RWA – A Day in the Writing Life…Ann B Harrison

Welcome everyone to another Day in the Writing Life post.  Joining us today is Ann B. Harrison.

Please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.

054A3757_pp_1My first book was young adult. The story chose me and I still write YA along with contemporary rural romance. When I wrote my first book Witchling I often imagined myself wandering in the dark. At least that is how I felt. I had a book I had to write but how did I start? How did I mould my characters and put them in the right space? Should I copy someone else’s style or try to find my own? There were a million questions running through my head and I was totally lost. My solution, join RWA and start to follow the members reading their posts and blogs. With any luck some of their magic would rub off on me. I had so much to learn and it took me a while to find my voice but find it I did.

What time of the day do you write? Are you a morning, night-owl or anytime writer?

I try to get all of my social media stuff out of the way earlier in the day and then I start on my current WIP. No distractions if it is all I have to concentrate on.witchling

What’s the first thing you do before you begin to write?

I go back a couple of pages to get into the flow of the previous days work.

Is there any particular rituals you do to set the mood / harness your muse?

To get into the zone when I was writing Witchling, I put Pink’s Australian Tour DVD on my other computer. Turned it up and let rip. I find if I have loud music on, especially writing YA I can get more creative. I managed to knock out 3 of the 4 books in that series in 2 years. Music seems to make me work faster.

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?

I don’t use any visuals if I’m doing a single book but when I do a series I take over the walls with pictures, timelines and sticky notes to help me remember finer details.

Do you give yourself any writing rewards for achieving goals?

My DH does actually. Every time I get a contract for a new book he buys me a new charm for my Pandora bracelet.

Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions?

If I’m struggling for words I will give myself a break to stretch or make a cup of tea. If the words are flowing I can go for hours without stopping.

What’s the last thing you do before you finish your daily writing session?

I email myself a copy of the latest WIP and send it to Dropbox before turning off the computer.

Thank you for being our guest Ann.  For more information on Ann and her books, please visit her website and Facebook page.

Ann B. Harrison

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. You’re very lucky to have such a supportive husband; he sounds wonderful! I haven’t read your YA books yet, but it’s going to be a ripper that topples Red Hot for me! I’m just a sucker for a hot man on a motorbike. Cheers, Susanne

    Reply
    • He is pretty wonderful Susanne. I even having him taking the background pictures for my books now. Have a look at Outback Gold. John did that shot of the old pub.

      Reply
  2. Jenn J McLeod | Come home to the country...

     /  April 26, 2013

    Wow! I had no idea you were so versatile. Fabulous to learn more about you and your writing.

    Reply
  3. I didn’t know you wrote YA – you do get around, don’t you?! 🙂 Lovely to read more about you.

    Reply
    • I do Kerrie, get around. My YA is under the name Ari Harper. One book in a four book series is out now, Witchling, and the second is in edits. Love to write YA.

      Reply
  4. Great article & loved learning more about you Ann. I also didnt know you wrote YA. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    timothyjcharles on 2017 Ruby finalists
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    TracyB on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

