A Day in the Writing Life of …. Annie Seaton

Today we welcome, Annie Seaton who will be sharing a day in her writing life.

1.Where do you write?         I prefer not to write at a desk as I associate a desk with work and career! I use a laptop and generally write in a  corner of my living room. My comfy chair is bathed in sunlight throughout winter and catches the summer breeze in warm weather. It I look east I see the ocean and looking west I see the green hills of the Great Divide!

 2. Is there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?          If I am struggling with the muse I go for a walk on the beach. Some of my best scenes have been composed walking along the sand and listening to the breaking waves. (I am a Cancerian and love the water!)

3. Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?          Absolutely a panster. I start with a very rough outline of what may happen in each chapter, but my characters never do as I plan. I love it as they take on a life of their own!

 4. Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?          I have recently completed Angela James (Carina Press) Before you Hit Send editing course online.  Before that I was editing at the finish, however I have learned so much I now prefer to edit at the end of each chapter.

However, at the moment I am trying to get 18,000 words done in 10 days for a Carina Steampunk deadline, so ALL editing is being left until the very end!

 5. Do you have a schedule that you follow for your writing time?           Best writing time  for me is first thing in the morning. When my husband has headed off to work and I make that first cup of coffee and settle into my chair… absolute bliss. I find I can focus for 4 or 5 hours before life intrudes.  I set a goal of 2000 to 3000 words per session and generally achieve about 2000.

6.What writing tools do you favour? Long hand, computer ….          Not longhand!…. I would not be able to read my own writing. My laptop is like my third arm and goes everywhere with me. I love the connectivity… the ability to chat to people as you work and also the ease of research with the internet at your fingertips. How lonely was a writer’s life before technology?

 7. What is yourfavourite form of procrastination?           Checking email constantly and getting sidetracked. I close the program and only let myself check it every couple of hours or so!

The rest…..

  1. http://www.annieseatonromance.com
  2.  new releases.. not there yet…have yet to do my first pitch
  3. contests… have entered the Valerie Parv, Ignite the Flame (Central Ohio) and TARA (Tampa Area Romance Writers) contests with the first chapters of my category romance.

Since sending in this post, Annie  has announced that after submitting her Steampunk manuscript to 4 publishers only a week or so ago, she has received three positive responses in one day AND a firm offer and contract from Eternal Press. Congratulations, Annie and thank you  for participating on our blog.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. hEY aNNIE, i SEE YOU EVERY MONTH F2F BUT IT’S GREAT TO SEE YOU HERE, ESPECIALLY WITH ALL YOU HAVE ACHIEVED IN SUCH A SHORT TIME GETTING SOME RECOGNITION. BUGGER – JUST NOTICED THE CAPS SORRY. gOING TO FIND GLASSES NOW lol

    Reply
    • Hey Jenn
      Thanks.. I love seeing you gals also. I really look forward to our meetings. What a great bunch of people
      Annie

      Reply
  2. Congratulations Annie, This is the first of many I can smell it. lol…

    All the best,

    Suzanne 🙂

    Reply
  3. Awesome to see your name out and about. Great post and I want that chair. Lol
    Kez

    Reply
  4. Hi Kez
    It now has a table next to it.. as I spread!
    Annie

    Reply
  5. Congratulations Annie!

    (The other Kez – or at least, one of the other Kez’s)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

