Blog Bites with Suzanne Brandyn

I’d like to welcome Australian Author, Suzanne Brandyn who has written in multiple genres in her career so far. As her tag line says, ‘Australian stories where hearts collide in romance, and suspense. Stories as diverse and unique as the land we live in.’

I write: Contemporary Romance and Romantic Suspense

I’m from: Everywhere. Where would you like me to start? Lol.

Three words to describe me: Honest. Caring. Committed.

 At home I cook:  Stir fry’s.

My worst habit is: Telling people to straighten their backs.

It’s a bit daggy but I love: Green Tree Frogs.

My first job was: Working at David Jones at Charlestown Square, in Newcastle.

My day job is:  Writing, and a super domestic goddess. Lol

Saving for: I don’t save, I just spend. 🙂 Yah!

I procrastinate by: I’m not good enough.

Three things people might not know about me are:  I use to round up sheep on a horse, on a Cattle, Sheep, and Wheat property. I danced as a cage dancer at Ziggy’s Star Dust in Newcastle. 🙂  I used to ride a surf board and never wanted to get out of the ocean.

Favourite author: Nora Roberts.

Current reading:  Scared Yet, by Jaye Ford

Favourite book as a child: The Enchanted Forest by Enid Blyton.

Favourite movie: I have many favourites but if I have to pick one, it would have to be Sweet Home Alabama.

Plotter or panster: Semi Plotter. I have an outline of such. 🙂

I would most like to meet: I always wanted to meet Elvis Presley. Unfortunately, it came and went. Sad, very sad.

When I was young, I wanted to be: A Trapeze girl in a Circus.

Why I write: To deliver all the stories in my head. To enable  women to escape from the everyday mundane of life, where  in the end, there is that Happy Ever After.

Latest project: The release of my Romantic Suspense, Forgotten Memories, with Eternal Press.  I am currently working on a Suspense/Thriller with romantic elements.

Thank you Suzanne for joining us today and if you would like to find out more about Suzanne and her books go to her website http://suzannebrandyn.com/

Suzanne has also kindly offered a pdf copy of Forgotten Memories to a lucky person who leaves a comment. The name will be drawn out by 8:30pm EDST Sat 24th.  Good Luck!

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Hahaha Suz, I would never have picked you to be cage dancer. I just can’t get past that, wait until I see you next. I want an example show.
    lol
    kez

    Reply
  2. ROB HAMOND

     /  March 23, 2012

    Good on you Suz, rounding up sheep on a horse during day, cage dancer at night and writer in your spare tme.
    Nearly as bad as me Emergency Department (hospital) worker in the evening, Night Club barman in wee small hours of morning and writer during the day.
    Suzz we ought to team up. All the best with your new release, thanks for telling a little about yourself. Robhap

    Reply
  3. Hey, Suzanne, thanks for doing the Bite. I know it’s a kinda silly thing to say, because I should be talking about the writing, but I love that photo of you. I always think that, whenever I see it, so I thought it was time to say so! Love the cover for Forgotten Memories, too.

    Reply
  4. lol Kez, now that was a while back. It was a phase which last a few months as casual work to pay for my studies. lol… 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hi Rob,
    Emergency Department, and Barman, they sound interesting. . 🙂 The best job I had was when I was waitressing in a resturant which had a small bar area. My daughter was small and I worked on the Friday and Saturday night. I loved it. lol

    Reply
  6. Hi Imelda,
    Thank you. It was taken a few years ago in Hawaii. Notice I look warm, and not so cold. lol.. Oh wriitng. The cover artist Amanda Kelsey did a fabulous job on the cover of ‘Forgotten Memories’, as she did on another release I have coming out in May, ‘Eyes of A Stranger.’

    Reply
  7. maryde

     /  March 23, 2012

    Hi Suz,
    amazing the little things one reveals of themselves that makes another say, “wow … who would have thought it?”
    At first shall I say …I straightened my back. LOL I don’t mind if you remind me, I often forget.
    Do you know I can visualise you on a trapeze quite easily, something about your carefree and whimsical nature I think.
    The cage dancer is curiously interesting, may have questions for you at some point in time though lol, and I have to agree with meeting Elvis … too late ho….hum.
    Nice to know more about the lovely lady you are.

    Reply
  8. Hi Maryde,
    Thank you. I was quite the monkey, walking along the top of timber fences, climbing pine trees, some as high as 40′. When the opportunity arises I hang upside down in a park,(that is when no one is looking) The blood rush is good for your body. lol.. Oh and it’s great for the back.

    I’ll be onto you about straightening that back, so look out. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Hi, Suzanne,
    Hope you’re feeling better today.

    My, I admire your wild streak! LOL with the back straightening thing. My office chair forces me to sit straight – I love it. 🙂

    Reply
  10. Hi Sandra,
    Yes, thank you.

    I’m not quite as wild, but it’s still there, dormant of late. lol
    I would go bungie jumping if I could. That’s something I haven’t done.

    🙂

    Reply
  11. I had to come in and clarify a mistake. lol,, It was David Jones at Bankstown Square, Sydney, not Newcastle. lol… There was only one DJ’S in Newcastle, and that was in Hunter Street. Phew, now I feel better. 🙂

    Reply
    • LOL – glad we cleared that up. I feel so much better. I was sitting here thinking OMG – she’s like, 10 years old!!

      And as far as I knew DJs was never in C/Town!! How funny. Blame it on the edits! I blame everything on edits. Even a day when my hair won’t perform – I blame it on the fact that I must be too stressed and my hair is expressing that… 😉

      I sooo wish I’d known you when you were on my doorstep!! Think of the trouble we’d have gotten up to! But then again, you’d be forever at me over my back. Too many years typing – a car accident resulting in back injury – they’ve all taken their toll.

      I’m always at my girls though. I love straight backs even if I struggle.

      Reply
  12. A cage dancer! Good grief, you never told me that…did you LOL.
    And stop procrastinating. You are good enough 🙂

    Oh and will have to check with hubby on that domestic goddess claim too 🙂

    Reply
  13. Ummm, now I’m wondering what other little secrets you are keeping from us Miss Suz. Very entertaining BB ladies.

    Reply
  14. Hi Jenn,
    There are a lot of things I haven’t told people. lol.. May surprise you even more.

    Gee you’re tough. lol.. Of course I’m a domestic goddess, well not of late, but I have been. 🙂

    Reply
  15. Hmm, I’m having a laugh here. Don’;t forget I’ve lived everywhere and had an extremely varied life style. :”)

    Reply
  16. I LOVED The Enchanted Forest and The Faraway Tree as a kid, Suz! I also would have liked the trapeeze thing – I spent quite a lot of my youth dangling upside down on the trapeeze on my swing set (was quite envious of the biggest loser contestants getting to go to trapeeze school last week!).

    Great blog bite 🙂

    Reply
  17. Sounds like we have much in common. I’d love to have a go at a trapeeze. All that invigorating fun. lol… 🙂

    As for Enid Blyton’s stories, they were always around, and I never forgot them. 🙂

    Reply
  18. Congratulation to sandraharrisauthor, you have won a pdf copy of Forgotten Memories. I will be in touch with you and Suz shortly.
    kez

    Reply
  19. Vanda Vadas

     /  March 26, 2012

    Hi Suzanne !

    Day off work today so catching up on the RWA Blog site.

    So your first job was at DJ’s Charlestown square? My husband and I lived in Cardiff for 12 years before moving to the Gold Coast in 2000. Charlestown Square was one of our local shopping haunts.

    And…I used to work in Newcastle!

    Talk about six degrees of separation!

    Vanda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

