Blog Bites…Fiona Palmer


She can drive trucks, race cars and writes compelling, rural romance-her name is Fiona Palmer.

 

I write: Rural Romance. (and trying YA, when I find the time)

I’m from: A tiny town in Western Australia called Pingaring. My house is one of five and we are 3.5hrs south east from Perth.

Three words to describe me: Gullible, fun, tomboy

It’s a bit daggy but I love: Sitting with my 8yr old daughter and watching Hannah Montana.

My day job is:  Mum duties, housework, community commitments and two days a week working at the local shop. (Was I supposed to put author here too?!?!)

Saving for: A trip to the Gold Coast for the RWA Conference next year, for the whole family.

I procrastinate by: Oh the usual. Facebook, twitter, housework, TV, movies, more housework and more facebook.

Three things people might not know about me are:  I have my MR truck licence, I love watching the Vampire Diaries and I’d rather clean anything than cook.

Favorite author: Now, I’m going against my genre here, but if I had to pick one it’d have to be Richelle Mead for her VA series. It’s always easier to pick a favourite author who has 6 books out in a series I loved against someone who has stand alone books, as each one you can feel differently towards. But I have so many favourite authors, most of them are members of the RWA!!

Plotter or panster: I like to plot as much as I can.  I will piece together my story from start to end loosely. When I have enough right in my head I will type it out like a synopsis, about 3 to 4 pages, and then I begin from Chapter one. I try to follow my plan but sometimes changes pop up.

I would most like to meet: I’d love to say an author but really it would be someone like Craig Lowndes or the Kelly boys…with a bit of luck I could get a ride in one of their V8’s

When I was young I wanted to be: Besides being a race car driver, I wanted to join the Air Force. (I think that was Top Gun inspired)

Why I write: Because I love showing our rural lifestyle, touching on things that affect our communities and creating characters that I can control and making that ‘happy ever after’ ending.

Latest project: My third book The Road Home is with the publishers on its final edit, which should be back to me in three or four weeks. In the mean time I’ve started on book four, Bundara Skies (don’t get used to the title…I’ve learnt it will change).  This one is about a female mechanic and her town of Bundara. (she’s also a speedway driver)

Thank you Fiona, you were a blast to interview and a girl after my own heart and congratulations on your success. 

 GIVEAWAY:  Fiona is giving away one of her books and a stubby holder to two people who leave a comment here before (EDST) 8.30pm Saturday 22nd of October. Two winners will be randomly drawn and announced on this blog.

To find out more about Fiona Palmer and her books go to http://www.fionapalmer.com/ 

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Hi Fiona,

    Great blog bite. As for being Top Gun inspired, I think all of us of certain age were. Might have something to do with a certain beach volleyball scene….

    Looking forward to The Road Home. Loved The Family Farm and Heart of Gold.

    Reply
  2. Gailene

     /  October 21, 2011

    Thanks to Karly Lane I have now gotten to find out about you Fiona and am really looking forward to reading your book heart of gold.

    Reply
  3. lol Cathryn I think you’re right. Love a man in uniform 🙂 Lucky you are married to one!

    Thanks Gailene, I hope you enjoy it. Love that Karly Lane. You can’t find better gals than the RWA ones 🙂

    Huge thanks Kaz for the interview…I think you and I could find plenty to talk about over a cuppa 🙂

    Reply
  4. Love reading about your writing Fiona, especially when there are some parts that I know are memories of yours. Your words are part of what inspired me to move back to the country after 13 years in Perth. Little did i know at the time I would end up only 50km down the road from you 😀

    Reply
  5. Cath Evans

     /  October 21, 2011

    Hi Fiona,
    Great Blog Bite. Ah… Top Gun… love that movie. Not sure if it’s the men in uniform or the “need for speed” or the beach volleyball scene or all of the above!

    Looking forward to your books 3 and 4! Hope you enjoy your YA writing too. Happy writing.

    Cath

    Reply
    • Thanks Cath, I’m off to write book 4 now. Well, I will try but i’m running out of time for today. (Milo cricket, community event to organise…eek, I need more hours.)

      Reply
  6. Fiona

     /  October 21, 2011

    Hi Fiona. My name is Fiona too! I am new to this site. I guess I was procrastinating and one link led to another until I found myself here. I’d love to read one of your books. I am on the verge of moving from suburban Melbourne to a little town near Bendigo. I am currently trying to sell my suburban dream so that I can buy my dream property … not that it’s a mansion or anything. A fictional trip to the outback with some romance thrown in would be a glorious break from real estate woes!

    Reply
    • Hi Fi, I’m glad you’re here! Thanks for visiting. Oh, how exciting it must be for you moving….I hope you find what you are looking for. I’ve been to the Bendigo area when I was 19, loved it. I’m sure you’ll sell your place. Goodluck 🙂

      Reply
  7. Juanita Kees

     /  October 21, 2011

    Hi Fiona,

    Lovely to read more about you and your writing. It seems we share a love for Holden V8 Racing Drivers 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading your books, more so now that I know where Pingaring is, LOL. How blessed you are to live in such a lovely (and interesting) area in WA. I do love that you can drive a truck!

    Good luck with Book 4.

    Regards, Juanita

    Reply
  8. Thanks Juanita. Yes, growing up in the country you start driving very young and it was even worse in my family as they are all revheads on my dad’s side. I love the V8’s! I hope you enjoy my books! They are all based in the wheatbelt area around Pingaring. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Reply
  9. Gotta love a girl who can drive a truck! And feel free to visit my place anytime as I love to cook but hate to clean, so I’d welcome any assistance (as my cooking leaves a lot to be cleaned up!).
    I’m also trying a bit of YA writing here and there, but focusing mostly on womens’s fic.
    I have a copy of The Family Farm already but haven’t yet got Heart Of Gold. The Road Home sounds nice too, all the best with it!

    Reply
    • You have yourself a deal Juliet!! I’ll be over when I can…do you feed extra kids and hubby too?? lol. Hope your writings going great 🙂 See you soon 🙂

      Reply
  10. Love reading snippets about other writers! Top Gun sucked me in too… Hope your saving plan reaches its total so we can catch up on the Gold Coast next year 🙂

    Reply
    • Helene, I’d sell my car to get to the Gold Coast next year. Wouldn’t miss it for the world! It’s the only time I can catch up with you all.

      Reply
  11. Your house is one of five. I love that 🙂

    Look forward to seeing you again in August next year

    Reply
  12. Suzanne

     /  October 21, 2011

    Great to find out more about you. Yes, Top gun is sitting on our shelf still. Great film. As for being a Tom boy, I was labelled that as well in my younger years. lol… Afterall four big brothers didn’t leave much room for being too feminine. 🙂

    Hope you get to the conference in QLD next year.

    All the best,
    Suzanne 🙂

    Reply
  13. Ah Suzanne, you may like my next character who has three older brothers, hence why she’s a big tomboy and a qualified mechanic. I had one younger brother but still loved playing boy games with him. He’s in the Army now, so playing wars all the time must have done something!
    Thanks, Suzanne.

    Reply
  14. Natalie Moress

     /  October 21, 2011

    Hi Fiona
    Great interview, and I love the stubby holder as a promo! Look forward to seeing you at the Gold Coast
    Kind regards, Natalie

    Reply
  15. What a fantastic turn out and yes we will definitely have to schedule a drink at conf next year. I do love a man in uniform, DH used to be a fireman when we were in qld and ooohlalah!
    You made this bite a true joy, thank you.
    Kez

    Reply
  16. Hey Kez, thanks for having me.
    I think the RWA needs an extra day just so we can all get together to catch up! There is just not enought time between sessions. And its great to meet and talk with like minded people. I couldn’t talk after this years conference. Went home with no voice lol. (made it hard to tell the kids off)
    Cheers 🙂

    Reply
  17. Congratulations on your books and managing to find writing time in and around all of your other commitments. I can relate – I work fulltime, have two small children, am in the Army Reserve and am studying a masters degree parttime! Squeezing some writing time in between all of those commitments is mighty difficult. Good luck with the final edits and your new WIP. So great to see Aussie authors doing so well!

    Reply
    • OMG Lily, you are one busy lady. It must mean that when we find time to write we make it worth while…well I’d like to think so lol. Thank you, I can’t wait to get the edits back. 🙂

      Reply
  18. Fiona,
    Wonderful to hear a bit more about you.
    I love teeny weeny Aussie towns, though I only have experience with Queensland ones, not Western Australia.
    And I’m soooo envious of you having a truck licence. None of my country friends have ever let me near their truck gears long enough to practice enough- sigh!
    And yes, we all need more time to simply ‘talk’ – as romance authors can certainly do – at the next conference.
    Suzi

    Reply
  19. Hi Suzi, I bet all small towns are very similar…always a brillant grapevine that works faster than any news headline lol. My dad runs trucks so I’m lucky…but they are old, hard to drive ones so going up to my semi might be difficult lol. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 see you on the Gold Coast.

    Reply
  20. What an awesome reply Fiona has received, it has been fantastic getting to know you better. The winners to Fiona’s giveaways were drawn by my lollies, lily and olivia as always, to keep it fair and the winners are Juliet Madison and Helene Young.
    CONGRATULATIONS!
    Fiona will be in contact with you shortly after I forward your info on.

    Thank you
    Kez.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

