Blog Bites with Coleen Kwan

It’s a pleasure to introduce, Coleen Kwan. 


ColeenKwanHeadshot2I write: 
Contemporary romance and steampunk romanceColeenKwan_AshersDilemma

I’m from: I live in Sydney’s inner west. I was born in South Africa and moved to Australia many years ago.

Three words to describe me:  Quiet. Determined. Daydreamer.

 At home I cook:  Something quick and easy. I’m not a very adventurous cook, so I tend to cook the same dishes too often.  I watch Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen Minute Meals for inspiration.

My worst habit is: Being a couch potato. I know I should do more exercise or more housework, but my comfy leather couch is just too enticing.

My first job was: Selling shoes. I wasn’t very good!ColeenKwan_RealMenDontBreakHearts

My day job is: Writer and general herder for two teenagers.

Saving for: A holiday to China.

Three things people might not know about me are:  I like doing Sudoku puzzles. I once won a swimming race for non-swimmers. I prefer winter to summer.

Favourite author: A hard question, but I’ll have to go with Winston Graham. Every few years I re-read his Poldark series. I’m always amazed at the amount of historical detail in his books. The scenes detailing the Battle of Waterloo were compulsive reading for me.ColeenKwan_MoonlitEncounters

Current reading: Chaos Burn by Rebekah Turner

Favourite movie: The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Plotter or panster: I think I am a plotser. Before I start writing, I prefer to have a plot with a breakdown of each chapter, but once I begin writing, the story sometimes takes an unexpected turn of its own. I like it when that happens; it’s like a little bit of magic.

Why I write: I write because of all the silly ideas milling in my head. I write because I like mucking about with words. I write because it’s fun creating characters and stories.


Latest project: 
In the past two months I’ve had four new releases.ColeenKwan_ShortSoup

  •  Real Men Don’t Break Hearts is a sweet contemporary romance set in a small rural town.
  • Short Soup is a contemporary romance featuring Chinese-Australian characters.
  • Asher’s Dilemma is a steampunk time travel romance.
  • Moonlit Encounters is an anthology of short stories my writers’ group has just published.

 Wow, Coleen. What a an awesome and exciting line up. Thank you for sharing with us today.

To find out more about Coleen and her work, go to her website  www.coleenkwan.com

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. fitzroylou

     /  January 11, 2013

    Hi Coleen,
    Wow, what a great year you’ve had. I’ve got Short Soup lined up on my kindle at the moment and I’m looking forward to reading it. Hope 2013 is just as wonderful!

    Reply
  2. So busy! some couch potato! 😉

    Lovely interview — as always! These Bites are fun.

    Reply
  3. Nice to meet you and learn more about your books – which look gorgeous – even yummy!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for stopping by, Lou, Jenny, and Jenn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

