A Day in the Writing Life of … Heather Garside

Today, we have featured a day in the writing life of Heather Garside who writes  historical and contemporary fiction, set in rural Australia. Welcome, Heather, and thank you for participating on our blog.

What time of the day do you write? Are you a morning, night-owl or anytime writer?

I’m an anytime writer, but not usually at night, unless I’m madly inspired! I have trouble dropping off to sleep if I’m at the computer after dinner, and I’m not a night-time person.

Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary?

In my office, usually. Sometimes I take my laptop and write in different locations.

 Do you spend much time reading over the previous day’s work? Do you have a special system in place in order to begin writing or go with the flow?

Reading what I’ve already written will often kick-start my train of thought and get me back into the story.

 Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?

I’ve tried both methods. I think some plotting is necessary, but too much can stifle my creativity. I usually edit each chapter after I’ve finished it, partly because I have an online critique group and like to polish my chapter a bit before I post on there.

 Do you have a schedule that you follow for your writing time?

Not really –perhaps I should have. But as I work part-time and also on the farm, plus do voluntary work, my days are seldom the same.

What writing tools do you favour? Long hand, computer …..

Computer, usually, as I don’t like the idea of doubling my work.

 Is your writing space messy, organized or somewhere in between? Are you prepared to show evidence of your claim with a desk photo?

Quite messy, and no, I’d prefer not to publicise it with a photo!

What is your favourite form of procrastination? Do you have any tips to beat off that old foe “procrastination”?

My deadly sin is playing Spider Solitaire. Sometimes I’ve deleted it from the Start menu in an effort to stop me from playing it, but unfortunately I can’t delete it from my computer. Off  to have a game now…

 Thank you, Heather. For further information about Heather please visit her website below. Her books are available  from the publisher, Wings ePress, and fromAmazon.

 http://www.heathergarside.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Cath Evans

     /  November 25, 2011

    Hi Heather,
    Nice to meet you 🙂

    I have never played spider solitaire, and by the sound of it, I shouldn’t try it or I’ll be addicted! Thansk for the tip.

    Cath

    Reply
  2. Hi Heather! Hope to read some of your work soon.

    Reply
  3. Hi Colleen,

    Thanks for commenting! I hope your writing is going well.

    Cheers
    Heather

    Reply
  4. Imelda

     /  November 27, 2011

    Hi Heather
    Lovely to hear from you and glad to know that I am not the only one who has resorted to deleting links to things I shouldn’t spend time on! Hope the books are going well.

    Reply
    • Hi Imelda,

      Thanks for visiting the blog and commenting. I hope your writing is going well, too.

      My online book sales have certainly improved in the last six months – a sign of the times, I guess!
      cheers
      Heather

      Reply
  5. Hi Heather,

    Looking forward to reading more of your writing!
    Paola

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

