BLOG BITE with… Nea Bovill, a Little Gems 2011 Author

On writing short stories:

I think the winning factor in any story, long or short, is the story itself. But that doesn’t mean you can ignore the craft of writing. A good story, badly written won’t get you anywhere. On the other hand, a perfectly crafted story that’s dead boring isn’t going to pull in a reader either. Cramming everything into 3000 words means you learn to cut the waffle and stick to the important parts.

 Three words to describe me… tenacious, creative, fun loving

 At home I cook… very badly. I live with my sister and her daughter and they’ll do everything possible to prevent me from cooking a meal.

My worst habit is… forgetting people’s names after I’ve just met them.

It’s a bit daggy but I love… watching musicals from the 50’s and 60’s

My first job was… In my father’s cake shop from the age of 12. It gave me a great work ethic and taught me to communicate with all kinds of people.

My day job is… Wardrobe assistant for TV commercials, music film clips etc

Saving for… My airfare to Melbourne for the RWA conference

I procrastinate by … Playing around on my facebook page, reading and rereading emails and pottering about the house. 

Three things people might not know about me are…

  1. I was born in a car on the way to the hospital in Nea St, Chatswood. Hence my name.
  2. I spent eight years as a copy writer for a vitamin company
  3. Part of the business I help my sister run, includes a vast vintage clothing collection

Favourite author… Robin Hobb, I love her fantasy worlds and the characters she creates

Currently reading… Taming the last St Claire, by Carole Mortimer

Plotter or pantser… Definitely a panster!!! I usually start with a beginning and an ending and join the dots as I go.

If I was stranded on a desert island, the three things I would take are… A hot Italian lover, a fully stocked cocktail bar and a hammock

I write… across genres – fantasy, paranormal romance and am trying category romance for the first time.  Too many stories in my head, and not enough time to write them all.

Thanks, Nea, for being with us today.

Orders now open for the 2011 Little Gems Anthology – Garnet Edition.

Sixteen superb short stories nestled between an amazingly beautiful cover.

To order, visit the RWA website.

NB: ordering now will help us determine our print run and while we do print some spares, they are usually snapped up fast.

Avoid disappointment by pre-ordering NOW!

Your copy/copies can be mailed out or collected at the RWA conference. NOTE: Books will not be available until RWA conference time (August)

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Hi Nea. Lovely to put another face to a familiar LG name. I look forward to meeting you in Melbourne.
    Lis
    LG Manager

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 17, 2011

      Hi Lis. Thanks for the post. Looking forward to Melbourne and meeting lots of RWA members.

      Nea

      Reply
  2. Fiona

     /  June 17, 2011

    Congratulations Nea… and what a wonderful way to choose a name!

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 17, 2011

      Thanks Fiona. Yes, I suppose being the fifth daughter, my parents had to be creative in looking for a little inspiration. Lucky for me it wasn’t Waterworks Rd!!

      Nea

      Reply
  3. cARMEL bULLIVANT

     /  June 17, 2011

    when you go on a date to you do it for research or because you want to go on a date? carmel – avid romance reader

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 17, 2011

      Hi Carmel,

      Thanks for the question

      Usually for the date, but sometimes if the date is interesting I just can’t help quizzing them. For instance I recently began dating a racing car driver, so surprise surprise, my latest hero is a racing car driver!!! Nea

      Reply
  4. cARMEL bULLIVANT

     /  June 17, 2011

    HA THATS FUN! AND CONGRATS ON BEING PUBLISHED IN THE ANTHOLOGY!

    Reply
  5. Jennifer Stevens

     /  June 17, 2011

    Hi Nea
    Congratulations! I’ll look forward to reading your story. Where do you source your characters?
    Jenny

    Reply
  6. Nea Beauville

     /  June 17, 2011

    Hi Jenny

    It’s amazing how the people you meet every day can suddenly spark an idea for a new character. Everyone has something interesting about them. I just take an idea and make it a little larger than life just for fun.

    Thanks for your post

    Nea

    Reply
  7. Mairi

     /  June 17, 2011

    Hi Nea

    Congratulations on your publication!

    You write across many genres but have you noticed any consistent themes, ideas or stylistic choices that keep emerging in your stories?

    Mairi

    Reply
  8. Nea Beauville

     /  June 17, 2011

    Hi Mairi

    Yes I have. Romance!! Romance!! Romance!! When I began writing fantasy I quickly reaslised I am a lover not a fighter. So there are minimal battles and more romances.

    Nea

    Reply
  9. Jackie

     /  June 17, 2011

    Hi Nea,

    When did you discover your talent for writing, and what advice would you give to someone who is just starting out?

    Jackie

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 18, 2011

      Hi Jackie

      Thanks for your question. Guess I always liked making up stories. Wriring them down took a bit more discipline. If you’re just starting out the most important thing for you to do is join a writing association and get in touch with like minded people. I find being part of a critique group invaluable to learning about writing and aslo helps me keep to deadlines. Other than that – Read, Read, Read!! and keep writing.

      Good luck

      Nea

      Reply
  10. Gerard

     /  June 17, 2011

    Dear Nea,

    I’d like to know who inspires you? And are there any common themes in your work?

    Cheers
    Stephen

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 18, 2011

      Hi Stephen

      Thanks for your question. I am inspired by lots of things. People I meet. Books I read. Movies I see. There are always new ideas sparking story ideas. I try to keep my stories fresh and different . If there are any common themes they would definitely be man meets woman and overcomes obstacles to find true love.

      Nea

      Reply
  11. Karly

     /  June 18, 2011

    I need a wardrobe assistant Nea! I have no clue about stuff like that! Good luck with your writing and congrats on littl!!!!e Gem!

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 18, 2011

      Hi Karly

      Working with clothes is lots of fun. Nice to have your own costume department under the house. Thanks for the best wishes.

      Nea

      Reply
  12. I’ve got my order in for the Little Gems edition this year. I’ll keep my eye out for your story. Looking forward to it. Love what you are taking on a deserted island, lol…quite agree. 🙂

    All the best
    Suzanne 🙂

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 18, 2011

      Hi Suzanne

      Hope you like the story I have in the Little Gems. Yes maybe some travel agent would like to start organizing Desert Island getaways.

      Nea

      Reply
  13. Ohh, I’m so guilty of the forgetting names thing. I’m like “Hey… how are you?” lol
    It was a great blog, Nea.
    Made me laugh. Good luck and another reason I’m so excited to buy LG this year.
    Kez

    Reply
    • Nea Beauville

       /  June 18, 2011

      Hi Kez (must remember the name if we meet)

      Hope you enjoy the Little Gems edition this year. I know I’m looking forward to reading it too.

      Nea

      Reply
  14. lynne kokshoorn

     /  July 11, 2011

    HI Nea
    Congratulations on your winning entry, I am so looking forward to reading all the stories.

    Lynne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
    S E Gilchrist on 2017 Ruby finalists
    annajacobsauthor on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Bernadette Rowley on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Edexcel GCSE Maths H… on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

