Blog Bite with…Christina Phillips

Christina Phillips

I’m so happy to have the 20 years of Romance Covers Historical winner Christina Phillips here today to share just a small slice of what makes this successful author tick.

Three words to describe me: Disorganized Tiara Girl

At home I cook:  As little as possible.

 My first job: Saturday job in a hardware store.  It got so cold during the winter I got chilblains on my toes!!!

My day job: Writing.

My worst habit is: Wasting precious time

It’s a bit daggy but I love: Watching 80s movies. Is that daggy? I don’t think so…

Saving for: Conference 2012

I procrastinate by: Surfing the Internet. Cuddling the kitties. Flaffing about with my website.

Three things people might not know about me are:

  • I love chocolate truffles and rum and raisin fudge.
  •  I’m a Brit by birth.
  •  My muse is fed by constant replays of Meat Loaf’s Bat Out of Hell CD.  Yep, that last one is a very well kept secret!!!

Favourite author: Depends on my mood – I have a LOT of favourite authors!

Current reading: BOOMERANG BRIDE by Fiona Lowe and IN A TREACHEROUS COURT by Michelle Diener

Plotter or panster: I need to know the hero and heroine’s pasts, what’s happened to them up to the moment the book starts. Hopefully I also have a couple of vague ideas as to where the plot might be heading and then I start writing. Panic hits when I need to hammer out a synopsis for my editor and I haven’t a clue how everything’s going to tie up!

I would most like to meet: I’d like to go back and meet my 18 year old self and give me lots of good advice. Of course, the very fact that I’d only be 18 would mean I wouldn’t take any of this good advice but you never know J

If I was stranded I would take:  Soft loo rolls

Why I write: Because the voices tell me to…

Thank  you Christina for being my guinea pig on my first Blog Bites interview.It has been a true pleasure.

To find out more about Christina’s books, go to her website  http://www.christinaphillips.com/


   

 RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature. 


Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Welcome Christina, it was such a pleasure to interview you and I have to say the muse thing cracked me up. You and my husband would get along he like them too but ACDC is the most played album here.
    Thanks again for being my first Blog Bite guinea pig.
    Kez.w
    Kerri

    Reply
  2. 80’s movies? Definitely not daggy, Christina (although I am also a child of the 80’s so may be a little biaised *grin*).

    I too am saving for Gold Coast 2012 – see you there 🙂

    Reply
  3. Hey Kez, thank you for having me! Being a guinea pig was surprisingly painless!!! Yes, I’m so not kidding about the Meat Loaf thing. I’ve got through 2 CDs already (let’s not count the old LP!!) and my kids know all the lyrics!!

    Reply
  4. Hi Anita! I think it’s so funny how you can tell within about two seconds if a movie was made in the 80s just by looking at the hairstyles!! OMG! Three of my faves from then are the Back to the Future movies, although the one where they hop forward in time and meet their older selves always freaked me out (freaks me out even more now though, I have to say!!!)

    Reply
  5. McFly!!!! Loooove Back to the Future, Christina!

    Reply
  6. Hi Paula! Yep, every now and then I have to drag out the DVDs and have a marathon McFly session! Actually I can feel another one coming on for this weekend!!!

    Reply
  7. Soft loo rolls hahahahahahaha now why doesn’t that surprise me??????

    Reply
  8. Hi Christina,
    I have Boomerang Bride waiting on my TBR list. Can’t wait to get into it.

    Now going back to 18 I would also do. Give myself lots of talkin’ too. lol…

    Suzanne 🙂

    Reply
  9. Hahaha Sara, well you do know that I am very partial to my home comforts!!!

    Reply
  10. Hi Suzanne! I’m loving Boomerang Bride, so much fun!!

    Yes, there’s a lot of things I could tell my 18 year old self, but I doubt I’d believe a word of it!!!

    Reply
  11. Love the interview ladies!! Christina my favourite anything was the 80’s – loved the waist-high pants *sigh*

    Reply
  12. Sixteen Candles was my fav
    Kez.w

    Reply
  13. I think my kids know more classic rock lyrics then I do thanks to DH and damn singstar. Lol
    Kez.w

    Reply
  14. Hey Mel! Oh yes the waist high pants, won’t ever forget them!! At one point I even had a couple of padded shoulder power suits!!

    Reply
  15. Kez, I’ve no idea why but somehow I’ve never got around to watching Sixteen Candles *blush* Not only that but I only watched Pretty in Pink last year!

    Reply
  16. Oh my gosh well Sixteen Candles is waaaaay better. What about the goonies?

    Reply
  17. Yes, I remember the Goonies!! What about Gremlins? That used to crack me up 🙂

    Reply
  18. Haha at first gremlins had me nearly pooping my pants but as I grew up it was funny. My girls are 11 & 12 and love all these movies
    Kez.w

    Reply
  19. Charlotte

     /  September 10, 2011

    LOL @ soft loo rolls. Funny cause it’s so very true =P. Uncle Buck, Ghostbusters, E.T, Who Framed Roger Rabbit,Terminator and Labyrinth!! Even though the last one scared me for life as you had just had Oliver when I saw it for the first time!

    Reply
  20. LOL, Kerri! The microwave scene!!

    Love all those movies, Charlotte! Now I have David Bowie as the goblin king singing in my head!!

    Reply
  21. Hey Christina, great bite. I’m with you on the disorganized part (shhh…don’t tell anyone), and yes I think my 18 year old self would think ‘yeah, right.’ Sigh. Rock on!
    E x

    Reply
  22. LOL Eleni, I can’t believe you’re at all disorganized!!! But thanks for making me feel better 🙂

    Reply
    • You haven’t seen my desk! Sheesh. Though I have been working on clearing it this week. Does it count as clearing if you’ve put piles of paperwork elsewhere? 😉

      Reply
  23. Sounds like you love cooking about as much as I do. Now baking, that’s a different story!

    Love the fact that your demanding muse only likes one album. I’m sure you’ve invested in a set of headphones over the years too, just to spare the family… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

