Author Spotlight and Giveaway: Elise K Ackers.

Welcome to the Author Spotlight, Elise, and congratulations on your latest release, ‘Ask Me To Stay’!

Ask Me To Stay cover

Can you tell us about your new release, the first instalment in the Homeland novella series, ‘Ask Me To Stay?’

Ask Me To Stay introduces almost all of the main characters who will appear throughout the three book series. It is a story about reputation, redemption, loyalty and love; and a man who has more secrets in his life than any one person should be expected to carry. It’s contemporary and rural, with romantic elements.

Ethan Foster fled the small country town of Hinterdown, New South Wales in his late teens, following the terrible tragedy which made him an orphan. He returned as infrequently as possible; a fleeting presence at whatever milestone his brother Dean was celebrating. But now Ethan’s back for the funeral of Dean’s late wife, and this time Ethan’s staying for as long as it takes for his brother to get back on his feet.

The townspeople’s reception is hostile: Ethan is not welcome, and not well liked. Only Ethan knows he’s carrying someone else’s poor reputation.

Two people who are willing to look past the rumours are Caleb, his old best friend, and Sammy, the girl he walked out on all those years ago. With them in his corner, Ethan may get the second chance he has been longing for. And maybe, just maybe, he and Dean can start being brothers again.

Can you give us a hint as to what will happen in the second and third novellas?

The second and third novellas continue the romance arc established in the first. I’ve always loved reading trilogies and the like, because I get to stay with the characters just a little longer, which is definitely what happens in the Homeland books.

Ask Me For More, to be released in July, is mostly about Cal. His journey is all about trust, and learning that the right person won’t find you lacking. Sammy’s childhood best friend, Olivia “Lawless” Law, is coming back to town, and she’s about to rattle every one of Cal’s carefully assembled defences.

Ask Me For Tomorrow is Dean’s book. It’s about giving yourself permission to be happy and not letting the past rule your future. It’s also about a little boy who is desperate to belong, a man who has enough room in his heart to start again, and a woman who is so out of practice with being happy, that it doesn’t come naturally to her anymore. Ask Me For Tomorrow will be released in October. 

You wrote the first draft in three days! Was this an idea that had been brewing in your mind for a while or was it one of those wonderful writing moments when the magic takes over?

I took part in the International 3-Day Novel Contest, and those three days were complete madness! All I had at the beginning was an intriguing sentence and a handful of dot points to outline each chapter. Beyond that, I just wanted to reconcile two brothers I’d been thinking about for a few weeks. There were a few magic moments – like little Nina, who just dropped into my imagination, fully formed – but mostly it was hard work and the love of a challenge.

Elise K. Ackers

You made a name for yourself in international writing competitions prior to being published. How can competitions help aspiring authors?

We probably all have parents, siblings or friends who think we’re the best writer since Jane Austen. This is very sweet and loyal, but this kind of feedback won’t help aspiring writers improve. Entering competitions was my way of getting impartial, industry-relevant advice from other writers, avid readers of the genre, and past competition winners. My returned score sheets were invaluable.

Competitions are an excellent way for aspiring authors to determine if they’re ready to submit to agents or publishers, or if their manuscript is ready to be self-published. Some judges are agents or publishers who may request a partial or full manuscript, which is an enormous opportunity.

You’ve lived all over the country. How has this helped shape you as a writer?

It’s made me very adaptable. There isn’t much which overwhelms me (says the woman with no kids), so set-backs and challenges are all pretty much taken in stride. I also have an appetite for adventure and change – I love travelling and experiencing the nuances of different places. I reference a lot of the places I’ve lived and visited when I write about different colloquialisms, ways of life, climates and traditions.

Can you tell us a bit about the unusual accidents you attract?

People always seem to be saying to me, “This has never happened before”. I was once standing in front of a shop window when the glass fell out of the frame and landed on me. These sort of one-off things are typical. Whenever I travel, things happen that surprise even the locals. It makes for an interesting life. And I always have travel insurance!

If I wasn’t an author I’d be…

A film critic. I am an avid couch commentator, and I have an eye for inconsistencies.

After all the drafts and re-edits, how do you know when you have truly finished?

Part of me wants to say never, because something can almost always be improved, but once I’ve received peer reviews, incorporated comments and corrections, and given my manuscript a final polish, I tend to sit back and think about letting it go. Otherwise I’ll overwork it.

Once the structural and line editing is done, I keep wondering what I might have missed, or what I could have done better, but hopefully I learn to let go a little more with each book, otherwise I’ll run out of head space! 

Do you have a writing room? If so, can you describe it to us?

Almost half of the wall space is floor to ceiling books. The ceiling is criss-crossed with multi-coloured bunting and fairy lights, there’s a thick white rug in the middle of the room, two antique chairs, a recliner passed down to me through the generations, dozens of knick-knacks from my travels around the world, and of course, my writing desk. It’s a pretty magical space for me. I’ve surrounded myself with things I love and things which inspire me. There’s also a lovely stone coaster which is more often than not underneath a mug of hot chocolate.

What’s next for Elise K. Ackers?

This year will be largely taken up by the Homeland books, but when I’m not dancing around the house celebrating their releases, I’ll be writing the romantic suspense and new adult titles which are presently taking up a lot of my imagination real estate.

Elise is giving away one copy of her latest release, ‘Ask Me To Stay’ (e-book). To be in the running to win, simply leave a comment, answering the following question:

Have you ever taken the blame for someone else’s mistake?

This competition is open world-wide and will be drawn by Elise on Wednesday, May 1st, 2013.

You can contact Elise, or learn more about her, via the links below:

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Blog

Destiny Romance

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Now that’s an interesting question. Growing up with two older sisters i was certainly blamed for things i didn’t do (pick on the little one) but no, I don’t think I’ve ever worn the blame for someone elses mistake. I’ve owned plenty though!!

    Reply
  2. kerriepaterson

     /  April 24, 2013

    A first draft in 3 days??! Eeek! I’m in awe 🙂
    I don’t think I’ve ever taken the blame for someone’s mistake – certainly not a major one 🙂

    Reply
  3. Agreed, I make enough mistakes without taking the blame for anyone else’s. Congrats Elise!

    Reply
  4. Reblogged this on bernadette rowley and commented:
    Congrats to Elise on her recent Destiny release. Hope you enjoyed this insight into a writer’s life.

    Reply
  5. I’m not sure if this counts but when I used to argue with my brother, even if he was wrong I’d end up apologising just to have a return to peace.

    congratulations on your new book Elise 🙂

    @Kaetrin67

    Reply
  6. Congratulations on your release, Elise. The homeland series certainly sound like an interesting read!
    As for the blame …. not sure whether it counts, but sometimes I take the blame for one of the kids when they did or took something to/from each other – to keep the peace 😉

    Reply
  7. Great interview, Elise. Congratulations on your forthcoming release. I love rural contemporary romances / stories.
    I took the blame once at work for something a co-worker did…that co-worker at the time happened to be my romantic partner. Needless to say, that relationship ended!
    My loyalty was obviously misplaced. But I dont regret it, just hope I’ve learnt from my mistake.
    Your writing room sounds fabulous, I think I might move in. All the best for fab sales

    Reply
  8. Hi Elise,
    I loved reading about your inspiration for your books. I don’t think I’ve taken the blame for anything – it was the other way around when, in year 5, my best friend at school got in trouble for talking in class when it was really my fault. I didn’t own up and my friends didn’t talk to me for a week. Lesson learned.

    Reply
  9. And the winner of Elise’s newest release, ‘Ask Me to Stay’ is…Iris B! Congratulations Iris!

    Reply
  10. Wow ! Thank you. I look forward to reading Elise’s book.

    Reply
  11. Hola! I’ve been reading your website for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Imelda Evans on April OWLs
    Imelda Evans on Book Promo for the 21st C…
    Bernadette Rowley on Book Promo for the 21st C…
    Mel A ROWE on April OWLs
    Barbara Strickland on Love Gone Wild – Dance a…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

