A Day in the Writing Life of …. Elisabeth Rose

Today we welcome, Lis Hoorweg  who has kindly agreed to share a day in her writing life. Lis is another of our tireless volunteers. She is on the RWA Committee in the role of Contest Co-ordinator and also runs the Little Gems contest and Anthology. She writes as Elisabeth Rose.

Elisabeth …What time of the day do you write?          

I write during the day but the time varies from morning to afternoon or both depending on my other activities. eg Tuesday afternoon is tennis–can’t interfere with that so any writing is done in the morning. I never write at night, too tired.

 Where do you write? Do you have your own special place?          

Since our children moved out my husband and I have a spare room each. Needless to say mine has the computer, desk and all my writing paraphernalia like dictionaries, ‘how to’ books etc in it. It also has a single bed which comes in handy as a storage bench particularly during Little Gems contest time. When one of the children comes to visit I have to clear some space for them which means finding somewhere else to put all that stuff  🙂

I don’t write properly anywhere else. I think a lot in other places and might make notes with pen and paper but I don’t have a laptop apart from my EePc. I’ve tried using the mini PC when I travel but I find the transfer of info between the two a real pain because it involves crawling about behind the desk plugging in the cable.   

Do you have a special system in place in order to begin writing or go with the flow?         

I do read over the last few pages or maybe from the beginning of the chapter I’m in to get back into the minds of my characters and also to see where the action is heading at that point and if I’ve veered off course. I don’t have any special systems. Not that I can pinpoint, anyway. I do like to get all my RWA committee or contest related things out of the way first so I can write without something hovering in my mind needing to be dealt with. I deal with emails first up which can take a whole morning depending what contests are running and what issues have arisen from both that and the general RWA committee business. There’s always something.

 Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?         

I’m a pantser. I jump in with an idea, a name or even a sentence. I see how far whatever the spark was can take me and then I start thinking about what is going to happen and who these people are. I like to have a title in my head and that acts as a compass point for the story–a theme. I like to get the initial thread down and work out scenes bit by bit then I go back each session and layer in more and more depth as my story comes to life and my characters grow. I can’t stand rotten spelling and bad grammar so my drafts are always very clean from that point of view. I also have my chapters pretty much organised as I go too, so I’m pacing my action at the same time in regard to chapter breaks. I write chronologically, too. I can’t write scenes out of sequence because my characters grow through the book and shape the plot. It’s like meeting a new person –you learn more about them the more time you spend with them. Often they’ll surprise you by reacting a certain way.

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions?

I’ve been practising Tai Chi for twenty four years and instructing for twenty one so I’m very conscious of any stiffness and tension in my body. Because I’ve been doing the training for so long any tightness in shoulders or neck from sitting at the computer and any pain in the tendons from typing can be alleviated very quickly with some specific exercises from my repertoire. I practise Tai Chi every day so no physical issues arising from my writing have time to become chronic.   When I’m sitting at the computer reading what I’ve written or thinking about what to write, I’ll often do some shoulder rolls, wrists rotations or overhead stretches palms up with fingers interlocked. Simple but effective.  I do find my eyes become tired and the only solution to that is to stop and do something else.

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?         

1) My diary which is an A4 size double page month at a time one. I write in blog appearances, deadlines, reminders etc and can see the whole month at a glance.

2) My To Do notebook. This is crucial. It has 3 sections: 1 for personal writing reminders and notes, the second for RWA contest co-ordinator stuff–this is filling faster than any other section and the third for Little Gems reminders. Pink asterisks mark important stuff. I like writing things down on paper and ticking things off when they’re done. Very satisfying.  

3) A glass of water

4) An RWA mug with a broken handle. I couldn’t bear to throw it out so it’s filled with pens and pencils

5)Lots of bits of paper with notes and phone numbers and goodness knows what else on them. Some of them have inspiring words and are stuck or propped around the desk top

My fifth book for Avalon, Instant Family, has just finalled in the Long Romance section of the R*BY. This is quite amazing to me, even more so when I look at my fellow finalists! Instant Family also won the Traditional Romance category of the 2011 Golden Quill. My sixth book for Avalon, The Tangled Web, also finalled in that same section.

 Book number seven, The Wedding Party, is released on June 4th and number eight, Love On the North Shore Line, will be out in 2012.

 www.elisabethrose.com.au

Thank you Elisabeth for sharing your writing day.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Hey Lis 🙂 your list organisation puts mine to shame! I have lots of lists – but they are written on scrappy bits of paper and are scattered over my desk, lol. Mind you, I’m a bit of a list-aholic, so not sure a notebook would be much use – I think I’d fill it too quickly, lol.

    Reply
  2. Louise Reynolds

     /  July 8, 2011

    Hi Lis,
    Love your orderliness. My desk is a tip most of the time and I spend lots of that time sifting through looking for that little scrap of paper I KNOW is in there and holds a vital piece of information.
    I was so thrilled for you with the RBY nomination. Congratulations!
    Lou

    Reply
  3. Hi Lis, *waving*
    Lovely to find out more about you. I didn’t know you were a Tai Chi instructor. I started Tai Chi earlier in the year. Love going to classes, but have yet to put it into my daily routine. Soon, I hope. As for paper bits – I’m so with you. I have notes galore on everything. The a notebook is a good idea.

    Congrats on your latest release.
    E x

    Reply
  4. Thanks Anita, Lou and Eleni.
    You all sound so impressed by my notebook 🙂 I only bought it when I realised that being on the Committee and being Contest Co-ord involved more deadlines and ‘to do’ stuff than I could possibly keep in my head. I have pink asterisks next to items such as “send trophy names to Lou–mid July”. “Send certificate list to Erica. Check Spelling.”
    “Take Emerald finalist pins to conference”. “do Contest report for
    AGM”
    Now if those weren’t done . . .

    Reply
  5. Eleni, make sure you stick with the Tai Chi. It’s along slow process but well worth the effort. If you’re in Melbourne we can practice together in the park 🙂

    Reply
  6. Your routine is obviously working for you, Lis 🙂 I wonder if I can sell my son to get a writing room?! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Maryde

     /  July 9, 2011

    Hi Lis,
    Congrats on your achievments. 🙂 I love the use of your much loved /damaged cup. I’m also like that. Tai Chi is very rewarding, did it many years ago, and thanks for the simple exercise drill while at PC. 🙂
    Wonderful to hear more about your busy life. Maryde

    Reply
  8. Sell your son, Kez? LOL I must admit I did try to sell his bed when my son moved out.

    Thanks Maryde. I do love my conference mugs. I always use one for my tea or coffee when I’m writing. Very inspirational.

    Reply
  9. Great interview Lis. Nice to know you a little more. I am encoruaged that our writing styles are similar (except for the good spelling and grammer!). Now all I need is a string of books and the occasioanl award winning novel :)) Will be cheering loud. Say hello to my #1 fan (your Dad 🙂

    Reply
  10. Will do Jenn! He’s hanging out for the next LG Anthology but he has to wait, I told him. He really enjoys short stories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on April OWLs
    Barbara Strickland on Love Gone Wild – Dance a…
    Bernadette Rowley on Love Gone Wild – Dance a…
    Patti on Ripping Start results
    Love Gone Wild Confe… on Love Gone Wild Conference…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

