Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Fiona Palmer

Today I’d like to welcome rural fiction author, Fiona Palmer to the blog! Fiona has kindly agreed to give away a copy of her book, The Road Home to one lucky person, anywhere in the WORLD!… see the end of the interview for how to enter.

1.      Welcome Fiona, please tell us about your new release, THE ROAD HOME:

It’s centred around Lara and her brother Noah and his best friend Jack. Noah, being the son, got to go to Ag School and stay on the family farm while Lara was sent away to boarding school in the city (and never came back). Then Noah has to sell Erindale and Lara ends up being the solution to keeping the farm in their family, swapping her business heels for work boots.  While she’s trying to learn how to run the farm, as well as solving a few inconsistencies, she’s also trying to figure out why Jack dislikes her, even though they hit it off in their first meeting. But Jack has his own issues to deal with after running away from New Zealand. Can these two come together over the land they both love? Well you’ll just have wait and see as I can’t give away too much. 😉

2.      What do you love most about being an author?

I love creating. I love writing stories set in the bush that are as believable/real/relatable as possible. I’m very passionate about where I live, the characters I meet and our way of life and just really want to share that with everyone. (Oh, and did I mention I can create/invent the nicest blokes…all modelled off my husband of course!) And no, he didn’t pay me to say that.

3.      How do you keep coming up with new ideas and storylines?

You know, I really don’t know!! I’ll think ‘Crap! What am I going to write about next?’, but before I can stress an idea has popped into my head. Sometimes a news story can trigger it or something I do or hear. At the moment I’m about to finish my fourth book and I already have another two books that are starting to take shape in my head.  So far, so good. 🙂

4.      Rural fiction is a popular genre, can you name three characteristics you think make a successful rural fiction book?

Great settings- What’s a rural book without wonderful landscapes (and wildlife). You need the dirt, the sky and the air in detail.

Characters- Some of the kooky old battlers can make a book. Sometimes it’s the hard physical struggle that can make a man…or so I’m told.

Mother Nature or the weather.-  Rural life revolves around this, and she’s unpredictable which makes for great, believable storylines.

 

5.      Do you write detailed character profiles before starting a new book, or do you find the characters come to life as you write?

I like to find some pictures of my characters so I’ve got something to physically look at. In my mind I’ve already started to detail them a bit and the rest comes as I write. So it’s a bit of both really.

 I had one character who I’d thought would be outgoing and fun but as I wrote this new section all of a sudden he’d decided to do something hilariously out there. Almost pushing it too far. But that really showed me the person he really was. If any of that makes sense. Sometimes I only seem to make sense to myself. (Too much talking to my characters. They totally understand me.)

6.      Describe yourself in three words:

Easygoing, punctual, tomboy. (I can wear a dress. I wore one on my wedding day. I just don’t like to as I feel funny. 🙂 )

7.      How long does it usually take you to write the first draft of a novel?

Around five to six months, if the research is easy enough (and there are not too many family/life distractions).

8.      Now that your latest book is released, what are you working on next?

I’m working on a story set in the town of Bundara, about the local mechanic Jonelle and the new banker, Daniel who comes to the drought stricken town. I’ve really enjoyed writing this one as it’s a bit close to my heart with a speedway scene and the references to cars. And the town characters are just wonderful. I’ll be finished in the next month and then it will be shipped off to the publishers…fingers crossed they like it too.

Thanks for joining us, Fiona!

Visit Fiona at her website, or on Facebook or Twitter (@fiona_palmer)

To be in the draw to WIN a copy of THE ROAD HOME, simply leave a comment for Fiona below  (open internationally) 🙂

Winner will be drawn on Monday 2nd April and notified via email, and the winner must respond within one week. Good luck!

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Congrats on the new book, Fiona, it looks great. I love to see realistic portrayals of rural life, too, especially Australian ones. I hope it goes fantastically!

    Reply
  2. Congrats Fiona on the new book. Lovely interview. I enjoyed reading all the background you use in your books.

    I do enjoy rural romances and it’s great so their popularity rising 🙂

    I was in Big W yesterday and saw yours and other Aussie writers’ books being promoted 🙂

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      Thanks Joanne, I’m yet to get to the shops and actually see my book in stores. Another week to go and I’ll be there…by then it will probably be gone!! :/

      Reply
  3. Good luck with your new book Fiona.

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      Thanks Janet. Where would I be if it wasn’t for you and the ASA! 🙂 xx

      Reply
  4. Congratulations on your new release, Fiona. Heart of Gold is sitting on my bookshelf waiting TBR and I’m looking forward to placing The Road Home next to it. Like Joanne, I’m loving seeing Australian rural romance on the rise. We have so many great places and characters to write about.
    Here’s wishing you many happy sales and reviews 🙂

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      We have so many great places Juanita. That’s why Australia is so amazing. Thanks for the well wishes 🙂

      Reply
  5. Fiona, I challenge you to wear a dress at the conference in august 😉

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      Hmm…..NO sorry can’t do it. I just can’t do it. I’ll be nervous as it is so I don’t need to make myself feel any worse lol

      Reply
  6. Cyndie

     /  March 28, 2012

    I would like a chance to win Fiona’s book!

    Reply
  7. LOL on the wearing a dress only on your wedding day! Don’t enter me in the draw, I already have a copy 🙂

    And I agree with Juliet’s challenge! We’ll all be watching now !!

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      Rach don’t you start! I hate feeling self conscious and dresses do that lol

      Reply
  8. Amanda Clymo

     /  March 28, 2012

    Stay out of the dress and keep writing the great Aussie stories!

    Reply
  9. Narelle

     /  March 28, 2012

    So excited to have your new book to read. Lucky Easter break is on is way. Reading time. Can’t wait.

    Reply
  10. eli yanti

     /  March 28, 2012

    congrats on the release fiona 🙂

    wow.. love your cover book and the story sounds great

    Reply
  11. I enjoyed reading about you, Fiona. 🙂
    I write rurals myself and have been reading them for sometime. Best of luck with the new release.

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      Hi Whitney! Goodluck with your rural stories. Thanks x

      Reply
  12. Brigitte

     /  March 28, 2012

    Your third book, already! It seems to me I have only just turned the last page of The Family Farm yesterday. Loved both of your books. Hopefully there will be more good stories to come after The Road Home.
    I’m very intrigued by the setting of your next book; mechanic and banker, huh? Wonder how that story will pan out; can’t wait. So, off to the keyboard you go, young lady….:)

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      lol I can’t believe how many years have past since The Family Farm came out!! I hope I have some good stories left too Brigitte. Time will tell lol. 4th book is now with the publishers 🙂

      Reply
  13. mothersbrains

     /  March 29, 2012

    Congratulations on your book Fiona – it’s awesome to see Australian writers enjoying success.

    Reply
  14. Fiona, I LOVE your photo! Just finished reading Heart of Gold and looking forward to your new book and I hope it flies off the shelf. I’ve made sure my local library has a copy!

    Reply
    • Fiona Palmer

       /  April 2, 2012

      Ah Fi, you’re a star! Thank you. Looking forward to catching up with you again 🙂

      Reply
  15. Thanks everyone for stopping by and sharing the excitement of Fiona’s new book.

    Cyndie is the winner of a copy of THE ROAD HOME. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

