Blog Bite with…Jennifer Hoff, a Little Gems 2011 Author

On writing short stories:

I must have a theme or idea that can be shaped to the word length but more importantly, I start with an emotion or mood: passion, regret, nostalgia, revenge. I use that emotion to give my story intensity and pace.

Three words to describe me: cheerful, tranquil, obsessive

 At home I cook: whatever I’ve remembered to defrost

My worst habit is: anticipating imaginary disasters

It’s a bit daggy but I love: ugly dogs

My first job was: in a tavern where the tips were bigger than the mingy wage

My day job is: staring at a blank computer screen until words start to flow

Saving for: a trip to the Big Apple in Spring

I procrastinate by: excessive tidying up

Three things people might not know about me are: No comment-I might lose friends

My secret skill that is no longer a secret: my copperplate penmanship is elegant

Favourite author: difficult- the full spectrum from Kate Grenville to Jane Austen

Curent reading: Graham Greene’s The End of The Affair

Plotter or panster: Mainly plotter with frequent bursts of pansterism.

I would most like to meet: Cleopatra because she had the trifecta-power, intelligence and attitude in spades.

If I was stranded I would take: a Tahitian lime seedling to have with fresh oysters, a book of John Donne’s poems to recite from wind-swept headlands, and my Intrigue lip gloss to greet the sun-bronzed rescue party.

Why I write: I write because ideas nag me untiI I can’t not write.

(Editor’s note: Orders for the 2011 Little Gems Anthology – Garnet Edition – are now closed but… copies will be on sale at the conference and any remaining will be available after the conference. Sixteen superb short stories nestled between an amazingly beautiful cover. If you are not attending the conference and you want one, ask a friend to pick up a copy for you. There will also be a limited number of last year’s Topaz Edition.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. That has to be one of my fav interview because your answers just had me cracking up because I could definitely relate.

    Another fantastic author to contribute to this years Little Gems that I can’t wait to get my hands on.
    Thanks Jennifer

    Reply
  2. I enjoyed your interview and getting to know a little more about you too Jennifer- love your sense of humour and great answers.
    karly.

    Reply
  3. Great name Jen! Must pull you up on something though. No such thing as an ugly dog 🙂 I can think of a couple of mangey people I know though LOL Enjoyed you blog bite and well done on your Little Gems success. Look forward to reading it.

    Reply
  4. Hi Jennifer,
    It’s lovely to learn more about the Little Gems. Copperplate handwriting–how wonderful. Most people these days can’t hold a pen properly let alone write with it. LOL
    Lis
    Little Gems Manager

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

