Bundaberg Writefest

From time to time, our members, being the fabulous writers, presenters and cool types that they are, are invited to be involved in non-RWA writing events (yes, we share them, we’re generous like that).  One such event is the Bundaberg Writefest, the annual festival of the Bundaberg Writers Club, which is on NEXT WEEKEND at CQ University, University Drive, Bundaberg (Queensland, for non-locals!)  RWA Member Kerri Lane (aka Kaz Delaney) is presenting and provided us with this write-up to whet your appetite.  Places are going fast, so if you are interested, you might want to pop over here and check out the booking details.

Writefest or Droolfest?

Bundaberg Writefest   19th-20th May, 2012.

It’s going to be a hot time in old Bundaberg next week and I can hardly wait!

What’s going down?

The famous Writefest!! I was absolutely stoked when organiser Sandy Curtis invited me to share the stage (figuratively speaking) with some amazing people.

Honestly! When I read the names of the other speakers I immediately went into drool mode and started plotting some bizarre sci-fi manipulation that would allow me to be in two or three places at the same time! Holograms anyone?

Yeah, well – considering that my technological proficiency leaves a lot to be desired, maybe that’s not going to happen. I mean – hello? I’ve had my new Smart Phone for a week now and so far I can work the torch and give minute by minute weather reports! You want to shed light on your immediate surrounds or know if it’s going to rain tomorrow? I’m your girl…   Holograms? Cloning? Deep sigh…

I think it’s safe to say that See-Thru, Mini-Me won’t be out front offering writing insights – but thinking, breathing me – will be.

And so what will ‘Thinking-Breathing Me’ be talking about? Well I’m quite excited as I’m going to be offering my thoughts on how to get published in the Education Market – which has been a huge part of my life for sixteen years or more and has resulted in over 60 books – and also in an unrelated session, my alter-ego Kaz Delaney will be offering thoughts on what it takes to be a YA author – which just happens to be my other passion and has resulted in 11 books so far!

I’m also stoked that my amazing editor Rachael Donovan from  Allen & Unwin will be taking pitches as well. It’s kind of our first public date and I’m pretty pumped. What to wear… What to wear…

Just as exciting is that the lovely Lindy Cameron, founder and publisher of Australia’s own Clan Destine Press will also be conducting author/publisher interviews.

And if that doesn’t make you weak at the knees, ;-)  – there might just be a couple of other people who’ll do it for you.

  • Marianne de Pierres who writes sci fi and fantasy
  • Dr John Clarke who’ll get inside the criminal mind.
  • Meg Vann manager of the Australian Writers Marketplace – on digital publishing.
  • Marianne Delacourt Humorous-crime writer
  • Lisa Blainey-Lewin Twine Marketing Publicist  – marketer

For more information on all of the presenters, click here.

This year’s WriteFest also includes a a full day Master Class on Sunday with RWAust member and respected workshop presenter Louise Cusack!

Here’s the blurb:

International Award winning fantasy author and RWA member Louise Cusack will be teaching the Sunday Masterclass (sadly, now fully booked – Ed.) on From character to plot: creating page-turning novels from the characters up, a prelude to her workshop at the RWA conference in August.  As well as writing novels, Louise is also a professional manuscript assessor and writing mentor, with four of her clients published by major print publishing houses and many more finaling in competitions and development programs.  Louise will be in attendance on the Saturday of Writefest to speak to writers individually about their manuscript assessment and mentoring needs during the day.

There’s not much time and not many places left – but I truly urge  you to run – not walk (surely you can run in stilettos?) to the Writefest website and check it out.  You won’t be disappointed.

www.bundywriters.com

www.kazdelaney.com

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. LOL your enthusiasm shines through! Wish I was in QLD rather than ACT, I’d go!

    Reply
  2. LOL Rhyll – we’d LOVE to have you, too – but I understand the tyranny of distance! Thank you for your kind comment; have a great day down in the ACT and keep warm!!

    Reply
  3. amymedicalauthor

     /  May 12, 2012

    I can highly recommend Writefest! It was an editor interview at WriteFest where we got Sister Pact in front of a Harper Collins ed – they went on to offer us a 2 book deal!
    Definitely worth going IMHO!
    And hell, if Kaz Delaney is there, what else could you ask for???

    Reply
  4. Well, exactly! If I lived somewhat closer, I’d be there in a heartbeat!

    Reply
  5. I know , Amy, I know…. Maybe we should rename it Kazfest??? I’m looking forward to it, and I have my game face on – but really? Just another day on the red carpet, shades on, smiling for the droves of paps that seems to sniff me out wherever I go…

    Maybe I should change my deoderant… LOL.

    Okay. Fantasy over. Seriously, I know exactly how you feel about Writefest. I feel similarly about CYA as it was there I met my agent and went on to sell ‘Dead, Actually’ and ‘Almost Dead’. It forms a really special attachment.

    Of course this time at Writefest, I’m dating my editor in public for the first time, so that’s special already!

    Thanks Amy! I hope Sister Pact is slaying ‘em in the aisles. Books shop aisles that is!

    Reply
  6. Thanks Imelda – there are some seriously good things going on at Writefest! And I’m so excited!

    Wish you were coming – we could celebrate the weekend with a good old sing-a-long!

    Reply
  7. Oh, I wish I could go to Kazfest– I mean Writefest! It sounds like a fantastic event. If you do succeed in cloning yourself, please send a version of yourself to me.

    Reply
  8. LOL, Ness! Sandy will never forgive me for taking such liberties! It’s going to be so great though – and we will miss you! And if ever I learn to clone myself I’m sending a copy to you so I can be with you all the time!!!

    Thank you Vanessa! Have a great day. xxx

    Reply
  9. mouse

     /  May 14, 2012

    Reblogged this on WriteFest and commented:
    Kerri will love it hear. Chance to relax among eager writers hanging on your every word – author heaven.

    Reply
  10. annegracie

     /  May 14, 2012

    Writefest is a brilliant event. I was there last year and it was excellent. People come from miles around to attend, and no wonder. Kaz, you’ll have a ball.
    Waving to Sandy Curtis, and all the others in Bundy.

    Reply
  11. I’m so looking forward to seeing everyone in Bundy this weekend. It will be AWESOME!

    Reply
  12. michelledouglas

     /  May 14, 2012

    Kaz, it sounds as if Writefest will be excellent fun! I’ll think of you while I’m locked up in my writer’s garret, gnashing my teeth in jealousy that I can’t be there. :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,790 other followers

