Blog Bites…Barbara Hannay

 It’s my pleasure to introduce another one of our RWA talented authors, Barbara Hannay.

 

I’m from:  currently living on a misty hillside on the Atherton Tablelands

Three words to describe me: writer, reader, gardener

 At home I cook:  as little as possible, although my Greek Lemon Cake is in demand.

My worst habit is:  negative thinking

It’s a bit daggy but I love: the slow movements in classical music

My first job was:  covering buttons in a button factory (holiday job) or perhaps you mean my first proper job, which was teaching (high school).

My day job is:  I’m in the lucky position that I’m writing full time

Saving for:  travel to experience the four seasons

I procrastinate by:  digging up weeds

Three things people might not know about me are:  I’ve never seen snow.  I’ve played netball for Queensland.  I have a wonderful RITA statue sitting on my desk.

Favourite author: Rosamunde Pilcher

Bridesmaid Says 'I Do'

Current reading: One Day by David Nicholls

Favourite book as a child: Seven Little Australians

Favourite movie:   Moonstruck

I would most like to meet: the ancestor who passed on my writing gene

When I was young I wanted to be: a waitress with an apron, a cap and a notepad

Why I write: Because I can’t help it. It’s how I’m wired. I’ve been writing stories since I first picked up a pen.

Latest project: I’m currently writing a (contracted) single title novel for Penguin Australia.

Runaway Bride

Barbara has kindly offered TWO books for a giveaway- Bridesmaid Says I Do & Runaway Bride. The winners will be announced on the 20/11/2011 EDST 8:30PM.

Good Luck!

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. Hi Barbara. Nice to see you on Blog Bites. I love Rosamunde Pilcher as well although I haven’t read her in a while. It probably helps that I adore both of her favourite settings, Cornwall and Scotland.
    PS Love your books!

    Reply
  2. Rosamunde Pilcher is my comfort read, Louise, so I go back to her every so often. Not sure how many times I’ve read her now. And thank you, it’s so lovely to hear that you like my books.

    Reply
    • Lilian, as it turned out, I would have been a terrible waitress. I’m so clumsy I’d always be dropping cutlery and plates. Thanks for your comment.

      Reply
  3. Michelle Ford

     /  November 18, 2011

    Hi Barbara. Really enjoy your books. You are one of my favourite Aussie authors. Will be interesting to see how the Penguin title turns out. 🙂

    Reply
    • Wow, thank you, Michelle. My Penguin book is very Aussie, not very different from what I write now, but longer and with more characters (fun to have that freedom). Hope you like it.

      Reply
  4. lilian begelhole

     /  November 18, 2011

    Beaut to see you on blog bites, Barb. I can’t get the picture of you in waitress gear out of my mind! But even then, there’s pen and paper in your hand.
    I’ve loved your books from the very first one.
    Lilian

    Reply
  5. Great interview! I NEED to taste your Greek Lemon Cake – sounds divine!

    Reply
  6. I’m with Rach. Greek lemon cake. Mmmmmmm. Want!

    Thanks for the fun bite, Barbara.

    Reply
  7. Barb’s lemon cake is to die for 🙂 (I’m being smug!!)

    Cannot wait for your Penguin release, Barb, as I’m always intrigued by your secondary characters in your shorter stories. It will be wonderful to see extra layers and twists plus the same emotional depth you bring to your stories.

    Reply
  8. I’m on my way over for that recipe.
    kez

    Reply
  9. Great interview 🙂

    I just checked out the recipe – it looks delish, I think I’ll just have to make it for afternoon tea on Sunday 🙂

    Reply
  10. *Perfect* time for that recipe, Barbara, as I have lemons needing to be used up – am printing at the moment.

    How exciting, a single title! Like Helene I can’t wait to read a book of yours where the secondary characters get a little more time on the page 🙂

    PS don’t put me in the draw for Bridesmaid Says: I Do as I already have it on my shelf *grin*

    Reply
    • Hope you enjoy Bridesmaid Says, ‘I do!’, Anita. And while we’re talking laden trees, I have a peach tree with branches so heavy with fruit they’re drooping to the ground. My friends will be getting brandied peaches for Christmas, but if anyone has some great peach recipes, I’d love to hear.

      Reply
      • You asked for it! My fave peach recipe: Halve and stone peaches. Char them cut side down on a grill. Then put them into a dish, cut side up and sprinkle generously with castor sugar pounded together with vanilla bean. Roast 10 mins in oven, Slosh amaretto all over them and serve with creme fraiche. Yum. Or serve with some icecream sprinkled with biscotti crumbs.

  11. Amanda

     /  November 18, 2011

    Fabulous recipe Barb… can’t wait for the Penguin release!!

    Reply
  12. Nice to get to know more about you Barbara, I’ve seen ‘some’ snow in my life, but not enough that it covers the ground. I’ve always wanted to go somewhere where there’s enough snow to make a snowman and have snowball fights! One of the times I saw snow falling was actually really romantic – it was at my cousin’s wedding which was held outdoors, in September I think, and it started snowing just as they were getting ready to say their vows!! So beautiful 🙂
    Thanks for the recipe, I’m going to try a gluten free version of it and see how it goes 🙂

    Reply
  13. Juliet, I have an orange cake recipe that uses very little flour. It’s mostly almond meal. Is that what you use?

    The snowy wedding sounds so romantic! If chilly. Now I’d do a smiley face if I knew how.

    Reply
  14. Love the idea of the lemon cake, Barb, and the blog answers. Fun. xx Fi

    Reply
  15. Hi Barbara! Lovely to read a bit more about you on the Bites! Congratulations again on that RITA! Awesome and well deserved for your gorgeous books!

    I’m off to check out that recipe for the lemon cake!

    🙂
    Sharon

    Reply
  16. Hi Barbara, am drooling at those peach recipes. Loved your answers.

    Reply
  17. Lillian Grant

     /  November 18, 2011

    Barbara, lovely insight into you. I was a waitress for a while but when I dropped hot chips into the lap of a man clad in skimpy shorts I decided dish washing was more my fortay.

    Reply
    • Yes, if I’d tried waitressing, that would have been my fate too, Lillian. But, oh, what a moment for you.
      And for the man, I guess. Bet he now wears jeans when he’s eating out. 🙂

      Reply
  18. Hi Barbara, great to see you. You know how much I love your work, so I’m really looking forward to your single title. Any more about what its’ about? 😉

    Reply
    • Thanks Eleni and I’d love to tell you more, but I’m a bit superstitious about my WIPs. I don’t really like talking till they’re in the can, so to speak. 🙂 As I’m sure you know, writers can be a bit weird like that.

      Reply
      • PS to Eleni… it’s no secret that my story is about three women and it spans both the city and the bush (most set in the bush)… so it’s no great departure from what I already write.

        It’s so nice to know people are curious.

      • Ooops, I’d forgotten about that. You know me and being Greek, hence, nosy…um curious 🙂

  19. Cath Evans

     /  November 19, 2011

    Hello Barbara,
    Sorry I’m so late to drop by! Lovely Blog Bite. I too procrastinate by pulling weeds… but I mustn’t procrastinate enough as there are always weeds still to pull!!

    Glad your Penguin story is going well. Good luck with it.

    Cath

    Reply
  20. Congratulations to Lillian Grant and Cath Evans who have one this weeks prizes and thank you again Barbara for your generosity.
    Winners were drawn from a beautiful beach hat from my girls, the lollies.

    See you next time.
    Kerri Williams
    RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

    Reply
  21. Cath Evans

     /  November 21, 2011

    Ohhh, how exciting… thanks Kerri. I love your beautiful beach hat!

    Cath

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

