Author Spotlight: Susanne Bellamy

2011 - headshots1. Welcome to the Author Spotlight, Susanne. Can you tell us a little about your book, WHITE GINGER?

Arne recognised his soul mate the moment he saw Amelie but he’s involved in a David and Goliath battle, challenging a big developer whose resort will impact on the reef protecting his small community on Kauai.

Life with Arne is one dangerous adventure after another, jolting Amelie’s boring, predictable life to its foundations. And Arne’s kisses set the fire that blazes through her newly awakened passions. When Amelie’s life is endangered by her involvement with his work, Arne races to save her.

White Ginger was released on 7th January 2013. It came third in the RWA Emerald Award in 2011, and was picked up by Lyrical Press through a pitch competition.

 

2. What do you love most about being an author?

Storytelling. As far back as I can recall, I’ve created worlds and characters. Now, I get the chance to tell the stories that trampoline in my head! I also love that it’s a legitimate part of writing to ‘daydream’! And the absolute  need to surf the net for images of heroes and divine gowns and shoes and gorgeous settings. (Should I stop there? You get the idea)

 

3. Do you have a writing schedule you follow, or are you a ‘write whenever I can’ type of author?

I work fulltime outside of writing so it has to fit in around my bread and butter job. Weekends are prime time for me, and I’m fortunate to have a very understanding, supportive husband!

 

4. Do you write detailed character profiles before starting a new book, or do you find the characters come to life as you write?

Funny thing here is, I usually ‘see’ the first meeting between my protagonists and work from there, exploring their personalities and backgrounds as I shape the first three chapters. They morph into rounded beings as I get to know them, just like you come to know people you’ve just met. Somewhere in there I look for photos of places and real life people who are close to my image of key characters and keep those in front of me for the duration. I pin them to a story board on my PINTEREST page.

 

WG5. Do you find that some of your own life experiences make their way into your stories, or do you make absolutely everything up?

I believe our experiences give us some of the ‘truth’ needed to tell a story with characters who are real so, yes. Amelie in my debut novel White Ginger shares my phobia, a real fear she has to overcome to keep Arne (Keanu) safe.

 

6. Describe yourself in three words:

Techno-gumby, Pinterest-addict, single-malt-lover. (You didn’t say I couldn’t hyphenate!)

 

7. What advice would you give to aspiring romance authors out there?

Join RWA and keep writing—you can’t edit a blank page (my mantra).

 

8. Name three character traits that you think make an irresistible hero in a romance novel?

Honesty, vulnerability, compassion.

 

9. What are you working on now?

The Melbourne Merger, inspired by a recent trip to Melbourne and an abandoned red brick building (think heritage listing) and Nepali Nights, fed by a long ago trip and a husband who keeps returning because—there are mountains to climb!  🙂

 

Thanks for being on the Author Spotlight Susanne!

You can visit Susanne at her website, blog, facebook, and twitter.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Techno-gumby! Love that description from the lady who couldn’t find her way to her virtual book launch! Seriously, Susanne… congratulations on your release and hoping for many more from you. Loved White Ginger!

    Reply
  2. I love the idea of the stories trampolining in your head, Susanne! I also love how you squeezed three lots of hyphenation into your three words… I have recently come around to single malt, so perhaps we shall share a Balvenie one day!

    Reply
  3. Congrats on White Ginger, Susanne. That is one sexy cover. Ah, Single-Malt. I used to work for Guinness, who owned United Distillers, so I was ‘forced’ to drink single-malt on the job.

    Reply
  4. Ah, Annie, my techno-gumbiness knows no bounds! Presently trying to find how to sign in to Goodreads as an author. I just want to see a huge arrow on my screen bouncing in and saying ‘CLICK HERE’. I swear my screen hides stuff from me!

    Imelda and Jennifer, what can I say, you are both obviously women of impeccable taste. Single malts rule! Hard to pick one favourite though – depends on my mood. Thanks for dropping in. A dram of Ardbeg for my next visitor!

    Reply
  5. Ah, you like the smoky ones! I am currently sitting on the floor in front of the whiskey-bearing sideboard and there is a bottle of Ardberg just above my head!

    Reply
    • Then raise a glass with me, Imelda! Also love Talisker and Lagavulin, especially in winter. Dalwhinnie in summer. Do you have other favourites?

      Reply
  6. Good newbie advice. Mine too. It’s wonderful to haave a supportive person, although forcing them to read and re read, as I do, until thier eyeballs bleed is a bit cruel!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

