Little Gems 2012 Author – Juanita Kees

Many of you will know Juanita’s name from her various blog posts as member of the RWA Online Team. She can now add author in the 2012 Diamond Edition of Little Gems.

Her short story: Rough Diamond

What challenges you most in writing a short romance story? Do you have any tip/s for writing a short story.

Rough Diamond is the first short story I’ve written. That in itself was a challenge. How would I pack all that emotion, attraction and crux of the story into 3000 words or less? Tips: Write as much as you like, trim it back to the essentials and give it your best shot!

Do you have a favourite line/short piece from your short?

She smiled. “Long story. May I?”

He shrugged and dropped it in her upturned palm. “Sure. For the record and in case you want to sue if the curse rubs off, I’m Rough Diamond.”

Kimberley shot him a disbelieving look. “Really? Is that the best you’ve got?” She turned the ring towards the sun and admired the rainbows of light it cast between them. “I’ll never convince the court to take the case seriously with a name like that.” Her smile softened the words as she ran a finger along the filigree setting around the diamond.

What was your inspiration for the story?

My engagement ring.

What are you working on now? and/or What are your writing goals for the future?

I’ve just had my debut contemporary FLY AWAY PETA accepted for publishing by Eternal Press and am waiting on my first round of edits. The release date is August which coincides nicely with my first RWA conference. In the meanwhile I’m working on the sequel DARKNESS & LIGHT which is still in the early stages. I have two others in the plotting stage and TAMING THE TIGER, my 2011 HMB New Voices entry is a work in progress.

How can people find out more about you/your writing? Do you have a website or blog?

I’d love to chat to readers at my author site www.juanitakees.com and my blog site www.mission-romance.blogspot.com. I’m also on Twitter and Facebook.

Will we be able to catch up with you in person at the RWA National Conference in August?

Yes 🙂

Anthology Orders Now Open

Would you like to order the anthology for yourself, as a special gift or a Christmas (yes I said Christmas) stocking filler?

Orders are now open and we are taking pre-release orders until the end of June, so plenty of time. Use the order form on our RWA website.

NOTE: Pre-release ordering means you are ordering and paying but the anthology will not be available until August (launched at the national conference).
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Carmen

     /  May 22, 2012

    Hi Juanita. Congratulations on your debut book and on making the anthology. Your story sounds quite engaging 😉

    Reply
  2. Hi Juanita,
    You’ve got a lot of coals in the fire. Congrats for future successes and I look forward to reading your story in the anthology.

    Reply
    • Hi and thanks Shayne. I hope you’ll enjoy Rough Diamond and all the other wonderful shorts in the Anthology. I’m honoured to be among such wonderful writing talent.

      Reply
  3. maryde

     /  May 22, 2012

    Wow Juanita, I love those lines. Must get my order in.
    Congratulations ☺

    Reply
  4. How excellent that Fly Away Peta releases around conference time, Juanita. More August fun to look forward to!

    Reply
    • August is going to be a busy month 🙂 I’m looking forward to the conference and meeting all the lovely people who have been so supportive in my writing journey at RWA. We’re going to have a ball!

      Reply
  5. Love that your engagement ring inspired your story. Can’t wait to read it 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Rachael. I love my engagement ring. It really does have a history behind it which always makes things interesting and gives the imagination free reign 😉

      Reply
  6. suzannebrandyn

     /  May 22, 2012

    Hi Juanita
    A great line up. Congratulations. Hope to catch up at the conference. You may not recognise me at the cocktail party though. lol. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Suzanne, looking forward to meeting you. I can’t wait to see the costumes that come out at the cocktail party. It’s going to be so much fun.

      Reply
  7. Carol H

     /  May 22, 2012

    Hi Juanita – congrats on your upcoming publications in August!! Greedy thing, a novel and a short story all in one month. I’m looking forward to reading your short story. Is the hero’s name really ‘Rough Diamond’?

    Reply
    • Hi Carol, thank you 🙂
      How lucky am I? The publishing fairy was smiling down on me this year. As for the hero’s name…well, I’d be spoiling it if I told you 😉

      I hope you enjoy Rough Diamond and all the other shorts in the anthology.

      Reply
  8. Vanda Vadas

     /  May 24, 2012

    Hi Juanita
    Am coming in a bit late here but wanted to stop by and congratulate you on your wonderful success with LG and your debut novel. You must be floating on a cloud of happiness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

