A Day in the Writer’s Life of …Kristie Jones

Welcome Kristie

What time of the day do you write? Are you a morning, night-owl or anytime writer?        I have been writing ever since I could hold a pen and found as a teenager that music helped me tap into my creativity.  Now, I very rarely start writing without turning my IPOD on first!  I am also very attached to my computer and can’t imagine how I ever managed without one.  The only problem is, computers make it a little too easy to spend time editing rather than writing. 

 Is there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse? Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary?        I am very much a creature of habit and much prefer to write during the morning in the same place each time.  Even though I have a laptop, I like to work at my desk in the study.  My desk can get a little messy during the week but I have to clear it completely before I can sit down to write.  Otherwise, I find it hard to focus.  I like to work next to a window where I can get plenty of sunlight.

 Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?        Although I like to have my workplace quite clean and organised, I am definitely a pantser!  I tried planning a novel down to a lot of detail but found myself getting bored when it came to actually writing it.  I never did finish that novel.  Now, I just have a few basic ideas in my head when I start and then see where it all leads to.  I am definitely addicted to the excitement of seeing my characters come to life, almost on their own.

 High lights of my writing career…..        One of the high points of my writing career was winning a place in Varuna House’s ‘New and Emerging Writers Program’ in 2006.  As part of it, I was able to develop a young adult manuscript under the mentorship of Denise Young.  I was then lucky to have that manuscript awarded a highly commended in the Queensland Arts Council’s ‘Regional New Writers Scholarship’.  I’ve also had some short stories published in journals and the Chicken Soup series.  Now, I’m concentrating on writing my first romance and am having a ball!  It’s been wonderful getting to know the romance writers around Australia – what a lovely bunch you all are!

 Thank you Kristie for sharing your writing day with us. For anyone interested in learning more about Varuna House’s New & Emerging Writers Program the link is : http://www.varuna.com.au

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hi Kristie!

    Great post and congrats on landing a place in the Varuna New and Emerging Writers Program! I’m sure you learnt a lot under your mentor.
    So glad to see another panster on the loop too, we all love living on the dark side!

    Tam 🙂

    Reply
  2. kees2create

     /  April 15, 2011

    Nice to meet you, Kristie and welcome.

    I’m a pantser too when it comes to writing but everything else in my life has an action plan! Not that I generally stick to it …

    Congratulations on your achievements and good luck with your writing.

    Reply
  3. Kristie Jones

     /  April 16, 2011

    Thanks for welcoming me, ladies! Having a mentor was amazing – Denise helped me to focus on the aspects that worked the best in my novel. She also helped me work out a plot structure about halfway in, once I knew where I was heading. Very useful for a panster!

    Hope it’s a good weekend for your writing.

    Reply
  4. Gosh Kristie, by the look of that pic you must write when you’ve finished school for the day!!!! You are FAR too young to be a talented writer LOL
    Wish I’d started when I was younger. Yay you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

