RWA 2011 Awards Night

The Awards Night at the From Here to Eternity 20th Anniversary Romance Writers of Australia conference was a huge success.

Photos from the more experienced photographers will appear later, but I know that you’re all waiting for the results – so here are the results and a couple of photos of our wonderful winners.

Winner of the RBY – Short Sexy

Lindsay Armstrong – The Socialite and the Cattle King

Winner of the RBY – Short Sweet

Melanie Milburne for The Doctor’s Rebel Knight

Winner of the RBY – Long Romance

Sophia James – One Unashamed Night

Winner of the RBY – Romantic Elements

Helene Young – Wings of Fear (was Border Watch)

The Emerald Single Title

1st: Rebecca Skrabl for The Infinite Heart

2nd: Michelle de Rooy

3rd: Suzanne Hamilton

Anna Campbell Award for Highest placed Historical – Iona Jones for Loving the Earl

Valerie Parv Award

1st: Michelle de Rooy

2nd: Lee Christine

3rd: Jo McAlister & Rebecca Skrabl (tie)

4th: Lee Ann Morgan

Commended: Jennifer St George

Emerald Category

1st: Emmie Dark (Tycoon’s Choice)

2nd: Dayle White (The Billionaire’s Price)

3rd: Susan Rees (White Ginger)

Lynne Wilding Award

The recipient of the Lynne Wilding Award is  Louise Reynolds (who co-cordinated the conference, managed the RBY awards and served as Vice President of the organisation)

First Kiss Winners

1st Fiona McKenzie
2nd Elise Ackers
3rd Bec Sampson

STALI Winners

1st Place-  Suzanne Webb
2nd place- Rachael Blair
3rd place- Natalie Hatch

High Five Winners

1st Jackie Coates
2nd Jenny McGregor
3rd Emmie Dark

Little Gems

1st. Lynne Kokshoorn—Love and All That Jazz

2nd. Cara Gabriel—The Real Me

3rd. Equal:       Lilian Begelhole—The Sixth Garnet & Jenn J McLeod —Swept Away

Little Gems cover – Sheridan Kent

20 Years of Covers contests

Category – Bronwy Jameson

Contemporary – Christine Stinson

Paranormal – Ebony McKenna

Historical – Christina Phillips & Tamara Gill

Selling Synopsis

1st – Fiona McKenzie

2nd – Fiona McKenzie

3rd – Kay Dunne


Julie Redlich was awarded a Special Award for 20 years of support to romance and romance authors.

20th Anniversary Appreciation Award to Harlequin.

ROMA Award Winner – Simon Royal  – ‘The Changing Face of Romance’  28/08/2010

Honorary Life Membership awarded to Anne Gracie.

Leave a comment


  1. Maryde

     /  August 15, 2011

    Big congratulations to all winners 🙂

  2. Congratulations to all the winners!!! 🙂

  3. Brilliant – congrats to all 🙂

  4. Congratulations to all the glorious finalists and winners of the Awards night. Sorry couldn’t be there to cheer you on, but much cheering was done in the Claytons chat.

  5. Juanita Kees

     /  August 17, 2011

    Well done and congratulations to everyone. 😀

  6. Huge congratulations to all the talented writers on the winners and finalists lists, and especially to those who won Special Awards and to Anne Gracie for her well-deserved Hon Life Membership.

  1. RWA 2011 Awards Night « Romance Writers of Australia | Suzi Love
  2. excerpt

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Derricksow on February New Releases
    Maggi Andersen on Craft: Types of Writers
    Eewang on BLOG BITE with Paula Roe
    Consultoria Seo on February New Releases
    Marsha Atkins on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

%d bloggers like this: