Blog Bites with Alissa Callen

alissaPlease welcome one of our rural fiction authors,  Alissa Callen.

I write:long and short rural fiction

I’m from: central west NSW

Three words to describe me: wife/mother, dog-walker, introvert

 At home I cook:  anything that I shouldn’t – especially double-chocolate brownies

My worst habit is: Google

It’s a bit daggy but I love: hugging my teenage  kids in public

My first job was: nannying in LondonAC

My day job is:  writing

Saving for: children’s education

Three things people might not know about me are:  Eldest of  7 kids, U2 fan, once lived in a small cottage on the west coast of Scotland

ac book2Favourite author: Louis LÁmour

Current reading: Border Laird’s Bride – Allison Butler

 

When I was young I wanted to be: taller

Why I write: to justify using Google as ‘research’

Latest project: Small town series based in a bush town that holds an annual Elvis festival.

*Thanks so much Blog Bites for having me.

You’re very welcome and thank you Alissa for joining us here today.

If you would like to find out more about Alissa and her life, go to her website http://www.alissacallen.com/

RWA members can take a bite. Contact Kerri Williams to schedule your Blog Bite feature on blogbites@romanceaustralia.com

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Great to read more about you! Ahhh brownies. Not what i needed to read about when I decided to have a healthy day!

    Reply
  2. Hi Beck, thanks so much for stopping by:) I know – brownies are lethal – have already planned to make them for the kids this afternoon. Well, that’s if they last that long:)

    Reply
  3. Love the sound of your latest project! I would love to go to a rural Elvis Festival 😀 Thanks for sharing with us on Blog Bites and good luck with What Love Sounds Like.

    Reply
    • Thanks Juanita:) A town called Parkes (near me) really does have such a festival and I braved the 44C weather to go this year! Eagerly waiting your own Escape release:)

      Reply
  4. Introvert Allissa? I don’t believe you! And I would so love to go to Parkes Elvis festival. It sounds a hoot!

    Reply
  5. LOL That’s so funny – justifying Google. I wished I was shorter when I was young!!!! nice to learn more about you, Allissa.

    Reply
  6. Hi Alissa, I also loved the sound of your new project. It has me intrigued. I was unaware that Parkes had an Elivs festival. Interesting. Nothings hard is it when it’s in the name of research. lol.. All the best, 🙂

    Reply
  7. Hi Alissa!

    Love your books (and scored having you as CP!) Amazing how much you learn about someone from these little bites =)

    Looking forward to reading your new project!

    Reply
  8. kerriepaterson

     /  February 23, 2013

    An Elvis festival – sounds like fun 🙂

    Lovely to learn more about you Alissa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
    S E Gilchrist on 2017 Ruby finalists
    annajacobsauthor on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Bernadette Rowley on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Edexcel GCSE Maths H… on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

