Little Gems 2012 Author – Mary Warwick

Meet Mary Warwick, Diamond Edition author of:

Diamonds In The Sky

We asked Mary what challenges her most about writing a short romance story and to share her tips.

Biggest challenge in writing a short romance story is finding different ways to develop the romance in so few words, while keeping the surrounding story interesting and plausible.

I can’t remember creating a short story that wouldn’t have preferred to be a novel, and therein lies a major pitfall. I have to write a short story quickly, before it morphs into a 120,000 word epic. The trick is to give the characters depth without using any extra words. A tough call sometimes.

 Do you have a favourite line/short piece from your short?

My favourite piece from “Diamonds in the Sky” is the 40-word opening to the heroine’s 1,000 word assignment, “In the pearl-white light of the rising moon they danced from star to star, locked in a loving embrace. No wisp of cloud… etc.,” and her flatmate’s wry response: “You’ve got some way to go, girl.”

What was you inspiration for the story?

The mention of diamonds instantly conjures up images of the stars in the vast, Australian night sky. Diamonds as jewels come rather as an afterthought, so the story was going to be about the stars right from the start. A timely visit to the Smithsonian Hubble display just before the Little Gems deadline clinched it.

What are you working on now?

Currently I’m putting the finishing touches to a novel for entry in the Valerie Parv Award. I’m trying to write a biography of the late Joan Crane, who was one of the few Flying Nightingales who went into Europe behind the advancing Allies to fly the wounded home from the front. It’s proving difficult because she was such a self-deprecating sort of lady who never talked about what she had done.

How can people find out more about you/your writing? Do you have a website or blog?

I don’t have a website at the moment, but one is in the offing. The domain name is registered.

Will we be able to catch up with you in person at the RWA National Conference in August?

I’ll certainly be at the RWA National Conference in August and I’m very optimistic that I’ll gain a great deal from attending.

Anthology Orders Now Open

Would you like to order the anthology for yourself, as a special gift or a Christmas (yes I said Christmas) stocking filler?

Orders are now open and we are taking pre-release orders until the end of June, so plenty of time. Use the order form on our RWA website.

NOTE: Pre-release ordering means you are ordering and paying but the anthology will not be available until August (launched at the national conference).
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Carmen

     /  April 10, 2012

    Congratulations on making the anthology, Mary.
    I’m glad they allowed two stories with the same title. Mine was the other one.

    Reply
  2. Lovely to ‘meet’ you Mary. I love the image of the ‘diamonds’ of the night sky. I have only occasionally seen the real night sky, without the light pollution of the city and it is on my bucket list to go right out to the bush again and lose myself in the wonder of that sky. Thanks, Jenn for doing this series – I’m so enjoying it!

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      I lived in cities for most of my (early) life. The outback sky blew my mind!

      Reply
  3. louise

     /  April 13, 2012

    diamonds of the night sky reminds me of living in the country away from artificial light – well done

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      Thank you for your comment and congratulations There’s nothing to compare with the Australian night sky – so inspirational.

      Reply
  4. Will definitely be looking out for your story, Mary. I love the sound of the biography too. Great post, thankyou.

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      Ah, the biography. If only the lady lived long enough for me to ask so many questions!

      Reply
  5. annieseaton26

     /  April 13, 2012

    Mary
    I admire anyone who can write a short story. It is a tremendous skill.
    Annie

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      It’s tough, but I hope I’m getting a handle on making each word count.

      Reply
  6. Anita Joy

     /  April 13, 2012

    Mary, I know what you mean – I can’t write a short story because before I know it they are a novel, lol.

    Congrats on making the Diamond LG.

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      Thank you for saying such nice things! I wouldn’t like to try anything less than LG’s 3,000 words, though.

      Reply
  7. There is nothing quite like the wide expanse of the Australian outback night sky; all those meteors whizzing across the sky. And the story of the Flying Nightingales – you have me hooked. Xongratulations on being a Little Gems winner

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      Thank you so much. The Flying Nightingales were amazing ladies. There’s a huge amount of work to be done on this biography – and I’ve never attempted anything quite so challenging before.

      Reply
  8. Lovely to find out more about you Mary. Congratulations on your Gem becomming a winner. I admire you doing the story on one of the Nightingales. Such courageous women. I believe Joan became an airhostess after the war.

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      Thank you for your congrats, Suzanne. Joan was a hostie with British European Airways (a component of today’s British Airways) after the war, flying on ex-Luftwaffe JU52 “Tin Lizzies”, DC-3s, etc. I had the privilege of flying with her on several occasions when I was with BEA in the 1960s. She definitely led a charmed life. I didn’t realise what an undertaking her story would be when I started on it, but I hope I can do her justice.

      Reply
  9. Congratulations on being in the diamond Little Gems, Mary. I look forward to seeing it in my copy come August. I just loved your heroine’s opening line for her essay, not far to go at all!!

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      Hi Nikki,
      Thank you for your congratulations.
      Will you be at Conference? Maybe I’ll get to meet you there?

      Reply
  10. Lovely meeting you, Mary. Look forward to reading your story and I think your biography sounds fabulous. I want to read it already. Loved your take on diamonds, one of my favourite ever travel adventures was the Sounds of Silence Dinner at Uluru and the telling of stories under the stars.
    Wishing you joy in your writing, xx Fi

    Reply
    • Mary Warwick

       /  April 14, 2012

      Thank you so much, Fiona. One day I will get to Uluru – it sounds absolutely fantastic. Ah, the biography… if only it were as easy as whistling a short story out of the air! Joan outlived most of her contemporaries, so the research has been a challenge.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

