RWA – A Day in the Writing Life of … Larisa Anderson

Warning : Some content not suitable for under 18.

Hello everyone. Well summer is well and truly on its way this week with some hot temperatures. Today we welcome Jacinta Anderson who writes under the name of Larisa Anderson and is sharing a day in her writing life.

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.     I write paranormal erotic romance. I love the freedom building your own world allows. I used to write just romance but a friend turned me on to the fun of creating truly steamy scenes and I haven’t gone back.

What time of the day do you write?     Unfortunately I do have a full time day job working as a librarian for the government. When I don’t sneak in a few minutes of writing at work, you can usually find me curled up on the lounge after dinner typing out a few chapters. I am in no way a morning person!

Where do you write?     I am about to get my own apartment and will be setting up a designated writing area but for now my lap top on the lounge is where I do all of my writing much to the protest of my poor knees.

Are there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?     I love writing with a good show on in the back ground. Castle, NCIS and Avatar: Last air bender, are my favourites at the moment. I have to have noise to keep me awake and the pretty flickering images for inspiration.

What’s the first thing you do before you begin to write?     Check my email and blogs. Reading about others writing is great inspiration to stop looking at blogs and start writing!

Do you spend much time reading over the previous day’s work?     Not really I’m sorry to say. I read maybe a paragraph at the most just to remember where I’m at then I go with the flow.

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser?     I tried to plot one time and got maybe one chapter in before the plot went out the window. I find that plotting restricts my flow, my characters dictate where the story goes so it can’t be planned before they get there. I also prefer to edit at the very end. That way I can go back and check for plot holes and tense issues.

Do you have a schedule that you follow for your writing time?     I don’t have a set word count for my writing. Some days I get more out than others. My biggest goal motivation is submissions. If I find a good publisher or submission call then I get motivated to get it done.

Do you give yourself any writing rewards for achieving goals?     Sending a story in for submission is reward enough.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?     Not really. As I don’t have a writing space as I live in a share house, I can’t really put up posters although I love looking up images of people or locations to give me inspiration.

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions?     I tend to get very distracted so rarely sit for more than half an hour at a time anyway. Having said that I do have RSI so have to make sure that if my wrist starts getting tired that I close the laptop and leave it for another day.

Can you name five objects that are always on or near your work desk while you write?     TV remote control, coke zero, my phone, usually a magazine like House & Garden so that I can look at images of what I wish my writing area looked like.

What is your favourite form of procrastination?     The TV is my friend and enemy. Turn off the Internet! If you get stuck start a new story or make your characters do something really odd: like getting chased by a rhino is my fave. It gets me interested again even though I know I will delete it later.

What’s the last thing do you do before you finish your daily writing session?     Realise I have been watching TV for the last ten minutes and give up. Hit SAVE.

Her new website will be up & running very soon : www.LarisaAnderson.com

Larisa’s books are available from the following sites :

Egyptian Secrets https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/207903

Siren’s Captor https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/151059
Scholar’s Forbidden Lesson https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/160571

Thanks you Larisa for sharing your writing life with us and we wish you all the best in your writing career.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hi Larisa, all the best for a fantastic writing space in your new apartment!

    Your ‘rhino technique’ for getting unstuck sounds interesting, anything to get the writing juices flowing again! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Pages

