Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Victoria Black

Victoria[1]1. Welcome to the Author Spotlight, Victoria. Can you tell us about your latest release?

Heavenly Revenge is a fantasy, set on another world, in another reality. I love revenge scenarios in romance stories. There’s such yummy room for conflict between the man and the woman he hates, yet desires.  And that’s what Heavenly Revenge is all about, really. Our gorgeous hero hates our lovely heroine, but thinks she’s as sexy as hell. And the revenge he chooses? Well, I do write erotic romance.

Heavenly Revenge was released on 31st January 2013.

2. What do you like most about writing novellas?

Um, I like writing novellas because that’s the length they turn out to be. Of course, you don’t have to be a new author, as I am, to love the length of the novella. Angela Knight, who is a very experienced writer indeed, wrote many novellas. Her Roarke’s Prisoner inspired me to take up writing erotic romance. But to sound a little more professional, I like the tightness of novellas. With no important secondary characters or romances, everything focusses on my couple – always a couple, folks, a man and a woman – on their delicious journey to their happily ever after.

3. Do you have a writing schedule you follow, or are you a ‘write whenever I can’ type of author?

I’m a very busy retired person, trying to fit exercise classes and bridge around my writing. Oh God, the pressure! My husband has recently taken over cooking duties, so I tend to write of an afternoon and early evening.

LiesAndSeduction_125x1904. Do you write detailed character profiles before starting a new book, or do you find the characters come to life as you write? 

I’ve tried writing character profiles, but, while they seem great as profiles, as soon as I start to write, the characters insist on changing the whole plot, their background story, even their sexual affiliations.

5. Describe yourself in three words:

Sociable, Conscientious, Vulnerable.

6. Do you have a favourite craft book for writers?

Passionate Ink: A Guide to Writing Erotic Romance by Angela Knight. It’s not just about erotic romance. It’s a great general craft book as well.

7. What are your favourite genres to read?

Contemporary is my favourite, but science fiction romance and fantasy romance, so long as the couples are human or at least seem human, are great too. Historical genre – anything to do with the Second World War fascinates me.

8. Complete this sentence: When I’m not writing, I’m…

…reading or avoiding housework.

HeavenlyRevenge_SM9. What are you working on now/next?

I’m trying to finish a contemporary erotic romance, written from a man’s point of view, but I also have another revenge scenario half written that I want to finish soon too.

Thanks for joining us today, Victoria!

You can visit Victoria online at her website and facebook.

>> To WIN an ecopy of Heavenly Revenge, leave a comment for Victoria below…

Open Worldwide and winner drawn 8th March.

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Louise D

     /  March 4, 2013

    I wonder if you also had a love of reading as a child. Sounds like you must have.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for being on the blog today, Victoria 🙂

    Reply
  3. You’re welcome, Juliet. I enjoyed it very much. And yes, Louise, I started with Noddy and haven’t looked back.

    Reply
  4. Victoria,
    So lovely to hear a bit more about you.

    Reply
  5. Reblogged this on Sultry Scribes and commented:
    Romance Writers Australia
    Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Victoria Black
    Heavenly Revenge is a fantasy, set on another world, in another reality. I love revenge scenarios in romance stories. There’s such yummy room for conflict between the man and the woman he hates, yet desires. And that’s what Heavenly Revenge is all about, really. Our gorgeous hero hates our lovely heroine, but thinks she’s as sexy as hell. And the revenge he chooses? Well, I do write erotic romance.

    Reply
  6. Thank you, Suzi, and thank you for reblogging onto Sultry Scribes, you I.T. expert, you!

    Reply
  7. Great to hear from another erotic writer, Victoria! I’m dabbling a bit in that pond myself, but still waiting to hear back from my publisher whether I’ve succeeded or not. At first I was surprised how many erotic romances had fantasy or sci-fi settings, but I soon realised that a fantasy setting for what is after all an erotic fantasy was just perfect. Keep it up, Victoria!

    Reply
  8. I think you’re exactly right, Venetia. Our heroes can be whatever we want them to be, without all that annoying sticking to the rules that contemporary heroes are bound by. Good luck with your new story.

    Reply
  9. Hi Victoria, Love fantasy, love romance, love erotic and LOVE REVENGE. Sounds like a great read. I also write novellas – way to go!

    Reply
  10. Lovely to read more about you Victoria and a joy to meet you at ARRC. Hope that we get the opportunity to meet again in Fremantle.

    Reply
  11. Thanks to everyone who dropped by the blog… Virginnia is the winner of Heavenly Revenge! 🙂 …Victoria will be in contact.

    Reply
  1. Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Victoria Black | Sultry Scribes
  2. A Day in the Writing Life of…Victoria Black | Sultry Scribes

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

