RWA – A Day in the Writing Life…Tea Cooper

Welcome everyone to another Day in the Writing Life post.  Joining us today is Tea Cooper.

Author Photo_TéaCooper_small

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.

I write contemporary and historical romance. I started writing contemporary but became thoroughly side tracked when I volunteered to do Museum duty in Wollombi once aWollombi-Tourism month. I had access to all the original documents and photographs and it wasn’t very busy… the result was my first historical romance Lily’s Leap.

Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?

My first book Tree Change was pure panster. It wasn’t until I signed up for Smackdown and NaNo last year that I had a full synopsis before I started. The story changed a fair bit from the original but I found it so much easier. Since then I’ve taken to plotting, especially when I’m writing a historical. There’s nothing worse than discovering your perfect black moment can’t happen because something hadn’t been invented! I tried really hard during NaNo to strangle my inner editor but I wasn’t very successful. I usually read the day before’s work before I start writing and do most of my editing then. Then edit again, and again when my story is complete. And again after my CP has seen it.

Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary?

tea coopers writing spot I’m very spoilt! I have an indoor office and an outdoor office and I’ve kicked the car out of the garage and almost finished creating a library. It’s a lovely space, especially in the cooler weather. I also take my trusty Macbook down to the museum and the local coffee shop so yes – the location varies!

Do you use whiteboards, posters, visual aids to help in your creativity?

I’ve got a whiteboard and I often try and use it. I like the idea but it doesn’t really work. I’m much more bits of paper and note books person. I love notebooks! I collect pictures of characters, clothes, settings and use them as a slideshow/screen saver and transfer them to Pinterest when they are definite. Setting stories locally makes it really easy, especially as Wollombi is pure time warp. I just go for a walk or sit in one of the period rooms at the museum…I did manage to get locked in the cell one day so I now make sure I have the keys in my pocket!

tea coopers deskIs your writing space messy, organized or somewhere in between? Are you prepared to show evidence of your claim with a desk photo?

I’m fairly organized but sometimes it gets too much and I blitz it. Having the library is great because I can leave reference books and maps out for as long as I need, and having a research assistant ready and waiting is an added bonus!

Upcoming Releases:     

•                The Protea Boys – May 3rd Breathless Press

•                Lily’s Leap – May 6th Lyrical Press

•                Passionfruit & Poetry – June 17th Crimson Romance

•                Matilda’s Freedom – July 1st Harlequin Escape

Tree Change Protea Boys cover

Thank you for being our guest Tea.  For more information on Tea and her books, please visit her at her Website:  www.teacooperauthor.com

Contact e-mail: teacooperauthor@gmail.com
Twitter: @teacooper1
Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. You are on fire, Tea! Maybe my love of notebooks and bits of paper will rub off on me! What a role model you are!

    Reply
  2. So glad you are part of Crimson Romance! And I agree with Piper, you are a dynamo. May you have much success and many sales in the next few months.

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by Deborah. You guys at Crimson have been so very welcoming. I shall be forever grateful.

      Reply
  3. Love your outdoor office, Téa! I’d find it hard to get any work done 🙂

    Reply
    • I like working with the bush around me. I’m obviously a Tree Changer! I’d get sidetracked on the beach.

      Reply
  4. I am fascinated by that cover! Very striking. Congratulations on that wonderful line up of new releases, Téa. I’m looking forward to reading every one of them 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Juanita. I’ve been really lucky with my covers – there are some talented artists out there.

      Reply
  5. That new release schedule leaves me dizzy, Tea. Really looking forward to meeting you soon in Margies…
    Lily M

    Reply
  6. Tea, great to learn more about you and your books.

    Reply
  7. What a wonderful research resource, Tea! I can see why you just had to write historical. I love the idea of sitting in a period room for inspiration, although being locked in one is perhaps a little too much of a good thing. Absolutely lovely post – the pictures were great!

    Reply
    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post Venetia! Wollombi’s a fascinating place…the people as well as the surroundings.

      Reply
  8. It is lovely getting to know you better, Tea. Here’s wishing you many sales.
    -R.T. Wolfe

    Reply
  9. Impressive line-up of releases – and I just *love* those covers. Your writing life sounds beautifully varied and organised. Good luck with everything!

    Reply
  10. Thanks Beverley. I’ve waited a long time to do this and my life is pretty much perfect right now!

    Reply
  11. Great to hear how you write and to have a nosey at where you write. Wollombi sounds like the perfect place to immerse yourself in times gone by! Good luck with all your wonderful books.

    Reply
  12. sourris25

     /  May 13, 2013

    Your library and museum work sound ideal for a writer! Lucky you! All the best with that dizzying schedule, Tea.

    Reply
  13. Thanks for stopping by everyone and don’t forget to call in for a conducted tour of Wollombi if you are ever in the area!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Mel A ROWE on 2017 Valerie Parv Award f…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Isabella Hargreaves on Love Gone Wild – Why wri…
    Otis on 2017 Ruby finalists
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

