Riding the Waves Conference Spotlight ~ Kim Hudson

Welcome to a conference spotlight

from the

Riding the Waves conference!

Today we have Kim Hudson who will be presenting the workshop THE VOYAGE OF A WRITER.

logo_yellow_bg

kim_hudsonBio

I grew up in the Yukon, a Hero’s daughter with a Cinderella Complex. Basically life taught me many things I would need to write this book. I spent the first half of my career exploring my masculine side, first as a field geologist and later as a federal land claims negotiator. Exploring my feminine side became important as I raised my two daughters. This lead me to study Writing for Film and Television at Vancouver Film School, and take courses on mythology, feminism and psychology including a Jungian Odyssey in Switzerland. This theory was developed by closely observing the archetypal expressions that are all around us in movies, music, television, advertisements and stories of personal growth, including my own. The Virgin’s Promise is my first book.

Tell us about yourself in 10 words or less.

If there was a Practical Philosopher position I would sign up!!

What prompted you to put together this workshop for “Riding The Waves”?

One of the things I most enjoy about my work in archetypes is that people invariably say, love the structure – it’s the story of my life!  I started to wonder if this is more than co-incidence.  Maybe story is a way we learn about our potential and how to navigate the ups and downs of human existence?  This is the inspiration for my talk on The Voyage of the Writer.  It is a combination of translating the structure into real life situations and real life experience.

 

Will there be hands-on exercises or audience participation?

I like my audiences to have lots of opportunity to engage with the ideas.  Have a pencil and paper to do little exercises and bring your thoughts.


Do you use examples (from your own books, other books, movies etc)?

Definitely, we’ll be looking at The Virgin and the Hero journeys and figuring out where we are at on our personal journeys – will a little inspiration from great movie moments.

 

Anything you’re particularly looking forward to at the 2013 Riding The Waves conference in Fremantle?

The parties really sound like fun.  I am looking forward to meeting all the people who have been introducing them selves to me on facebook and my blog – and the other presenters!  They sound interesting.



Any advice for conference first-timers?

This will be my first time at a Romance Writers Association gathering as well.  Already they have been warm, fun, and organized.  Looks like we are in for a great event.



Finally, we are so delighted you’re visiting us in Western Australia. Is there anything in particular you’re looking forward to seeing or doing while you’re here? 

I want to hike and see the wild flowers.  Soaking up a little beach culture would be great too, although I am too afraid of sharks to go in the water (in my defense I am fine with grizzly bears).  Australia is so different than where I live in northern Canada.

 VirginsPromise

~~~

Thank you, Kim!

Kim is also presenting our Friday Workshop VENUS ON THE HALF SHELL.

For more information on this workshop, click here.

Remember, Early Bird Registration  ends today – Don’t miss out!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. kerriepaterson

     /  May 1, 2013

    I’m so looking forward to your workshop, Kim!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    S E Gilchrist on 2017 Ruby finalists
    annajacobsauthor on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Bernadette Rowley on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Edexcel GCSE Maths H… on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
    Marnie St Clair on Emerald Award and Emerald Pro…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

