Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Bronwen Evans

I’d like to welcome Bronwen Evans to the Author Spotlight. Bronwen is giving away a copy of her new book (contest open worldwide), and will also be giving you the chance to win a grand prize as part of her blog tour. This interview contains a hidden clue word in [brackets], so keep an eye out! Read on for details…

1. Welcome to the author spotlight, Bronwen, can you tell us a little about your new release, INVITATION TO SCANDAL?

Thanks for inviting me over the ditch to talk with you about my Invitation to Romance blog tour especially for the release of my second book in my ‘Invitation To’ series. My debut book, Invitation to Ruin, was released last year and book two, INVITATION TO SCANDAL, came out 1 May 2012.

Essentially Invitation to Scandal is about an early 1800’s conundrum; what comes first—love or honour. In the Regency era, Society worked because of the honour system. Purchases were on credit, deals were made on a handshake etc. Men wore honour as if it was a medal. So imagine how my hero, Rufus Knight, Viscount Strathmore feels, when he’s faced with the choice of clearing his father of treason or handing to the magistrate the woman he loves.

Her secrets are coming undone…

 Plagued by scandalous rumors, Rheda Kerrich will stop at nothing to restore her reputation and make an honest living for herself-and she’s determined to do it without a husband. But times are hard, and smuggling is a risky though profitable trade. So when a dashing agent for the English government catches her in the act, she desperately resists his charms and conceals her illicit profession. Until she realizes he may be the key to her ultimate freedom-and unbridled passion.

Rufus Knight, Viscount Strathmore, has never had trouble beguiling the ladies of Kent. When his search for “Dark Shadow,” a cunningly elusive smuggler, leads him to alluring and headstrong Rhe, her objections to his amorous advances merely incite a tantalizing game of cat and mouse. Soon, they’ll find the very secrets driving them apart could ensnare them in a love they can’t escape…

 

2. How did you get started in writing and what drew you to writing Regency historicals?

Writing romance was a pipe dream, I never thought it would come true. I went to university and spent years working in financial institutions. Finally, a dear friend’s illness made me re-evaluate my life and I decided to do what I loved most—write.

I decided to write Regency because an editor at my very first romance conference told me how hard it was to get published, and suggested that I focus on writing what I love to read. I love reading Regency historical romances.

3. Do you write full time? What is a typical day like for you?

I haven’t quite got there yet, I’m hoping by the end of this year I can write full time. They say it takes around 4-6 books and I’ll have that many books released by then.  Currently I work twenty hours per week as CEO of a surgeons association and I write Monday afternoon, all day Tuesday and Thursday, and at least half a day in the weekend. I usually write my blogs and other social media at night. It’s a full on job but so worth it!

4. Do you write detailed character profiles before starting a new book, or do you find the characters come to life as you write?

I’m a plotter! I plot out the book in full using a mixture of processes based on Michael Hauge’s Six Act Structure. So character profiles are part of that process. I think that if you’re an author who has to work to tight deadlines, plotting is key. Otherwise you spend too much time re-writing or you write far more than you need. [CLUE EIGHT: HAUNTING]

 

 

5. What do you love most about being an author?

Everything! I love the whole writing process. Letting characters take over my life until they become my best friends. It’s often hard when the book is finished and I have to move on. I love being able to work when I want to work. I love all the wonderful authors you met and who support you when the words won’t come. I LOVE it when readers email me telling me how much they enjoyed my story and that they can’t wait for the next one.

6. Describe yourself in three words:

Friendly, happy and determined.

7. What advice would you give to aspiring romance authors out there?

Join RWA! Writing is so solitary that it’s vital to have a fabulous support network with like minded people. Find yourself a critique partner, and work on your craft. Take courses and read, read, read. Pull apart those books you love to read, in order to understand what the writer has done. And finally FINISH the book. You can’t sell what you haven’t written.

8. What are you working on now?

Gosh, I’m busy at the moment. I have two new releases this month, Invitation to Scandal and To Wager the Marquis of Wolverstone, book two in my Wicked Wagers self-published novella trilogy. I have just finished book one of a new six book Regency series. Then for the rest of this year I’ll be writing the third and final book in the Wicked Wagers trilogy, To Challenge the Earl of Cravenswood, and also book three in the Invitation to series, Invitation to Passion due out early 2013.

And finally I’ve just sold a contemporary romance to Entangled Publishing, The Reluctant Wife, due out in the American fall of 2012. I’m very excited about this move into contemporary romance. As you can see – BUSY!

I’ve also just started my Invitation to Romance Blog Tour. Find out how to win the INVITATION TO ROMANCE Book Tour Grand Prize of a $200 Gift Card from Amazon or B&N PLUS 30+ ‘signed by the author’ romance novels by visiting www.bronwenevans.com . (There will be one WORD hidden in each blog post [WHO] in brackets (the word ‘WHO’ is the first clue from Shana Galen’s post on 26th April). There are 30 words altogether. These words will spell a paragraph related to Bron’s 1 May release INVITATION TO SCANDAL. )

 

Bronwen is published by Kensington Brava. You can visit Bronwen at her website, blog, facebook, and twitter.

To WIN a copy of INVITATION TO SCANDAL, leave a comment below and answer the following question: “What is the name of the elusive smuggler Rufus Knight is trying to catch?” (hint: it’s in the blurb on my website and also in question one, above).

*Winner will be drawn Monday 14th May, and must respond to the email notification within one week to claim the prize or another winner will be chosen. Competition open worldwide and prize will be either in book or ebook format.

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Diane P. Diamond

     /  May 8, 2012

    The name of the elusive smuggler that Rufus Knight is trying to catch is “Dark Shadow”.

    I’m loving this blog tour of your’s Bron, and collecting all the clues along the way. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Thanks Diane. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.I had fun thinking up the clues.

    Reply
  3. Diane D - Florida

     /  May 8, 2012

    Having tons of fun Bron. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Hi Bronwen! I know the answer it would be dark shadows:), fingers cross i got it right

    Reply
  5. The smuggler is “Dark Shadow”

    Reply
  6. newan

     /  May 8, 2012

    the name of the elusive smuggler Rufus Knight is trying to catch is ” Dark Shadow”

    Reply
  7. Sue Rees

     /  May 8, 2012

    The Dark Shadow, aka Rheda Kerrich. This sounds such a good read. I love Regency, and I love smuggler stories – best of both worlds! All the best with your new releases, Bronwen.

    Reply
  8. Bron,
    Can’t wait to read your second book.
    The name of the smuggler is Dark Shadow.
    Suzi Love

    Reply
  9. Tracey D

     /  May 9, 2012

    The answer is Dark Shadow.

    Reply
  10. Eva M

     /  May 9, 2012

    The Dark Shadow (Rheda Kerrich)

    Reply
  11. Mary Doherty

     /  May 9, 2012

    Dark Shadow aka Rheda Kerrich. I WILL WIN THIS BOOK SOME HOW, SOME WAY! lol

    Reply
  12. MaryC

     /  May 9, 2012

    Dark Shadow aks Rheda Kerrich

    Reply
  13. Good morning everyone. It’s 7.30am here on a wet Wellington morning! It’s raining but not too cold for a change. You all go to the top of the class! Thanks for joining in the fun of my blog tour. It’s lovely to see you all.

    Reply
  14. ROB HAMOND

     /  May 9, 2012

    Answer Dark Shadow aks Rheda Kerrich, sounds a great book, thanks for sharing it with us

    Reply
  15. bn100

     /  May 9, 2012

    Nice interview.
    Dark Shadow

    Reply
  16. KIm

     /  May 10, 2012

    Congratulations on the new book. The answer to the clue is Dark Shadow.

    Reply
  17. Dark Shadow, thanks for the lovely blog hop…it’s fun seeing the different sites!

    Reply
  18. Bronwen –

    Computer problems keep foiling my plan to be on schedule to follow your blog and interviews at other sites! Maybe Dark Shadow (Rhe) is trying to foil my attempts to “catch her” in the act! Never fear I’m calling on Rufus to help me in my quest! (i wonder if he also knows how to fix a computer?)

    Reply
  19. Artemis

     /  May 11, 2012

    The name of the elusive smuggler that Rufus Knight is trying to catch is Dark Shadow.

    cindersmaria AT gmail DOT com

    Reply
  20. carol L

     /  May 11, 2012

    It’s Dark Shadow. Bronwen, you certainly have many books coming out. I’ll be looking forward the new Regency series due. Thanks for this opportunity.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Reply
  21. Jay

     /  May 12, 2012

    The answer is Dark Shadow! I’ve got fingers and everything crossed. I hope I’m lucky.

    Reply
  22. Thanks for stopping by ladies. You’re all correct!

    Reply
  23. Joy Gifford

     /  May 12, 2012

    The answer is Dark Shadow. Can’t wait to get my hands and mind around the book………sounds great!

    Reply
  24. Linda Thum

     /  May 14, 2012

    The name of the smuggler is Dark Shadow. Can’t wait to read this book!

    Reply
  25. Thanks to everyone for commenting and sharing in Bron’s blog tour! The winner of a copy of Invitations To Scandal is… Artemis! Congrats, an email has been sent to you 🙂

    Reply
  1. New Book Releases – May, 2012 | The Beau Monde

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

