RWA – A Day in the Writing Life of… Nina D’Angelo

Welcome everyone to another Day in the Writing Life post.  Joining us today is  Nina D’Angelo who writes crime/thrillers with romantic elements.

Warning: Some content may not be suitable for those under 18.

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.

I’m currently writing crime thrillers with a twist of romance threaded through them. I’d like to eventually fall deeper into writing romances, but crime is something I have a natural talent for. The more twisted the storyline, the easier it is to write.

What time of the day do you write? Are you a morning, night-owl or anytime writer?

I actually prefer to write at night – mainly because it’s been the only time I’ve had to write lately, but I’m trying to mix it up a little and write less at night and more during the day. We’ll see how that goes though. I’m definitely more of a night owl. I hate mornings.

Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary?

At the moment, I’m writing in my bedroom a lot. Eventually, I will use a desk again but at the moment I’m hampered as I don’t have a lot of room. I’m hoping to start writing at a desk around May/June though. To me location isn’t really a big thing, as I can write anywhere. I just put headphones on and write.

Is your writing space messy, organized or somewhere in between? Are you prepared to show evidence of your claim with a desk photo?  

At the moment, it’s fairly clean because I’ve set up a desk in the living room for when I want to write at a desktop. My writing area for the laptop is chaos though.photo[4]

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms? 

I am a little of each. For Nowhere to Run, I actually didn’t plan until the very end of the novel. My main reason for this was it was a kind of spur of the moment book.  I’ve tried planning for Nowhere to Hide, but I find most the time I don’t even read my own notes so what I am doing now is if an idea comes to me, I add it to scrivener, and use it. It’s more dot points though. I haven’t even written notes for the ending of the book, but I know what is going to happen. It’s up in my head.  I also edit as I go…compulsively. I want it as perfect as I can make it before I hand it to an editor. I’m obsessive like that.

Do you give yourself any writing rewards for achieving goals?

No, but I should!! I think with Nowhere to Run, I gave myself a month off from writing. Having said that, that month included edit rewrites, marketing and promoting of Nowhere to Run. After Nowhere to Hide is finished, I’m going to straight into edit mode, promoting, and writing book three.

What is your favourite form of procrastination? Do you have any tips to beat off that old foe “procrastination”?

Facebook or surfing the net. I use that time for ‘research’. If I want to write, I just shut everything down, turn the music up and write. I force myself to not look online during that time. Unless I have to research.

ninadangelo_nowheretorun_eBook_final[1]Here is a sneak peek of Nina’s new release Nowhere to Run.  

She lifted her face from his chest, giving him a shaky smile. “What, Devlin? Isn’t a girl allowed to fall apart just because she needs to cry?”
Jase reached out to tuck a strand of her hair behind her ear, gently stroking her cheek. “Sure she is, if she’s other than you, Carovella. You don’t fall apart. You’re one of the strongest women I’ve ever met. It’s one of the things I love about you.”
Stephanie froze at his words and he stumbled over his next words, “I don’t mean love, love. I mean, that’d be crazy, right?”
“Right,” she echoed, her eyes dropping to his mouth. Leaning into the hand stroking her cheek, she closed her eyes. “It’d be absolutely insane.”
Jase groaned when Stephanie opened her eyes again, enthralled by her amber-gold eyes. “Damn it, Carovella, don’t look at me like that. It makes it hard to resist you.”
Stephanie clutched Jase’s t-shirt, pressing her forehead against his. Her mouth barely inches from his, she whispered, “This would be a really, really bad idea. We shouldn’t even think about it.”
“You’re upset. You’re looking for someone to comfort you. You should talk to Jesse…” he began.
“Except, I don’t want Jesse, I want you, damn you,” she whispered fiercely.
He laughed huskily, leaning into her, his lips pressing a feather light kiss against hers. “This is one of the worst ideas we’ve both probably ever had. Gena’s already warned me about you,” he whispered back, his arms slowly encircling her waist, drawing her closer to him.
Stephanie pulled away, letting her hands creep from his waist to slide up his chest until she reached his broad shoulders, bracing herself against them. “Let me guess, I’m toxic? A man-eater, who has no morals and who doesn’t give a damn about who she hurts? I’ll chew you up and spit you out? Then I’ll break your heart all before I’ve had my first cup of coffee and then leave you, without looking back?” She questioned mockingly, her eyes flashing with pain, before she carefully hid the hurt.
He nodded, his grin slowly fading, when he saw her pain. “Here’s the thing,” he began, shaking his head. He reached out against to stroke her cheek. “I just don’t care. Right now, you could break my heart. You could walk away without a backward glance. Hell, you could burn down my house and I just wouldn’t care.” He paused, grinning at her again. “But, please don’t.”
“This can’t happen. I told myself I wouldn’t let it happen. You’re too dangerous. You make me feel things, emotions I don’t want to feel for anyone ever again,” she confessed. Closing her eyes, she took a deep breath, trying to control the roller coaster of emotions churning inside her.
Slowly opening her eyes, she stared into his emerald-green eyes, her lips curving into a smile. Pulling him closer, she whispered, “Well, Gena once said I was destined for hell. If I’m going there, I might as well do it with style.”

There’s a lot more, but I’ve run out of room. Trust me, it’s hot! Thank you for being our guest Nina.  For more information on Nina’s new release please visit her website and other social media sites.

Website: http://www.ninadangelo.com

Twitter: @janinedangelo

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/ninadangelo

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ninadangeloauthor

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
    S E Gilchrist on 2017 Ruby finalists
    annajacobsauthor on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Bernadette Rowley on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Edexcel GCSE Maths H… on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

