Blog Bite with…Louise Reynolds

Now she has time to breathe (post conference) our lovely Louise is taking the bite and letting us in on some unkown facts…

At home I cook:  less and less. My partner is a wonderful cook and I’ve lost the desire to stuff a prosciutto-wrapped boned quail inside a cored pear inside a boned duck…

 My first job: was part-time dogs body in a hairdressing salon. Fancy handing the client’s card to a 15 yr old on her first day and telling her to go out back and mix up the colour 🙂

My day job: is in commercial lighting. I’m fascinated by, and sensitive to light and always interested when people comment on the lighting in my stories. I also notice how it works, or not, in other stories. We might need more low energy lighting for energy saving but let’s not forget our ancestral pull towards the golden glow of incandescent and firelight. You can’t wipe that out in one or two generations.

Three things people might not know about me are…

  1. Surprisingly, I developed a love of the outdoors later in life. Now I can’t wait to get in the 4WD and head off camping in the outback. We have an old fridge mounted hillbilly style on the back of our trailer. I’ve spray-painted it bright cherry red. You can’t miss us. Please wave if we pass through your town 🙂
  2. I spent a lot of holidays in my 20’s walking long distance footpaths alone in England. Space, time and quite a few scary experiences. I wouldn’t do it alone again.
  3. I run with my feet flying out to the sides, like a bird desperately trying to take flight.

Favourite author: We buy books for the grandkids and seeing a new boxed set of Laura Ingalls Wilder recently made me swoon. I want them for myself! As a child I wanted to be plucky Laura heading off to teach school in snow bound pioneer settlements and then have dashing Almanzo come and collect me at week’s end on a sled – perhaps my forst romance. Now, I never tire of Mary Wesley and Nancy Mitford. They’re both so wicked but in totally different ways.

 If I was stranded on a desert island the three things I would take are: my gorgeous Trevor, who makes me laugh and never gives me a boring day; a survival book that details how to make alcohol from coconut palms, and an eperb because eventually I really would like to go home.

I write: sweet romance aimed at HMB. Lately my thoughts have taken a very dark turn so who knows? I fancy a little murder in the Outback.

Thank you, Louise, for taking the time to join Blog Bite, given I’m sure you are still recovering from conference. You worked so hard too (with the team).

Louise working hard

Oops! Sorry. THIS is the 'Louise working hard' pic LOL!

 

Ed’s note: Nice to have you as my final Blog Bite Louise, given I am handing Blog Bite over to Kerri Williams so I can focus on MY conference 2012 role :).

Leave a comment

37 Comments

  1. I’m going to be looking for that fridge on the back of the trailer around the streets now, Louise!

    Reply
  2. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    You won’t see it in the inner north, Robyn. It’s safely tucked away in the garage 🙂 It’s a great talking point, though. Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply
  3. Louise, so nice to see you take a breather! It was such a pleasure getting to know you a little better on this post (and during our time working on the conference). Now you’ll have no excuse to get those stories done!

    Reply
  4. Hi Louise,
    So nice to see you hear. You’ve worked long and hard over this past year for the conference – let alone everything else. Loved learning some more about you. Must say the “prosciutto-wrapped boned quail inside a cored pear inside a boned duck…” sounds interesting ;-P

    Mega congrats on being awarded the Lynne Wilding Meritorious Service Award. I can’t think of a more deserving recipient. You do so much for the RWA and the MRWG!
    HUGE HUGS

    Reply
  5. Wonderful post, Louise. I learned a lot about you, and was very surprised with some of the titbits!

    Reply
  6. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Alli, it was terrific working with you as well but we never really did get time to sit down and really talk, did we? As to writing, I have all this time now! Wonderful.

    Serena, that recipe was from the late eighties, back when we did those crazy dinner parties that took 3 days to cook for. I actually did that, right up to the duck. I made that bit up 🙂 Thanks for being a wonderful friend and huge support. Muah.

    Reply
  7. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Oh, I’m full of surprises, Cheryl. Thanks for dropping by an saying hi.

    Reply
  8. Hi Louise

    I love reading these blogs ‘cos it’s a great way to discover more about my friends – things we never really talk about in day to day conversation – or MRWG meetings.

    Like your decidedly Master Chef-like history in cooking, your duel purpose fridge – a life saving beacon and somewhere to store the alcohol when in the wilderness – and your penchant for coconut flavoured cocktails.

    Lovely to visit you here and I’m glad you survived the RWA Conference, after doing such an amazing job with the organising. Mega congrats on receiving the Lynne Wilding Award – much deserved!

    Michelle

    Reply
  9. I’m now enviously imagining Trevor’s cooking skills – and wondering whether I’ll dredge up the motivation to cook tonight.

    Lou, it’s been a pleasure working with you, and you deserve the time now to write. But I hope to ‘see’ you sometime in the Friday night chat.

    Reply
  10. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Michelle, thanks. You appear to have stripped my character down to its essential parts: eating and drinking 🙂 You know, I’ve never thought about the safety aspects of that fridge. I have to laugh when people pass us on the road (because they always pass you when you’re totin’ a fridge) and you see the looks on their faces. Priceless.

    Reply
  11. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Diane, it has been amazing working with you as well. We were a great team and I know the 2011/12 exec is choc-a-bloc with talent.
    And you’re right to be envious. The best part is that the meal usually starts way earlier with the question, ‘what do you feel like for dinner tonight?’. Okay, I’m rubbing it in now, lol. As to Friday nights, today’s Friday! You just may see me in the chat room tonight.

    Reply
  12. Louise – you MUST write a book with outback murder! I’d read it. And I am astounded to hear you have grandchildren – it just doesn’t gel with me. You look FAR too young 🙂
    x
    Rach!

    Reply
  13. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Hi Rach, trouble is I dream up these stories while I’m out there in the middle of nowhere and then lie in the tent all night scared to death. But I like the story I have brewing, gruesome murder notwithstanding.

    The grandkids are step, but they look at me as a grannie so that’s fine. I’m certainly old enough, believe me 🙂 Thanks for dropping in.

    Reply
  14. Hi Louise,
    Great blog. Love the idea of the cherry red fridge. Actually I was thinking you look a tad young to be a grandmother, but step explains it all.
    Thank you so much for all your hard work at the RWA conference and during the year, very much appreciated.

    Regards

    Margaret

    Reply
  15. Louise, what a great blog, it is always a great thing to get to know the MRWG members better. You are an amazing, talented lady, it is a pleasure to have your friendship.
    Regards
    Angela Castle

    Reply
  16. I still refuse to believe you’re old enough you gorgeous thing!

    Reply
  17. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Hi Margaret and Angela, thanks so much for those really lovely words! I’m blushing :”>

    Reply
  18. Hi Louise,
    you are so fabulous. Thanks to you and the team, the Melbourne Conference was sensational! I can’t wait to read more of your amazing writing as well.

    Reply
  19. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Wow, if I’d known this was going to be such a love-in I would have done it ages ago! Seriously, the ladies I worked with on Conference were the best – Bron, Jen, Cath, Alli, Melinda and Linda – what a team. Thanks, Ebony.

    Reply
  20. Hi Louise,
    I’ll admit a little thrill at seeing your name on my blogroll 🙂 I all but pounced on the link.
    Ahh, now your mention of lighting in our critiques makes sense. Great blog bite, and I’ll add my thanks once again to you and the team for RWA conference 2011. As a newbie, it blew me away, but I suspect it would have done so regardless.
    I hope you’re enjoying some well-deserved relaxation!
    Madeline

    Reply
  21. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Hey, Madeline, nice of you to say that. My well earned relaxation includes work progressing on my Superromance. It’s lovely now the brain noise has died down to the dull rubbing together of two neurons. Looking forward to our next critique session!

    Reply
  22. Louise, great to see you doing a light-hearted Blog Bite after all the hard work you and your team did on that fabulous conference!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your answers and maybe our paths will cross when you’re out camping in the Outback. Though I do have to say what an excellent idea about the coconut alcohol… sounds like you’d be a great person to be shipwrecked with! LOL

    🙂
    Sharon

    Reply
  23. Loved the post Louise and Jenn 🙂

    Good luck with the Superromance, Louise. Swing by some day with the trailer fridge and I’ll show you how to turn a coconut alcoholic … and how to make watermelon rum.

    Reply
  24. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Hey, Juanita,you’re on!

    Reply
  25. Hi Louise,
    Sorry I didnt’ get to meet up at the conference this year, perhaps next year. You look as though you had a great time, and why not 🙂 In the company of so many wonderful people.

    Murder in the outback does sound intriguing. 🙂

    All the best,

    Suzanne 🙂

    Reply
  26. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Hi Sharon,

    If you and Glenn roar up on a motorcycle in the outback, then I’ll probably be hiding in the tent, lol (refer previous posts about murder in the outback 🙂 ). Seriously, would be lovely to sit around a campfire, under a starry sky and tell some tall tales and untrue.

    Reply
  27. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Thanks, Suz. I was so sorry when you had to cancel. Romance writers are THE BEST, no contest, and it was fabulous to spend time with so many gorgeous women (and the occasional man) at the conference.

    Reply
  28. ooh ooh ooh, I loooooove camping. And it is amazing how much plotting can be done in the middle of nowhere with no tech to distract you.
    Great interview and an awesome one for Jenn to finish up on.
    Kez.w

    Reply
  29. Hi Louise,

    Lovely to see you here, and I’m really glad you’re breathing again after the conference! I’m glad to hear Trevor is taking care of the cooking so that you have plenty of time for writing.

    Cara

    Reply
  30. Hi Louise,

    Thank you for sharing, always nice to know a little more about a fellow romance writer.

    Hope you’ve recovered from the conference. You girls did an amazing job organizing everything and now it’s all over you can get back into your writing.

    Cheer,
    Margaret

    Reply
  31. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 26, 2011

    Hi Kerri, I looooooooove camping as well. But only bush camping. Cara, you know how well my boy looks after me. Thanks for dropping in to say hello.

    Reply
  32. Jennifer St George

     /  August 27, 2011

    Hi Lou
    Great to see you on Blog Bite. Just finished your Little Gems story – loved it!! It was so great working with you – what a conference!!! Get writing and I’d love to read some when you’re ready. Jen St G xoxoxoxoxoxo

    Reply
  33. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 27, 2011

    Hi Jen,
    Thanks for being amazing to the power of 10 at the conference and in so many ways that really helped me personally. You’re the best. And thanks for the kind words about my Gem 🙂
    This is going to be our year, right? xoxo

    Reply
  34. Louise, congrats on your Lynne Wilding award and for being a driving force behind such a wonderful conference.

    Love the idea of a cherry red fridge! Maybe it will make it up Cape York sometime!

    Enjoy having time to write again and look forward to reading that murder in the outback 🙂

    Reply
  35. Louise Reynolds

     /  August 28, 2011

    Thanks, Helene. You never know where the fridge might turn up!

    Reply
  36. Hi Lou
    Just came across this site by accident but I was pleasantly surprised nonetheless. Good to hear you’re doing well and following your dream. Everything is well with me too plus I’ve got a 25 year old daughter to look after.
    All the best.
    H

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

