Little Gems 2012 Author – Fiona Gregory

Okay, so I’m a little baised in introducing our next Little Gems author. I’m thrilled she has taken time out of her busy RWA Conference Coordination role to tell us about her short story – yes Fiona is becoming a bit of a Little Gems regular.

Fiona’s short story is titled: Hope for the Future

What challenges you most in writing a short romance story?
I love writing short. I did a short-story course many years ago, and my tutor had us writing down to 50 word flash fiction. One of the best pieces of advice I was given is to treat each short as an episode from a TV series, rather than a movie. Start at a point of change, plunge in, and finally, always finish leaving a question in the reader’s mind at the end.
For a romantic short story I recommend focusing almost exclusively on your hero and heroine. All the other characters should be edited down to brief thumbnail sketches. Oh, and I always write to the Little Gem, rather than inserting the Gem into an already written story.

Do you have a favourite line/short piece from your short?

City girl, Molly, is spending her first day working in a small country town, where she meets local vet, Blake.
 
“Nope.” He smiled again and held three fingers in the air. “Scouts honour.”
“You were a scout?”
A twinkle of mischief lit up his eyes and the dimple reappeared. “Not exactly, but I know a scout.”
 
What was you inspiration for the story?

I wanted to write about a coloured diamond and I figured the Western Australian writers would have Pink Diamonds in the bag. So I googled Blue Diamond. Somehow or other I ended up with this picture of a tiny grey kitten with big blue eyes, sitting on a person’s open hands. And the story was born.

What are you working on now? and/or What are your writing goals for the future?

Right now, I’m editing my latest futuristic, a marriage of convenience story, written during NaNoWriMo last year. The first draft was very rough and I’m hoping to get it polished enough to enter in the Emerald this year. In the meantime, I rewrote last year’s Little Gem (which didn’t make the cut) into a longer male-male romance and am in the process of submitting. It’s actually much stronger this way and not something I would ever have thought when I wrote it a year ago.
How can people find out more about you/your writing? Do you have a website or blog?
 A website and blog are on my to do list for 2013. Any spare time I have at the moment is spent trying to improve my writing. (Oh, and trying to keep my New Years Resolution of running a half-marathon in July 2012)

Will we be able to catch up with you in person at the RWA National Conference in August?

You bet. My fabulous team of volunteers and I are organising “Diamonds are Forever” on the Gold Coast, so I’ll be there from start to finish. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone there.

Anthology Orders Now Open

Would you like to order the anthology for yourself, as a special gift or a Christmas (yes I said Christmas) stocking filler?

Orders are now open and we are taking pre-release orders until the end of June, so plenty of time. Use the order form on our RWA website.

NOTE: Pre-release ordering means you are ordering and paying but the anthology will not be available until August (launched at the national conference).
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Hi Fiona,
    Congratulations on yet another Little Gems success ‘story’. The kitten is pretty cute. I want one.
    Shayne

    Reply
  2. Hey, Fiona! I’m great fan of short stories – to read and to write! And I’m looking forward to reading another of yours again this year in the little gems! Congratulations!

    Not long ’til August now! Can’t wait to see you on the GC! My thanks to you and your team for what I know is going to be a fabulous fun-and-information-filled four days!
    🙂
    Sharon

    Reply
  3. Carmen

     /  April 24, 2012

    Hi Fiona,
    That’s a great line – sounds like your story’s as cute as the kitten. Congrats.

    Reply
  4. Anita Joy

     /  April 24, 2012

    Fi, you still have spare time? You must be wonder woman *grin*. Always love your LG stories, so can’t wait to read this one.

    Reply
  5. Can’t wait to read your story Fi! Anything with Kittens, get’s me 🙂 And thanks for that golden para of advice about writing shorts. I’m hopeless at it, but would like to give it a go some day soon again!

    Reply
  6. Kitten, hey!!!! Mine is about a big black dog named Midnight. Hope we are not next to each other in the book. Could be pet panadmonium LOL

    Reply
  7. fionajg

     /  April 24, 2012

    Hi everyone (Waves to all)
    How lovely to see you all here. I am so looking forward to seeing everyone at conference and everyone getting their Little Gems Anthology. Can’t wait to read everyone’s else’s story too.

    Conference is shaping up nicely thanks to our fabulous volunteer team it’s only 16 weeks until we’re all enjoying a great professional development opportunity at the Coast.

    Reply
  8. Great interview, Fi – and lovely snippet from your story! I can’t wait to read the full version.

    I cannot believe you are running a half marathon AND organising the conference. You are wonder woman! 🙂

    Reply
  9. Ah, Fiona? Short correction. We may SEE you at the conference, but if you are in training for a half-marathon, there is no chance of me ‘catchin up’ with you! LOL! Congrats on the Blue Diamond (who is adorable). Looking forward to reading it! And thanks for all the work on the conference.

    Reply
  10. Now I know the kitten photo behind the story, (being Fi’s CP, I’m lucky enough to have read it – it’s fantastic). Congrats on another short story in a Little Gems. What’s that now?

    You know I get tired when you talk about marathons. I don’t know how you get that in with all the conference work you are doing. You’re a star!

    Reply
  11. fionajg

     /  April 24, 2012

    Hello again

    For those that don’t know me, I do run. People ask why? I say “Imagine a place where there is no phone, no interruptions, nobody but you and your characters and an hour to get to know them.” Running is my pre-writing time. And my down time from the craziness of life.

    Having said that, this year’s half at the Gold Coast (yep, I’ll be running past the venue) will be of the ugly kind – the one you didn’t really train enough for and you wish you’d worked harder all year when an octaganarian in a green terry towelling hat shuffles past you as you near the finish. Speaking of which, better go lace up my shoes and hit the road…..

    Reply
  12. Fi, you are absolutely awesome at short fiction. It’s totally beyond me how you do it, but you do – time after time, award after award. The thought of a 50 word story brings me out in hives. Guess I have ‘too much description’!

    Reply
  13. Hi Fi
    Having had the priviledge to read your story I loved it and the kitten is gorgeous – cat lovers you can’t go past this story. Thanks for all of your conference work Fi and good luck in the ,marathon.
    Cheers
    Tracey T

    Reply
  14. Vanda Vadas

     /  April 27, 2012

    Hi Fiona
    Congrats on having your story published in this year’s Little Gems. Am looking forward to reading it. Also looking forward to attending the conference on my home turf. Thanks in advance to you and your team for all your efforts. See you there!

    Reply
  15. fionajg

     /  April 28, 2012

    Hi again everyone,
    Popping in to say thanks for all the well wishes and your comments re the conference. We are really looking forward to bringing you a great event and I can’t wait to see you all in August.
    Fi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

