Blog Bites…Rachel Bailey

Introducing Queenslander, dog lover and RWA President, Rachel Bailey.

I write: for Harlequin Desire.

Three words to describe me: Introverted, dog lover, easily distracted.

 At home I cook: Pavlova and anything with chocolate.

It’s a bit daggy but I love: Elvis Presley.

My first job was: Tutoring maths.

Saving for: A trip to Anaheim for the RWAmerica conference this year.

I procrastinate by: Volunteering for RWA.

Three things people might not know about me are:  I can’t tell my left from my right; the walls of my office are one of my favourite colours – a pale lavender-brown; I’m a vegetarian.

Favourite author: A tie between Jenny Crusie and Jane Austen.

Current reading: The Secretary’s Secret by Michelle Douglas.

Favourite book as a child: Any book that had a dog in it.

Plotter or panster: Plotter.

Latest project: A Desire set on a cruise ship.

Thank you for joining us today Rachel, it has been a true pleasure.

Rachel has kindly offered a giveaway of her new release ‘What Happens In Charleston…’ to a lucky person who leaves a comment before Saturday 25th 8:30EDST.

Good luck and if you would like to know more about Rachel and her books, go to her website http://rachelbailey.com/

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

43 Comments

  1. Barb

     /  February 24, 2012

    Hi Rachel,

    We certainly all benefit from your procrastination! Thanks for being a fabulous Prez.

    Of course we also benefit when you’re not procrastinating ’cause we can read your gorgeous books. What Happens in Charleston is a great title and as I’ve been lucky enough to read it already I know it’s a fabulous book.

    These blog bites are so great because I always learn something new about the writers I love. Didn’t know you’d been a maths tutor, Rachel!

    Barb

    Reply
  2. Kerri Williams

     /  February 24, 2012

    Good morning Rachel, it’s a treat to have you here today.
    The first three questions describe me perfectly, as for the fourth… Math is my enemy. I’m better at it now since retail has made me but grrrr
    They placed me in the cash office for a while and they soon regretted it. Eek
    Kez

    Reply
  3. Lovely to learn some more about you, Rachel.

    I have to admit to having trouble with my lefts and rights as well – I claim artistic licence every time I tell GW to turn left instead of right 🙂

    And a maths tutor? No wonder you’re so good at the analytical stuff!

    Reply
  4. Melissa Bourn

     /  February 24, 2012

    I love the fact that you like Elvis. He is King in our house. I think my kids are the only ones in their school who know who he is!! Thanks for the interview!
    Mel
    bournmelissa@hotmail.com

    Reply
  5. Barb, thanks for the sweet words on What Happens in Charleston! Re: the maths tutoring – it was only primary school level maths while I was in high school. 🙂

    Reply
  6. hey, Rachel! I enjoyed your bites! Lots of things I knew but others I’ve learned! I don’t think I’ve told you this, but you’ve completely sold my dh and I on sauted chick peas in a salad! Seriously yummy!

    Veeeery nice cover for your latest release – actually I adore both of you covers for that book! Your Bites winner is in for a treat. Matthew and Suzanne are gorgeous!

    🙂
    Sharon

    Reply
    • So I’m sitting outside under the pine tree and suddenly realised that I meant Matthew and SUSANNAH! That’ll teach me to dash off a comment without more thought, won’t it! Sorry, Rachel!

      🙂
      Sharon

      Reply
  7. Hi Rachel,
    Great bites. I share that left/right thing as well but I also add in a hand wave while we’re driving. “Turn left” I shout while waving my right hand. You can imagine how well that goes down 🙂
    And I love the sound of that colour. A bit like heather?

    Reply
  8. Hi Kerri – thanks for inviting me to Blog Bites! It’s a lovely place to spend a rainy Friday. 🙂

    Reply
    • I was about six when my mother finally told me Elvis had died and I screamed at her declaring she was a liar! Dear oh dear, I was in love and delusional. lol
      But he was hunky and all sorts of awesome!
      Kez

      Reply
  9. Helene, that’s fascinating that you have trouble with left and right as well. I always say that I had an internal compass installed where other people have the L/R thing in their brain – I always know where north is!

    Reply
  10. Hi Melissa. I’m always mystified why someone *wouldn’t* like Elvis. He’s just so full of awesome, and the louder you play his songs, the better his voice sounds. My current fave is Bridge Over Troubled Water from the That’s How It Is concert. I melt!

    Reply
  11. Sharon, I love sauteed chickpeas in salads – so glad your dh has been converted. 😉 My other fave ingredient is small pieces of roast pumpkin. They cook really quickly because they’re small and give a great texture and flavour to the salad.

    And thanks for the kind words about Matthew and Susannah’s story – they wouldn’t have been the same without you!

    Reply
  12. Jennifer St George

     /  February 24, 2012

    Hi Rachel – left and right – is there a difference???? ‘What Happens In Charleston…’ love the title and can’t wait to read it.

    Reply
  13. Louise, another for the left/right thing – maybe it’s something to do with writers…?

    The walls aren’t as purpley as heather. I just love it. I’m fond of most browns, but this one is gorgeous. Will eventually paint most rooms in the house with it, I think!

    Reply
  14. Okay, Jen, now there is a definite pattern. Four of us so far who have trouble with the left/right thing…

    I love that title too! My clever editor came up with it. 🙂

    Reply
  15. I love the sound of that colour!

    I can manage left and right, but north and south? I have no idea. Unless I can see the Adelaide Hills straight ahead, then I know I’m heading east.

    Reply
    • The colour is seriously gorgeous. When I told my artist mother I was painting the office brown, she was horrified, but she’s okay with the way it came up (still not what she’d choose).

      So you’re in the Left/Right Able group, huh? I guess if we were driving together we’d be okay – I can do the north / south and you could do the left / right. 🙂

      Reply
  16. Geez, Rach, you’re everywhere today. I was just over at the other Rachel’s blog blog LOL

    Reply
    • It’s almost like I have a book out, hey, Jenn? Lol. Lovely to see you around, though. Looking forward to catching up at conference!

      Reply
  17. Rachel, I love your favourite authors (and I have a bit of a soft spot for your current reading material too ). I’m with you on the left and right thing — I once gave the dh a card that had a picture of a car sinking into a lake with the words “You know when I say left I mean right.” Maybe it’s a writer thing?

    Sauteed chickpeas, huh? You know, it doesn’t sound all that appetising (but I’m willing to be corrected).

    Reply
    • Oh, I love that visual! Would be very appropriate on a card for my dh too. 🙂 It could very well be a writer thing, except for Claire above. Though I just read an article on the net that said having trouble with left/right is more common in women because they’re more likely to use both hemispheres of the brain at once, whereas men tend to more strongly use one side. Fascinating.

      One day I will cook you sauteed chickpeas and you will be wowed. They’re fabulous even just to snack on.

      I’m having a lovely time with my current reading material. The Secretary’s Secret has such a pretty cover!

      Reply
  18. Yah, well here is the lovely Rachel. Great to see you here Rach. Oh, and Elvis is not daggy. lol… He was quite a hunk in his younger days. 🙂

    Hope to catch up with you at the conference this year. Oh, I would never have guessed you are a vego. 🙂

    All the best,

    Suz 🙂

    Reply
    • Suz, you’re right. Elvis is beyond terms like daggy and cool. He’s in another class altogether. Elvis class. 🙂

      Would love to catch up at conference! Yep, vegetarian for over 20 years now. =)

      Reply
  19. Malvina

     /  February 24, 2012

    I *love* the fact your two fave authors are Jane Austen and Jennifer Crusie! Chalk and cheese, LOL. But both funny, smart, a woman of their times. I think you’ve got something there, Rachel. 🙂

    Reply
    • Malvina, yes! They’re both funny, smart women of their times. Reading a book by JA or JC will leave me smiling and feeling good about the world. Maybe I should reread one now…

      Reply
  20. Hi Rachel!
    You’re a girl after my own heart. I LOVE pavlova, and really make a pig of myself at xmas. The only time I cook it otherwise I’d be eating it ALL the time.
    Tam 🙂

    Reply
    • Tamara, there’s so much to love about pavlova! We have a new creation in the house today – my sister, her husband and their son are coming for the weekend because it’s my nephew’s birthday. We all love dh’s lemon cheesecake (very lemony!) as well as lemon meringue pie, So as a special treat for my nephew’s birthday, dh made the cheesecake and also made a batch of little meringues which he’s placed all over the top. It’s a Lemon Meringue Cheesecake! Can’t wait to try it tonight!

      Reply
  21. Jennifer St George

     /  February 24, 2012

    Rache – just went to Kmart to buy your new book – where is it?!?!?!

    Reply
    • Jen, you sweetie! The Desires come out mid-month in Australia, so it won’t be there for a couple of weeks. With the different release dates in US and Aust (this one is Feb in US and March in Aust) as well as some lines being start of the month and some mid-month, it can get very confusing!

      Reply
  22. Sneaking in with a comment and hoping that it’s 8.30pm not 8.30am! I would like to read ‘what happened in Charleston’. It is, indeed, a great title.

    And no, I did not know you are a vegetarian! Little known facts about well known Presidents! You have a very productive way of procrastinating, I must say. Wish mine was as useful!

    Cheers, Imelda

    Reply
  23. Hi Imelda! It’s my favourite title so far! Great to have a clever editor. 🙂

    Reply
  24. Sue Rees

     /  February 25, 2012

    Elvis is so not daggy – going to a friend’s 30th birthday party tonight (expect it will be moved indoors due to lousy weather up here). The theme – Blue Hawaii! And she made the invitations with the man himself on the cover.
    Thanks for all you do as el presidente. How do you still find time to write? Looking forward to reading your new book when it comes out here.
    Best wishes,
    Sue

    Reply
    • Sue, a Blue Hawaii party? Why didn’t I think of that? I bet you had a fabulous time!

      Thanks for the thanks. 🙂 I do manage to sneak some writing time in, but yes, it’s a juggle.

      Reply
  25. Well what a great turn out for Rachel who has been a fantastic and entertaining guest.
    Thank you!
    As to our winner of ‘What Happens In Charleston…’ michelle douglas, I hope you enjoy. I will be in contact with you and Rachel shortly.
    See you all again hopefully in a fortnight for another Blog Bites.
    Kerri

    Reply
    • Thanks for inviting me, Kerri! I especially liked finding out how many other writers have trouble with the right and left thing. Makes me feel more normal. 🙂

      Reply
  26. Ooh, how lovely! Am utterly chuffed!

    Reply
    • Aw, how cool that the winner of my book is the author of the book I’m reading now – feels like the books are making a full circle. Hope you enjoy, Michelle!

      Reply
  27. Hey Rachel,

    I’m currently reading Return of the Secret Heir, which has been sitting in my tbr pile since Christmas.

    JT is smokin’ hot, and Pia is wonderful and so, so vulnerable. Love them both.

    Absolutely and totally enjoying it!

    Oh, and I must be daggy to, because I’m an Elvis fan as well. LOL

    Reply
    • Cheryl, *thank you* heaps for telling me! I loved JT and Pia, and I’d been carrying the characters in my head since before I started the story about the first brother, Ryder, so I was really keen to give them a story that deserved them. Glad it’s working for you!

      Excellent re: another Elvis fan! Perhaps we need a future RWA conference cocktail party to have an Elvis theme. We can dress up as characters from his movies and play Elvis songs all night. =)

      Reply
      • Sue Rees

         /  March 1, 2012

        Oh I do love your suggestion of an Elvis themed cocktail party. Can we – please? Not next year though, because I doubt Perth will be doable… Love the idea, or even specifically a Blue Hawaii night. How cool.

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

