January Hearts Talk Wrap Up

The latest edition of Hearts Talk is out now.

Our monthly member-only magazine has the latest news and information for writers.

Here is a little peek….

2011 ROMANTIC BOOK of the YEAR (R♥BY) WINNERS

Sophia James ~ Long Romance section 

How did you feel when you won the R♥BY?

I felt a huge mixture of emotions actually. Disbelief that my name was up on the screen, nervousness with the realisation I would have to make a speech and exhilaration because One Unashamed Night was a book I have always particularly loved and believed in.


Melanie Milburne ~ Short, Sweet category

How did you feel when you won the R♥BY?

I was stunned. I know everyone always says they never thought they would win, but I honestly didn’t think I had a chance in that category. There is nothing Sweet and Traditional about my voice, although that particular book did have a softer approach.

I generally write with the same level of sensuality in both Presents and Medicals so it was a complete and utter surprise.


Helene Young ~ Romantic Elements

How did you feel when you won the R♥BY?

Ecstatic, overwhelmed, surprised, delighted, humbled, but most tellingly I was left speechless. And anyone who knows me will confirm I’m never lost for words…

The cheer from the room was like a very warm, very rowdy group hug. It was wonderful.


Lindsay Armstrong ~ Short, Sexy category

We were unable to contact Lindsay Armstrong.


For full article, go to our website. For members only.


The Writing Journey With…Helen Lacey

I sent my first submission to Mills & Boon London in 1987. I was young and wet behind the ears and didn’t have a clue about submitting, so my oldest sister found the address for me and I sent the manuscript off. Of course I received a form letter back – my submission was way too short and really woeful. But it was the start of a 20+ year apprenticeship. My first book, Made for Marriage, comes out in January 2012.

Honestly, there were times over those years when I thought I just needed to forget all about being an author. But those moments were fleeting. I knew I wanted to be a Harlequin author when I was twelve years old and I read my first Mills & Boon. The desire to achieve that never seriously waned. I still love reading them when I’m not writing.



For full article, go to our website. For members only.

RWA Noticeboard

Email Professionalism

Email communication is the predominant way contact is made in the publishing industry…. Remember to always be professional with your email correspondence.


RWA Group Grants

The next round of RWA’s group grants will open in February 2012 so get your group together and apply. The Group Grants Scheme is a fund that any RWA Affiliated or RWA Associated Group can apply to in support of the wonderful work they do in advancing the careers of their RWA members.


Romantic Book of the Year (R*BY)

The 2012 R♥BY opens Monday 2 January 2012 and closes Friday 3 February 2012.

For the details, go to our website. For members only.


How to Write a Fight Scene, Part 2 by Susanna Rogers

The first article in this series looked at the reasons for including a fight scene in your story. Now we’re ready for a bit of ground and pound. Your kick-ass heroine has been training for years and she’s ready to take on the bad guys. She’s been cornered. She has no choice but to fight. And she’s ready. The gloves are off.

The importance of awareness

Awareness is your number one tool in self-defence. Not very exciting, but true. If your kick-ass heroine is smart—and she should be—she’ll know this. Above all, she’ll be aware of her surroundings. Without even consciously thinking about it, she’ll be scouring her environment and perhaps even considering escape routes and options. Make sure your protagonist has these characteristics. There may be times you wish to use this in a different way. For example, your heroine might be distraught after breaking up with the hero and then for that one moment when her guard is down, she leaves herself open to attack. Afterwards, she might be so angry with herself for letting this happen that she comes back harder and stronger. This would show your heroine is human and has made a mistake.

For full article, go to our website. For members only.



Conference Information with Helen Katsinis

Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend Cocktail Party

see blog post.


Diamonds Are Forever – Conference Catch Up 

Hearts Talk caught up with conference coordinator Fiona Gregory to talk about preparations for the conference.

Firstly, how are preparations for the conference going?

The Diamonds are Forever conference will be held between 16-19 August 2012 at the QT Gold Coast and our preparations are well underway. We’ve got Eloisa James (Keynote Speaker) and Alexandra Sokoloff (Friday Workshop) confirmed and are in final discussions with our remaining speakers. It’s going to be a fabulous line up.

Our recent call for workshops went really well and we’re in the process of reviewing submissions and working out the scheduling. Preparations are well underway for the Cocktail Party and Awards Dinner. Our cocktail party theme is “Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend” and as usual, we’d love our delegates to come in fancy dress. I, for one, can’t wait to see the costumes everyone comes up with.

For full article, go to our website. For members only.

A Writer’s Life ~ What I Learned From Television with Sarah Mayberry

Hello! For those of you who don’t know me, I write for Harlequin Super Romance and Blaze, and I also work as a freelance television script writer and story consultant. When the lovely ladies at Hearts Talk asked if I would be interested in writing the Writer’s Life column I was both chuffed and intimidated. But then I thought about it and realised that there are a few little things I’ve picked up along the way or thoughts I’ve had that I’d love to share with my fellow writers (whether you like it or not!). So here I am. I’ve got a few topics nutted out already, but I wanted to kick off with something I’ve been thinking about a bit lately…

Before I got “the call” from Harlequin, I wrote eight full books over about ten years that no one was interested in. I had no idea that RWA even existed and despite having a BA in Professional Writing under my belt, it wasn’t until I landed a job working as a storyliner for Neighbours that I was able to understand where I had gone wrong. During my time with the show we plotted several romances, in particular a slow burn one that went for months and months. As we plotted out the many scenes and twists and turns and two-steps-forward-and-three-steps-back that made up this long term story arc, I realised where I’d gone wrong with my books—I’d taken all the mystery out of my stories because I’d given my characters the gift of always being able to understand what the other person was thinking and feeling.

For full article, go to our website. For members only.

Have You Set Your Writing Goals for 2012?

Did you do Bob Mayer’s Friday Workshop at the Melbourne Conference? The first tool in his Write It Forward program is “WHAT” and is all about setting goals.

Bob Mayer’s goals overview says:

• You must have goals that are clearly defined and can be stated in one sentence.

• You must understand why you’re trying to achieve your goals, what impact they’ll have on your environment, and how your environment affects you.

He goes on to say,

• Goals are future oriented.

• The successful writer spends his time and energy acting.

Mary O’Gara’s creative boost process is to look at your goals, wants and opportunities. Goals should be S.M.A.R.T. (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, Time-bound).

For full article, go to our website. For members only.



Of course don’t forget our regular columns

    • From the Prez with Rachel Bailey
    • Events Calendar with Doreen Sullivan
    • The Writing Journey with….with Suzanne Brandyn > Featured this month is Helen Lacey (see above)
    • Contest Page with Lis Hoorweg> Includes Selling Synopsis 2012 Contest Manager’s Report 
    • Market Watch with Sami Lee
    • News & Releases with Bronwyn Stuart
    • Ask Auntie Fi with Fiona Lowe

Dear Auntie Fi, Last year I entered the First Kiss contest and was told there wasn’t enough emotion in my kiss. How do I get emotion into my writing? I’m not sure how to do  this. ~Emotion-less in Esperance.

For full columns, go to our website. For members only.

Enjoy!!

Not a member? Please view our sample issue from January 2011.

To receive our wonderful monthly newsletter, we invite you to Join RWA for all the details.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

