A Day in the Writing Life of … Erin Moira O’Hara

Today we feature a day in the writing life of Erin Kuhne who writes stories of romance, adventure and suspense under the name of Erin O’Hara. Welcome, Erin, and thank you for participating.

Where do you write?      I have a beautiful old antique desk in the corner of an alcove and this is where I usually do my writing.  We are in the process of building a new home at the moment and once it’s finished, I will have my own study, opening onto a Tuscan courtyard and I can’t wait.

Is there any special rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?   I always make a cup of tea before I sit down and again whenever I’m struggling with a sentence, word or scene and it always seems to work.

What time of day do you do your writing?     Because I work three of four days a week, I do most of my writing in the evenings or weekends if we aren’t doing anything else and I always read over the previous days work, usually finding something to change or correct.

Are you a plotter / planner of pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?     I’m a Bitza. I have an idea and I try to plot and plan but next thing I know I’m off on a tangent creating as I go. I also edit as I go and again when I read over my previous days work and again at the end of the chapter. I think I’m a compulsive tweaker.

Do you use whiteboards, posters or visual aids to help in your creativity?     I use a whiteboard, the Internet, poster notes, collages and writing pads, although most of my writing ideas come to me as I’m writing or when I go to bed and think about what I’ve just written.

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?     Heavens I can name more than five. I have a corkboard on the wall with photos, sticky notes, friend’s emails, goals and upcoming competitions, plastered all over it.  On my desk I have photos, a cup full of pens, some writing craft books an old bankers lamp and my computer.

I have recent created both a website and blog and you can find out more about me at : http://erinmoiraohara.wordpress.com

 I also belong to a great writing group called Hunter Romance Writers where I have a little blurb about myself and my writing. You can find us all there under; http://hunterromancewriters.wordpress.com

Thanks, Erin, for sharing your writing life with us and thank you also, for the plus about our group – wink.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. An office opening onto a Tuscan courtyard! Sorry, Erin, I did read the rest, you had me at Tuscan courtyard. What a lovely idea! I’m with you on the tea, too. thanks for sharing with us.

    Reply
  2. Kylie Griffin

     /  March 30, 2012

    Erin, that photo on the left hand side of your desk looks awfully familiar! 🙂

    Reply
  3. maryde

     /  March 30, 2012

    Love your writing desk Erin. Will you keep it when you move into your Tuscany Villa ….lol ummmm …. I mean your new study with Tuscany outlook 🙂

    Reply
  4. Looking forward to experiencing that Tuscan feeling when your house is completed, Erin. Sounds magical. Ah, a courtyard directly off your writing room to think. Does this mean we can expect more from you. 🙂

    Suz 🙂

    Reply
  5. Cath Evans

     /  March 31, 2012

    You new house plans sound wonderful, Erin. And I’m with you on the tea, too.

    Good luck with teh new house and the writing!

    Cath

    Reply
  6. kezp

     /  April 2, 2012

    Love the desk Erin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

