Author Spotlight and Giveaway: Dana Mitchell

Venetian Affair  Dana Mitchell

Your debut novel, ‘A Venetian Affair’, was released on March 15. Congratulations! Can you tell us a little about your book?

Thanks so much, it’s definitely a dream come true! In ‘A Venetian Affair’, Helen Stoddardt has snatched a week out of her cold sterile existence back home in Sydney, singing as part of a trio in Venice. When she meets merchant banker Gabriel Venier, she experiences one night of incredible passion and then leaves at dawn, thinking she’ll never see him again…

 Can you give us a sneak peek from your book, maybe a brief excerpt from a favourite scene, or the first sentence?

He was here again.

Helen Stoddardt couldn’t help the little flutter of excitement that accompanied the recognition. Safe behind her half-mask and dark-haired wig, she allowed her eyes to linger on the man seated at one of the tables, left of the little stage. 

It was the third evening in a row…An earnest waiter had delivered a flower after Helen’s first performance. It wasn’t one of the standard, wrapped single roses from the flower sellers plying their trade in St Mark’s Square but a lily. A deep pink lily, already open and releasing its magnificent scent.

Where did the idea for ‘A Venetian Affair’ come from?

Two scenarios helped me create this book. My wonderful husband took me on a tour of Europe a while ago and one of the absolute highlights was visiting Venice Island. I loved the old cafes and the little groups of opera singers that wandered here and there.

Also, I really enjoy opera but my favourite artist is classical singer named Filippa Giordana. So it was easy to imagine my heroine, Helen, singing in St Mark’s Square. Bella!

How important is being a member of the RWA to you, and do you have a critique partner?

Being an RWA member is extremely important to me. Without the RWA and its fabulous support network, contests, awesome volunteers and industry contacts, I think realising my dream of being published would have taken me a lot longer.

I have a couple of CP’s. The awesome Louise Reynolds that I have learned so much from and count as a dear, dear friend who has been along my journey from when I first joined RWA. I also have a CP that does not read romance but is happy to critique my manuscripts. Also, my mum loves to read my work but is always asking, ‘Do they have to make love in every book?’ *tee hee.

What is the best advice that anyone ever gave you?

The feedback from my first contest entry in the Valerie Parv Award in 2008! All other feedback stated that my entry was less than readable (I think I came second last out of more than 80 entrants!). But one judge wrote in big letters at the end – Don’t. Give. Up.

After sobbing my heart out and not writing for three days, I toughened up and kept going. Thank you, kind judge, you will never know how much your words have helped keep my dream alive.

 Panster or plotter?

I am both! Which makes writing life so hectic. There are times I am all in my head. Yet other times, I feel a need to write out the plot on the back of a discarded envelope (I can hear the plotters shrieking in horror, LOL). Mostly, I’m a panster. I think of various scenes and then create my characters, building their personalities, their dreams and disappointments and childhood memories – all in my head.

Discovering GMC has been the highlight of my writing journey! And most of the time if I do write a plot, my characters take over anyway. J

Did you want to be a writer when you were growing up?

No. I had struggled for years to find something that interested me enough to actually stick with. Writing has been the only profession I’ve ever stuck with, through good times and bad. There have been times when I’ve written four words for the entire night/day. But I’ve still written, so that suggests to me that I’m pretty much going to do this until the end of days.

What have you done to develop your craft?

Because of children and working, I haven’t had time to do any writing courses and have never had any formal education in writing. However, RWA contests have been the best thing for my career. I never entered a contest to win, but entered for the feedback – it’s gold. That, and the conferences. I can’t urge people enough to try their best to get to a conference. Just being around other writers, industry professionals and pitching in front of editors gives you and your craft such a boost. Pitching almost makes me vomit, I get that nervous, but it’s something I’ve forced myself to do, just to experience sitting in front of an editor talking about my book!

What would you say to new writers working on their first novel or stories?

Don’t. Ever. Give. Up! Haha, it’s true. I know so many people that don’t receive encouragement from their family or friends because they’re writing ‘romance’. At the RWA, we are your writing family and we will always encourage you.

If it’s your dream to have a book published, have a willingness to learn, don’t aim too high only to experience crushing disappointment, however don’t sell yourself short. Be humble, listen to those who can inspire you and tell the negative thoughts in your head to take a hike!

When do you find the time to write?

Ha! I have two small children in primary school and I work full time. I’m usually out the door by 7.00am and coming home around 5.30pm. Most of my writing is done at night or on the weekend (depending on other activities), so I don’t get a lot of time, or a lot of sleep! But I love it and am committed to it 100%. When you love doing something, it’s not a hardship. I only wish I was committed to exercising as much, LOL. 

Thank you for taking part in our Author Spotlight!

You can read more about ‘A Venetian Affair’ or contact Dana at the following:

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Publisher: Destiny Romance – Penguin Australia

To be in the running to win a $25.00 e-Gift Card from either Amazon, Apple i-Books or Kobo, simply describe  in 20 words or less why you think Venice is so romantic.

This competion is open worldwide and will be drawn on Wednesday April 2, 2013.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Louise Reynolds

     /  March 27, 2013

    Hi Dana. Waving madly and sending big hugs! It was only a matter of time till your gorgeous stories found a home. We started the journey together and here we are 🙂 Congratulations on the release of ‘A Venetian Affair.’ It’s a fabulous book!

    Reply
  2. Dana, what a wonderful hubby you have! I wish I could say why Venice is so romantic, but, alas, I haven’t been there (I’m guessing it must be all those swoony Italian men though *wink*).

    So thrilled to see your debut book on the virtual shelf 🙂

    Reply
  3. christinestinson

     /  March 27, 2013

    So happy for you, Dana. I thoroughly enjoyed, ‘A Venetian Affair’. You made me cry. Twice. Congratulations on your first release and wishing you so many more.

    Reply
  4. Congratulations on the new release Dana. Venice to me is showing off my year 12 history knowledge to my husband when we visited the Doges Palace.

    Reply
  5. So happy to see your book out there Dana. Really inspiring story about your 2008 Valerie Parv entry, you deserve every success. XOX Mel

    Reply
  6. Lou, it makes me tear up reading your comments. We have been on the journey together, which makes it so, so special to have shared it with you. Mwah! Thanks so much! xo

    Reply
  7. Anita, DH booked the o/s trip citing, ‘I didn’t really want to go, but I knew you’d always wanted to.’ He is my hero, that’s for sure. Am very lucky! Don’t worry, I have a feeling you’ll get to Venice, and more soon! xo

    Reply
  8. Chris, just returning the favour. ❤ Your fabluous book, Getting Even With Fran made me cry numerous times, it was so good! Thanks so much! xo

    Reply
  9. Sasha, LOL, me too, although my memory is not good at all. I love history, and the Doge’s Palace was amazing. For me, St Mark’s Basilica was the most impressive. It had an atmosphere unrivalled in all the Basilica’s we visited around Europe.

    Reply
  10. Okay, Lou and Dana, now I’m crying!!!!! But then I smile at your mums comment. priceless. Big congrats to you.

    Reply
  11. Mel, thank you so much! I know its a much-used phrase but ‘If I can do it, anyone can’ is so apt. xo

    Reply
  12. Thanks fabulous Jenn J! LOL, my Mum says that ALL the time. I say its intrinsic to modern-day romance, Mum. She sniffs and pooh-pooh’s. Tee hee! xo

    Reply
  13. Tracey

     /  March 27, 2013

    Dana, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your Author Spotlight. Almost as much as reading your wonderful book A Venetian Affair which I absolutely LOVED! You have worked so hard for this so it is lovely to read comments from others that are enjoying your writing as much as I am. Looking forward to reading more from the Dana Mitchell collection. (Soon hopefully!) Your biggest fan, Tracey. 🙂

    Reply
  14. Hey Dana

    Waving madly! Congrats again – on my TBR pile in my iPad!

    mmm Venice is romantic because: Illuminated bridges beckon your heart as the ancient spirits of the city captivate your soul, you can’t help but fall in love. (Okay admitting its 22 words… but whats 2 words between writers?)

    Well that’s my theory anyway…

    So glad you never gave up and took that positive judges comments and continued your journey!

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

    Reply
  15. I’ve bought “A Venetian Affair’ and can’t put it down. The settings, the tension, the steamy tension between the leads – bellissimo! Everyone should dally with ‘A Venetian Affair’.

    Reply
  16. avalonne83

     /  April 3, 2013

    Thank you for the giveaway! I’d love to be entered.

    Please count me in. Thanks.

    avalonne83[at]yahoo[dot]it

    Reply
  17. Congratulations to our winner of Dana’s gift card, Tina Marie Clarke. Your description of Venice was spectacular!

    Reply
  18. Aww thank you Sarah!!! But in truth no one can describe Venice and give it justice – its one of those places you just HAVE to visit at least once (or more times) in your life! LOL

    Thank you Dana!!! So looking forward to reading A Venetian Affair soon!

    Smiling!
    Tina

    Reply
  19. Huge Congrats on your book. You are a real inspiration. Jen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

