A Day in the Writing Life of … Elise McCune

Hi Elise, and welcome.

What time of the day do you write?    I write in the morning. Sometimes I write at other times during the day if I have free time. But I am definitely an early bird and find I am more productive and creative in the morning.

Where do you write?    I have moved several times in the last few years and have always set up a special place for writing. I can  write anywhere.

What’s the first think you do before you begin to write?    I read what I have written the day before and do any obvious corrections. I find this helps me with the flow of my story. I then start to write.

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?    I prefer to be a plotter/planner. Of course in saying this, the novel I am working on at the moment was planned but I did leave some things to work our “later”. Once I am writing I try to write 1000 words per day. This doesn’t always happen but I find I need a goal.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?   I haven’t in the past. But now I have purchased a board to place above my desk. I will pin up relevant photographs, floor plans of any buildings I am writing about and relevant notes about my WIP.

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?   A stone that was given to me by a writing friend to encourage creativity, a pen or pencil, a notepad (the last two in case I look up something on the Internet and need to take notes), a dictionary and thesaurus.

Is your writing space messy, organized or somewhere in between?   I start off with a tidy desk but as the morning progresses it ends up rather untidy.

What is your favourite form of procrastination?    I try to avoid procrastination but it strikes us all at sometime. The best thing I have found is to be at my desk by a certain time, no matter what is waiting to be done. If I keep the morning free I can then have lunch and the afternoon is mine for whatever I need or want to do. This is easier for me than say writers with children, or jobs, or other priorities as I am retired from my day job (in a museum) and don’t have children, or school runs and holidays to contend with.

Elise’s book ‘From the Heart’ was published by Zeus Publishing and the first chapter can be read on the site in the non-fiction area.

Her self published book ‘The Mirror in the Garden’ will be available soon on Amazon. Elise has recently created her blog which is a work in progress. To follow Elise’s writing journey please visit : http://elisemccune.wordpress.com

Thank you, Elise, for sharing a day in your writing life.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Nice to meet you Elise! I empathise with the need to ‘show up’ at a particular time. i find that works for me, too. Otherwise, it’s too easy for other priorities to take over. Good luck with the new book!

    Reply
  2. maryde

     /  April 13, 2012

    Hi Elise.
    I completely understand a desk that starts the day tidy.
    lovely to meet up.

    Reply
  3. Anita Joy

     /  April 13, 2012

    Elise, what did you do at the museum? Museum’s are one of the places I think would be wonderful to work at – and there must be lots of inspiration there too!

    Reply
  4. okay – we are clones, clearly 🙂 nce to ‘meet’ you Elise. Thx Suz

    Reply
  5. Hi Elise,
    You sound far more organised than moi. I might need a loan of the stone. Best wishes,
    Shayne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
    S E Gilchrist on 2017 Ruby finalists
    annajacobsauthor on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Bernadette Rowley on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Edexcel GCSE Maths H… on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

