BLOG BITE with…Lilian Begelhole

In keeping with our Little Gems Garnet Edition Blog Bite feature, Lilian is a Little Gems regular so we asked for her tips for writing a short story.

I usually think up a conflict situation between two characters first and then think of a surprise hook at the end. Then I just sort of fill in!

Three words to describe me: Short. Talkative. Interested.

At home I cook: Whatever I like

My worst habit is: Procrastinating

It’s a bit daggy but I love: The sound  of curlews wailing during the night as they congregate under the street light posts

My first job was: Library assistant at the Dept.of Civil Aviation Central Library in Queen Street, Melbourne.

My day job is: Paid job? A very distant memory.

Saving for: Nothing in particular

I procrastinate by: Grabbing the nearest book and reading, or playing computer card games

My secret skill that is no longer a secret: I “read” tarot cards!

Favourite author: I don’t have a favourite

I would most like to meet: Some brilliantly wonderful M&B publisher who will say, “I love your work and can’t wait to publish your books.”  (Like that’s going to happen!!!!)

3 things to take if stranded on a desert island: 

  1. My darling Richard.
  2. A survival handbook in case he runs out of ideas  🙂 
  3. A genie hidden in a bottle to be released so we can be rescued when we’re sick of being alone on an island.

I write: Short stories and M&B “Sexy” books   

You’ll find Lilian’s short story in the 2011 Little Gems Garnet Edition. Order your copy now via the RWA website. NOTE: Orders now will help us determine our print run. Books will not be available iuntil August 2011 (RWA conference time 🙂

Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. Hi 3rd place buddy. Good to see you here. I think there’s a long line of people waiting to meet that same person, so shove over LOL Have a fun day.

    Reply
    • Lilian Begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Hi Jennie. Many thanks for your welcome, 3rd place buddy!
      `One thing – major thing – I’d like to mention is the NQ Roadshow we up here in Cairns are running May 28th. It’s going to be fantastic, so maybe some of you might think about coming. Details willingly available if you’re interested.

      Reply
      • good mention. I love the sound of the roadshow. So many great authors. But alas my going will only be in my dreams this year 😦

  2. Hey Lilian
    Great to read the Blog Bite.
    We have heaps in commonn!
    Talkative, procrastination, first job (library assistant) and the M&B dream!
    Good luck
    Annie

    Reply
  3. Lilian Begelhole

     /  May 6, 2011

    Hi Anne,
    Isn’t is marvellous how many of us share the same sorts of things. Must be to do with just loving to write, I guess.
    All the best,
    Lilian

    Reply
  4. Aah. At last I see a photo of Lilian, the Little Gems regular. Hi Lilian. 🙂 Hope you’re thinking diamonds for the LG 2012!
    Cheers
    Lis

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Hi Lis. Beaut to hear from you. I’m not sure about a diamonds story – thought I might try and concentrate on finishing a publishable book!
      All the best,
      Lilian

      Reply
  5. Hi Lilian, lovely to see you on Blog Bites. I loved reading your responses. Good luck with your writing and I know you will have a wonderful time at the NQ Roadshow.

    Sandie

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Thanks Sandie. Yes, the roadshow’s sure to be wonderful. See you at the conference?

      Reply
  6. Anita Joy

     /  May 6, 2011

    Hi Lilian, you definitely have a skill I envy, I can’t for the life of me write short stories. I’ve given up trying 🙂

    NQld Roadshow sounds awesome. Wish I could be there. Enjoy!

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Anita, I reckon short stories are a lot easier than books. Take a lot less time, too!! I’m hoping to find enough discipline to get stuck into some serious writing.
      See you soon,
      Lilian

      Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      I guess, for me short stories don’t take much time to write, so they’re easier. Or most probably they suit my built-in laziness!
      All the best,
      Lilian

      Reply
  7. Hi Lilian,
    Short stories. I can’t write them any more. lol Although I started writing them a long time ago, I find novel length now suits me or should I say my plots, and characters. It takes skill to write a short story. Can’t wait to read your gem story. 🙂

    All the best,
    Suzanne 🙂

    Reply
  8. Marie Miller

     /  May 6, 2011

    Congratulation to you both, Lillian and Jenn, on your third placing in the Little Gems contest.
    Tell us about your ” Tarot Reading” Lillian. What’s the ‘closest’ reading you have done ?

    Cheers

    Marie

    Reply
  9. Lilian, lovely to see you here on Blog Bites! Congrats on your third place in the Little Gems.

    Looking forward to catching up this weekend to finalise all those details for the NQ Roadshow on 28th May!!!

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Hi Helene! Thanks for your congrats and waving hello madly from Cairns to up-up-in-the-sky. I’m looking forward to Sunday’s catch-up and Roadshow detail finalising, too.

      Reply
  10. Noreen

     /  May 6, 2011

    Lillian, loved your comments and looking forward to reading your story in Little Gems. See you at the NQ Roadshow and enjoy the conference in Melbourne.

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Sorry you can’t be at Sunday’s meeting, Noreen but looking forward to seeing you at the Roadshow. I’m looking forward to the conference but am feeling hellishly nervous about it. Being short’s no fun when there’s a crowd!
      See you soon.

      Reply
  11. lilian begelhole

     /  May 6, 2011

    Hi Anita, Hi Suzanne and Hi Marie!
    Thank you. I’m so chuffed that so many nice people are writing. Makes me feel all smiley!
    Marie, the tarot reading started many years ago when my daughter, then an obnoxious teenager, needed some guidance – needed it utterly and totally! She never listened to me but had an uneasy interest in clairvoyance of all things. So when I told her I could read her cards, she became suitably impressed and I could “read” the cards to offer – also suitably – several suggestions for correct behaviour!! Worked wonders! Talk about manipulation : )

    Reply
    • Erica Begelhole

       /  June 13, 2011

      Hi mum,
      It is wonderful to read so many warm words to you from your fellow writers. I did however need to comment on this “manipulation” – guess what ……. it must have worked. It may have taken many years to sink in, but because of your continued unconditional support (and tarot card readings) I was finally able to achieve my dreams. I know you will achieve your ultimate dream in writing but I send you much love and support anyway. Love from your wee daughter Erica xox

      Reply
  12. Lilian, I didn’t know you read Tarot cards. What a great secret — and congrats on your third placing!

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Yeah. Came in handy! I also used to “read” ordinary cards – great fun and lots of laughter once for a group of impressionable teens at a birthday party. And thank you especially for the congrats, Barb. You helped more than you realise.

      Reply
  13. Suzanne

     /  May 6, 2011

    Hi Lilian, congratulations on your 3rd placing with Little Gems. Will be looking forward to reading your story. Interesting to learn you read Tarot cards. Will be lovely to meet you at the conference. Happy writing.

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Hello Suzanne. And I’m certainly looking forward to meeting you and as many others I can in Melbourne – my first Conference.

      Reply
  14. Hi Lilian
    Lovely to put a face to the name. Good luck with your writing career.
    Shayne

    Reply
    • Lilian Begelhole

       /  May 6, 2011

      Thanks Shayne, and all the best for your own writing, too. Keep it up.
      Lilian

      Reply
  15. …I meant, face to the name rather than a name to the face!

    Reply
  16. Havva Murat

     /  May 7, 2011

    Lilian great work! Can’t wait to read this year’s Little Gems Entry from you. I, like Barb, am amazed that you can read tarot cards – expect lots of questions from me on the topic. See you tomorrow lovely lady ; )

    Reply
    • lilian begelhole

       /  May 7, 2011

      Hello Havva! I haven’t read cards for many years, but used to like reading ordinary cards rather than Tarot. I think I’ve still got my own pack of cards tucked away somewhere with the odds and ends we all keep as mementos of long gone years!! I gave the tarot ones to Erica when she was in her twenties as a laughing reminder of the person she had been in her mid teens. I can still remember the look on her face. See you tomorrow, kiddo.

      Reply
  17. Vanda Vadas

     /  May 7, 2011

    Hi Lilian

    Congratulations on placing 3rd, with Jenn, in this years Little Gems! I’m looking forward to reading all the stories.
    And you read Tarot cards? Now there’s something to include in one of your stories, or have you already done that?
    I’ll look out for you at the conference. You will thoroughly enjoy it, I’m sure.
    Cheers
    Vanda Vadas

    Reply
  18. lilian begelhiole

     /  May 7, 2011

    Hi Vanda,
    I used to know a Vanda way back when I worked. I’d never heard that name before or since until you. How about that?
    I hadn’t thought about including card reading in a story. It’s certainly an idea and could be an interesting jumping platform for a plot.
    Hope to see you at the conference.
    All the best,
    Lilian

    Reply
  19. Vanda Vadas

     /  May 7, 2011

    Hi Lilian

    Yes… my name is a little unusual. My father (Polish) named me after his sister. In Polish it is written Wanda, pronounced Vanda. So as to avoid confusion and incorrect pronunciation, my parents gave me the ‘V’ spelling.
    I too, have met one other Vanda.
    Re your Tarot plot…the heroine could have the sight and read cards, witht the hero believing it all to be hocus-pocus…until her prediction(s)concerning him come true…Oh the joys of plotting…Hmmm….
    Cheers
    Vanda

    Reply
  20. lilian begelhole

     /  May 7, 2011

    Or maybe she reads his cards and turns out to be so correct that he accuses her of spying on him and decides the only way he can control her clairvoyent pretence is to keep her locked away – with him, of course!! Yes, plottting’s lots of fun 🙂

    Reply
  21. Vanda Vadas

     /  May 7, 2011

    I think you are definitely on to something, Lilian.
    Now…come conference time, I’m going to ask you how the whole story is panning out.
    All the best!

    Reply
  22. I know I’m late but I wanted to tell you that I’m soooo excited to buy little gems this year so I cant wait to read yours.
    And one of my biggest motto’s (other than- ‘if in doubt, google it) is DONT GIVE UP ON THE DREAM! 🙂
    Good Luck and happy writing and procrastinating- I like reading too.
    Kez

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

