Little Gems 2012 Author – Anna Simons

Today we congratulate Anna Simons for winning a place in the 2012 Diamond Edition Little Gems Anthology.

The name of Anna’s 2012 Diamond Edition short story: Seymour’s Folly

 Other name: Anna Ugrinic (this is the real one!)

Do you have any tip/s for writing a short story.

Keeping to the word limit. I talk a lot and I tend to write like that, so paring down can be a real challenge for me.

Focus on one moment in time rather than trying to write a whole novel and add a twist that surprises the reader.

What was you inspiration for the story?

One of my CP’s wondering how many engagement stories were going to be written. Then I watched an episode of Inspector Rex (I’m a German Shepherd tragic) about a jewellery heist and the idea grew from there. I did end up writing an engagement story in addition to this one and it finished 8th from the bottom – go figure!

Do you have a favourite line/short piece from your short?

When my heroine thinks “Not unless you counted various shades of blue.” I can’t say why without giving too much away!

What are you working on now and what are your writing goals for the future?

I was working on a first manuscript for a category romance and it just wasn’t happening – the hero and heroine weren’t talking to me. My two protagonists in ‘Seymours Folly’ started shouting at me from the word go, so their story is being written as we speak. I sent my original hero and heroine on a long holiday and told them to come back when they were ready for me to tell their story. In the future, I want to branch out to general fiction with a couple of ideas that are on the backburner for the moment.

 How can people find out more about you/your writing? Do you have a website or blog?

Website – work in progress. I’ll include a blog and I plan to upload my short stories as free reads once it’s up and running.

Will we be able to catch up with you in person at the RWA National Conference in August?

 Absolutely – already registered. Can’t wait to get up there. I have a shameful (for an Aussie) secret to share – I’ve never been to the Gold Coast!

Anthology Orders Now Open

Would you like to order the anthology for yourself, as a special gift or a Christmas (yes I said Christmas) stocking filler?

Orders are now open and we are taking pre-release orders until the end of June, so plenty of time. Use the order form on our RWA website.

NOTE: Pre-release ordering means you are ordering and paying but the anthology will not be available until August (launched at the national conference).
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Cath Evans

     /  April 4, 2012

    Hello Anna,
    What a nice interview 🙂 I didn’t know Inspector Rex inspired your story. Lucky I came here to find out. Can’t wait for you to autograph your story in my copy.

    Cath

    Reply
    • Anna Ugrinic

       /  April 4, 2012

      Thanks heaps Cath. Really excited to have made it in and with such a gorgeous cover to boot.

      Reply
  2. Hi Anna

    Lovely to find another Inspector Rex fan! Congratulations on your heist story getting in. I too have the talking a lot problem, so I’m impressed that you managed to prune so well!

    Reply
    • Anna Ugrinic

       /  April 4, 2012

      Imelda, if you’re at the conference we’ll certainly have a lot to talk about! Thanks for your congrats

      Reply
  3. Vanda Vadas

     /  April 4, 2012

    Hi Anna
    Congratulations on gaining a place in this year’s Little Gems. I like the title of your story and am looking forward to reading it.

    Reply
    • Anna Ugrinic

       /  April 4, 2012

      Thanks Vanda, congratulations to you as well. I enjoyed your unique story in the Garnet Anthology last year so really looking forward to reading your Diamond entry.

      Reply
  4. Sheridan Kent

     /  April 4, 2012

    Congratulations Anna on making it into this years anthology! You go girl! You have a wonderful story and I’m honoured you trusted me to read it. You better take a fresh pen with you to the Gold Coast for all those signings, I’ll be the first one in the queue.

    Reply
    • Anna Ugrinic

       /  April 4, 2012

      Sheri I’ll take a few pens and no doubt collect some more! Really chuffed to have you and Cath as CP’s to keep in line and trying my best.

      Reply
  5. You sure do have awesome CPs. Lucky girl. Looking forward to seeing you again in August and rading your story. Hope you are enjoying your level 11 coffee 🙂

    Reply
    • Anna Ugrinic

       /  April 5, 2012

      Hi Jenn, the coffee is actually better at Vivo’s on the ground floor! And for someone in IT you’re going to have to teach me how to put symbols in blog replies! It will be awesome to catch up in August.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

