A Day in the Writing Life of …. Nicole Flockton

Today, we feature Nicole Flockton who has kindly agreed to share a day in her writing life. Welcome, Nicole.

What time of the day do you write?          

I don’t have a time that is truly set aside for my writing, so some days I write in the morning or afternoon or evening. I need to get a better routine.

 Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary?         

I have my desk set up in our main living area so that when I write I’m still in the same room as my husband and the kids. True the TV is on in the background but I can tune that out and write.

 Is there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?           

When I was doing NANO last year, the first couple of days I used “Dr Wicked’s Write or Die”. I set the timer for 15 minutes and just started.  I found that by about the second week I didn’t need to do that and the words would flow. I think for me to harness my muse is to write consistently.  Having said that I’m not being consistent enough and I need to change that!

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?

I’m a pantser but now that I’m working directly with an editor on my next submission I’m having to do a lot more plotting.  It’s a challenge but I now realise that to get a true handle on my characters I need to do a bit of planning and getting to know my characters well. 

 Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?

Hmm this is a toughie.  The manuscripts I’ve submitted I’ve tended to edit after the MS is completed.  I take the notes from my critique group and add in suggestions I like and take out things that don’t work. I’m thinking I may now need to change this and perhaps edit during the initial writing of the MS.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?

Not usually, but with this new manuscript I’m working on I’m using character charts with pictures of my hero and heroine.  Once I’ve got them all sorted out I’ll print the document out so that I can refer to it more often.

 Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?

I’ve got two drawings stuck on the wall behind my laptop, one drawn by my daughter the other drawn by my son.  Also stuck on the wall is my 2010 Nano certificate – to remind me I can actually write 50,000 words in 30 days!! There are also two quotes I’ve printed out from a facebook application that talk about taking a chance and believing in yourself.  I’ve got a lovebug an ornament of a bear with a love heart on it, one from my husband the other from my daughter. Pride of place on the centre of the wall so if I ever have doubts about my writing is the recent email I received from M&B Medical, rejecting my manuscript but saying they like my writing a lot and want to work with me on my next submission! It’s always good to read when I’m stuck in the self-doubt place sometimes.

 What is your favourite form of procrastination?

My favourite form of procrastination is either checking out facebook or playing “Angry Birds” on my IPhone. Oh and watching, as my husband calls it, ‘trashy’ reality TV shows J

 What’s the last thing do you do before you finish your daily writing session?

Well I always leave it mid scene so I can get straight back into it and then hit SAVE!

 www.nicoleflockton.com

www.nicoleflockton.blogspot.com

www.winkgirls.blogspot.com

Thank you Nicole, for this great post.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Brandie

     /  July 22, 2011

    Great post! Good luck with your next submission.

    Brandie N.

    Reply
  2. Thanks Brandie! Working hard on it at the moment 🙂

    Reply
  3. What an awesome email – I’d have it stuck up too! Great to read more about you Nicole.

    Reply
  4. Great blog. It’s been fun to share your writing journey and now to see you working with an editor. As Cath says, “Go for gold, girl.”

    Reply
  5. Keziah Hill

     /  July 22, 2011

    Facebook and Angry Birds are my weakness too 🙂

    Reply
  6. You forgot ‘words with friends’ 🙂
    I have my fingers crossed for you.

    Reply
  7. @Kez, Thanks, I still get a buzz every time I read it. It does help when ‘m struggling. @Lesley, yep it’s been a fun journey with all of us!! @Shona LOL yes but I can’t get too hooked on that when my opponents are asleep when I’m awake 🙂

    Reply
  8. Howdy Nicole!

    Great to see you on the blog. We’re lucky to have in here with us for a while. Got my fingers crossed for you big time!!

    CC

    Reply
  9. Hey Nicki! WTG working with an editor! I can’t wait to hear the news when you get THE CALL!
    Robbiex

    Reply
  10. Great blog!

    Reply
  11. Hey Nicki

    Fabulous news about your medical submission, now wonder you have that letter on your wall!

    Can’t believe you are in the same room as the family and are able to tune them out – that is an amazing ability.

    Good luck on your next sub – keep us all in the loop….

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

    Reply
  12. Hey Miss Christie thanks for stopping by!! I’m glad you were the first to open your arms to me when I first arrived at WHRWA!

    Robbie!! I’ll definitely let you know when it happens. You have helped along my way!

    Jessica thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Reply
  13. Lol Tina sometimes it doesn’t work other days it does

    Reply
  14. Imelda

     /  July 23, 2011

    Hey Nicki, great news! Was very please when this popped up on the blog. Good luck with the new ms!

    Reply
  15. Imelda

     /  July 23, 2011

    Pleased. I was pleased. It’s cold and my typing fingers struggle in the cold! More than usually dodgy!

    Reply
  16. Hi Imelda (cuz) 🙂 thanks for stopping by and for the good luck wishes. It’s a bit nerve wrackng 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

