Perfect Pitch – Byron Bay Writers Festival – Guest Post by Annette Kendall

My heart pounds, my mouth is dry and my head swims as I imagine standing in front of a 200 strong crowd to deliver my manuscript pitch, and it’s still 5 days away.  I am delighted and already feel like a winner having been selected to pitch my manuscript ‘Lost in Kakadu’ at the Bryon Bay Writers Festival. But of course I want to deliver a pitch that is both entertaining and gives me the best chance of a manuscript request from one or all three publishers that will be watching.

I agonised over the perfect words to deliver and thankfully the pitch workshop four days before the big event gave me focus, direction and some great tips. Last year’s pitcher – Neil Young told us of his experience and subsequent publication and Author Jesse Blackadder detailed the do’s and don’t of a perfect pitch. The evening was fun and informative and a great opportunity to meet the other five winners.  For two days after that I rehearsed my pitch over and over until I knew it off by heart, but at the same time I was grateful that a rostrum would be on the stage to hold me up should my knees fail and hold my notes should I forget my speech.

Saturday morning rolls around fast and as the crowd gathers in the tent I am delighted by the energetic vibe and begin to relax, knowing that as long as I get my first sentence out I’ll be okay.  The other five pitchers are just as nervous as I am and we are comforted by last year’s winner who assures us that the crowd wants us to do well.

After a brief introduction I’m finally on the stage, the publishers sit to my left and I realise that not only is every seat full but every available space in the marquee is occupied with someone standing. As I look around at the crowd I feel their genuine interest in my story and this is exactly what I’m here for – to get my novel into the public arena. I begin: “My name is Annette Kendall, and I’m passionate about our Australian wilderness and I love a thrilling adventure, this is why I wrote – Lost in Kakadu.” Great – the first sentence is out and I’m on my way. During my pitch I felt like I engaged the crowd, locking eyes with people who nod with interest, and they laugh when they were supposed to and everyone clapped with genuine applause at the end.

All three publishers gave me great feedback and John Hunter from UQ Press commented that my story was a cross between and I quote ‘Queer Eye for a Straight Guy, Masterchef and Survivor’ and he is spot on with this comment so I know my job here is done.

The whole experience was exhilarating and best of all, Allen and Unwin requested a copy of my manuscript.  I would like to thank Northern Rivers Writers Centre and The Byron Bay Writers Festival for giving me this wonderful experience and I look forward to going to the festival again next year.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Annette, you did a marvellous job and should be rightly proud of yourself. It takes considerable courage and confidence to present your manuscript to such a large (albeit supportive) audience. And to have a publisher be actively interested in it and request to see it – well, that’s just wonderful! Congratulations! Please let us know how it goes and if there is anything we can do to help support your journey to publication, just give me a call.
    All the best,
    Sib Duff (Northern Rivers Writers’ Centre)

    Reply
  2. Annette,
    Sounds like you did a great job with oyur pitch,
    Congratulations and best of luck with it,
    Thank you Diane for sharing,
    Suzi

    Reply
  3. WOW Annette – I can’t believe you pitched in front of a crowd. HUGE kudos! Your mss sounds very cool too. Good luck with A&U!

    Reply
  4. Jennifer St George

     /  August 30, 2011

    I was part of the audience for Annette’s brilliant pitch. She had the audience in the palm of her hand. Annette a publishing deal is just around the corner – I can feel it. Congratulations!! Jen St G

    Reply
  5. Christine Taylor

     /  August 30, 2011

    Congratulation once again, Annette. Everything is crossed you do well at A&U. Chris Taylor

    Reply
  6. Shell Powell

     /  August 31, 2011

    Congratulations Annette! Public speaking is not everyone’s forte, but obviously you stepped up to this challenge and the results proved you passed with flying colours. Be proud of your fantastic achievements so far – when’s the next book!
    Shell.

    Reply
  7. Liz Haggitt

     /  September 1, 2011

    Fantastic Netty – so proud of you – I could feel your emotions as I was reading your pitch – you have that special ability of capturing the audience. Congratulations from us all.
    The Haggitts

    Reply
  8. Steve Turner

     /  September 7, 2011

    Well done Annette! I am privileged that I was allowed to read an earlier version of Lost in Kakadu so I am not surprised it was well received.
    Fingers crossed it will be picked up by a publisher – it would make a great book and a great movie!

    You just keep getting better and better – Congratulations.
    Steve xxx

    Reply
  9. pauline

     /  September 24, 2011

    Congratulations Annette, we are so very proud of you, I have loved reading your short stories, and I am really looking forward to your next book. I hope I can be part of the audience to hear your next pitch..
    Love you heaps – so proud of you
    Pauline and JimXXX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

