

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

