Author Spotlight: Karly Lane

Today we welcome author Karly Lane to the RWA Author Spotlight!


1.       Congratulations on your new release, North Star. What is the story about?
 

Thanks! North Star is the story about a woman who returns to the small rural town she grew up in, with her two children after a divorce in search of a new life. But once she gets there she realises she has to face the ghosts of her past before she can move on.
 
2.       Tell us about your journey to publication:
 I’ve been writing on and off for 20 years now, since I was 19. But In that time, I’d had kids and would put my writing on hold for a few years at a time, until about four years ago when I decided to do it for real this time! I joined RWA two years ago and from there it was upwards and onwards. I heard about e-pub and thought I’d give it a go. I have since had three books published, with a fourth due out late this year. I’ve also got a new release out with Allen & Unwin for a rural lit line of books. I hadn’t thought I stood a chance with main stream publishers, but when I heard about Allen & Unwin’s Friday Pitch, I thought, why not? I was really shocked when they asked me to send a full MS. As with the e-pub sites, had I not been involved with RWA, I would never have heard about these opportunities, so I owe it all to you guys!

3.       Rural fiction is popular right now, why do you think it is so appealing to readers?

I think its always been appealing, it’s just that there was never enough of it. I’ve always loved a good Aussie story, but there were very few authors writing it, and certainly not enough to satisfy an avid reader. Probably, shows like McLeod’s Daughters also helped to promote the interest in rural Australia. 
 
4.       Do you follow a writing schedule, or do you just ‘write when you can’?

Usually I write when I can. It’s getting easier with my children getting a bit older, but it’s still very much a case of writing around them, a busy family life, work and husbands! Well, husband, I only have one …at a time!
 
5.       Are you a plotter or a pantser, or a bit of both?

I’ve always been a pantser, until this latest book I’m writing, where I sat down to ‘get organised’. It does have its good points, but I’m really struggling with this book and I’m sure its because I’ve done too good a job mapping it all out. I think I need a happy medium, but I’m still trying to figure out what exactly that is!
 
6.       What is the best bit of advice you’ve received about writing?

Keep writing! Just keep writing!
 
7.       Since everybody needs a break, even when doing something they love, how do you like to spend your time away from writing?

Reading for me was always a treat, and nowadays it’s even more so because I just don’t seem to get enough time to do any!
 
8.       You find yourself stranded on a desert island, what things could you not survive without?

The internet and Facebook! Indoor plumbing would be really nice… are we talking ‘resort’ type desert island here? Because I don’t do the whole camping thing very well!
 
9.       How has being published changed your life, if at all?

It’s made me face a lot of fears about being out in the public (No one told me about this before I sold a book!) I’m not enjoying it, but I’m making myself do it, so I figure it has to get better sooner or later…right?! But other than that, nothing much has changed. I haven’t made enough money to justify giving up work- sadly! And I still have to clean the house and cook dinner! Hello? How many books do you have to sell around here to get a housekeeper?! (Apparently A LOT more than I have so far!)
 
10.   What are you working on next?

Another rural lit for Allen & Unwin.  Very excited about it.
 
11.   Where can readers get a copy of your book and/or learn more about you?

You can buy North Star at any book shop, or department store, like Big W or Target, or online. I also have a website you can go to if you’d like to find out what I’m up to at http://karlylane.com

 Thanks Karly for taking part in our interview!

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Louise Reynolds

     /  April 4, 2011

    Hi Karly,

    Lovely to see you on Author Spotlight and congratulations on North Star! It’s a great read with a bit of mystery, that angsty teenager you want to slap and hug at the same time and a yummy hero. Looking forward to your next book!

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Thanks Louise! Yes, it certainly has a bit of everything doesn’t it! Glad you enjoyed it.

      Reply
  2. Loved reading North Star, Karly. Congrats on your success 🙂

    I know what you mean about plotting too much… I’m sure you’ll find the right balance!

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Hi Helene! I kind of wish I was one or the other- would make it easier!!! But I’ll get there eventually! 😀

      Reply
  3. Oooh just started reading North STar so just wanted to pop in and say I’m loving it. As I only read at night (AFTER I’ve done SOME writing for the day), it’s keeping me up way later than I should be up 🙂

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Hi Rach! Sorry about keeping you up too late!!! I have that problem when I read at night too! Thanks for popping in, hope you like North Star 🙂

      Reply
  4. Lovely interview, Karly. Can’t wait to read North Star.
    And I’m with you on the plotting too much complaint. Takes all the fun out of it!

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Hey Cathryn,
      I’m glad it’s not just me then! I’m sure that’s why this latest one seems to be like pulling teeth! Never mind, I’m sure I’ll figure out a system sooner or later!

      Reply
  5. Carol Warner

     /  April 4, 2011

    Congratulations, Karly! I can’t wait to read North Star 🙂

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Hi Carol, thanks for stopping by! lovely to see you 🙂

      Reply
  6. Anne Smith

     /  April 4, 2011

    Hey Karly
    Congratulations on your Author Spotlight appearance! I am picking up your book at Big W tomorrow and am so looking forward to reading it. You are an inspiration (especially doing it all while working and not having a housekeeper!)

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Hi Anne! I KNOW!!!!! It’s hard being an inspiration while buried beneath piles of laundry and dragging a vacuum around, while slaving over a hot stove…. (Gee, If only I actually DID all that everyday!!) Hope to see you soon!

      Reply
  7. Karly!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! I can’t wait to go to Big W and see your book on the shelf! How wonderful, I bet it was an amazing feeling seeing it yourself.
    Congrats again!
    Tam 🙂

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      HI Tam! It was pretty special seeing it up on that shelf 🙂 Had to restrain myself from collecting them all and taking them home with me! attachment issues…MUCH?! LOL

      Reply
  8. Hi Karly and congrats! I’ve found with each book, some may need lots of plotting, some not so much – it really does vary. But I do need to tightly plot backstory because I can’t keep all those bits of info straight in my head (relying on my memory just doesn’t work!)

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Hi Paula! Thanks!
      Yes, back story can get one into a bit of a muddle!!! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Thanks for joining us under the Author Spotlight Karly. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that you get that housekeeper eventually! oh, and… try to keep track of all those husbands 😉

    All the best for the success of North Star 🙂

    Reply
  10. Zosia

     /  April 4, 2011

    I sound like a lunatic, but I’m saving North Star to begin on Wednesday afternoon. It’s my reward for getting through some painful dental work on Wednesday morning! I must admit though, it’s difficult to hold out that long!

    You really don’t want a housekeeper – we had one when we lived in Asia and hated having a stranger waltzing around our place and going through all our things. There’s nothing wrong with a bit of mess!

    Reply
    • Karly

       /  April 4, 2011

      Oh Zosia- ouch… will be thinking of you Wednesday! It works well for me, you may still be high on pain killers and the book will seem truly magnificent!!!!! maybe write a review while still under the influence, so to speak!!!
      Well I feel better about having no house keeper now…and you’re right, what’s a little bit mess? Now, where did I put that four year old?

      Reply
  1. Round-up of Aussie Author Month – Week 1 – Book Thingo

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

