Author Spotlight and Giveaway: Anna Campbell…

Congratulations, Anna on the release of  A Rake’s Midnight Kiss.

Where did the idea for  A Rake’s Midnight Kiss come from?

Usually for my stories, I get a really vivid scene that sets me off on the rest of the book. With luck, it’s the opening scene (that’s what happened with  Seven Nights in a Rogue’s Bed). In the case of  A Rake’s Midnight Kiss , it was the scene of the first kiss. I had an image of a girl swimming naked in a forest pool by moonlight when a man who arouses both her mistrust and fascination stumbles upon her. That struck me as pretty sexy. What didn’t strike me as nearly so sexy was that I had no idea who these people were or what they were doing tempting scandal in such a way!

Rake Amazon

Ultimate hero material? Ultimate heroine material?

Oh, wow, how long have you got? Actually I don’t think there’s that much difference between them in essence (sixpack aside!). Ultimate heroes and heroines should either have or be capable of developing qualities like honesty, honour, humour, intelligence, courage, selflessness. You know, all those cardinal virtues!

You write historical romance, but are there any other styles or genres you’d be interested in exploring down the track?

What an interesting question. I adore writing historical romance, although perhaps one day it might be nice to venture outside the Regency period and UK settings. I’m currently on a mystery series craze and wondering whether maybe I could write something along the lines of a C.S. Harris or a Jacqueline Winspear. I like the way you can pack more historical detail into a mystery series and also that you can do a long romantic arc across several books. That’s definitely way into the future, though, if it ever happens.

You’ve won multiple awards in recent years, what’s it like to be the recipient of so many?

Lovely! Seriously, the thrill never goes away to know someone likes the books enough to give them a gong. I’m particularly proud of the Aussie awards – there’s something wonderful about having people in your own country appreciating your writing.

rogue cover

Of all things you have accomplished, is there one accomplishment you are most proud of?

Wow, another interesting question. Getting published in the first place after a 27-year apprenticeship was pretty special! Otherwise, I might pick two things. One was winning the final Emma Darcy award in 2006 before I was published. Emma Darcy is such a mainstay of Aussie romance, it was enormously encouraging when she chose my manuscript  The Magnificent Marriage as her winner that year. And I might also choose seeing  Captive of Sin, my fourth book, selected as one of Publishers Weekly’s five best mass market paperbacks published in 2009.

How do you know what to name your books or the characters?

Character names are strange beasts! I find that I have to come up with the right name for my characters very early in the piece or the story won’t fly. Sometimes the name comes straightaway. Sometimes I need to stew long and hard over it. With book titles, I always have a working name for the story. With the six books I published with Avon, only one of my titles was used,  Untouched. The others were mostly variations on the working titles. For example, My Reckless Surrender was originally  Reckless Games. With Grand Central Publishing, so far, they’ve used all my working titles for the published books which makes me very happy – I get very attached to my titles!

What was the first story you ever wrote?

I decided very young I was going to write novels – Enid Blyton was my model as a child! My first attempt at a full-length story was a rip-roaring EB clone about horse-napping called the Rochedale Mystery that I started in grade 3 and never finished.

Of all the individuals you’ve created, do you have a character that is especially close to your heart?

Oh, that’s like asking me to pick a favourite child! I have to say I loved writing Sir Richard Harmsworth from A Rake’s Midnight Kiss. I’ve always had a soft spot for charming men who conceal their wounded souls beneath a careless grin and a witty riposte.

Anna Campbell 43970006

What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever received?

I remember Robyn Donald saying at an Aussie conference years ago that the only people guaranteed to fail as writers were the people who gave up.

Tell us something about Anna Campbell that might surprise your readers.

I did a lot of research on alpha males using the Aussie Rugby team who went on to win the World Cup under John Eales. Sadly, not in person!

Can you please tell us about ‘A Rake’s Midnight Kiss’ and maybe give us a sneak peek?

A Rake’s Midnight Kiss is the story of a man who becomes a hero despite himself and a scholarly bluestocking who discovers there’s more to life than books. Here’s a short excerpt. Sir Richard Harmsworth has adopted the alias Christopher Evans in his quest to regain a family heirloom. Genevieve Barrett’s instincts tell her not to trust him. She’s just about to discover that he’s moving into her house as her father’s student:

Genevieve shut the door to keep the cat in the parlor. Mr. Evans stopped, blast him, in the flagstoned hall. The space had never felt so small. He turned to her, genuine puzzlement darkening his features. “Why don’t you like me, Miss Barrett?”

She couldn’t help herself. She laughed. “Hasn’t anyone ever disliked you?”

He had the grace to look slightly shamefaced. “If I say no, I’ll sound like a complete ass.”

“Although nobody ever has disliked you, have they?”

He shrugged. “Generally not young ladies.”

Her lips quirked with wry agreement. “I can imagine.”

He stepped closer. With difficulty she held her ground, although every feminine instinct screamed to run. “I’d like us to be friends.”

Web links

Website

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Anna is giving away two print copy of A RAKE’S  MIDNIGHT KISS courtesy of HarperCollins Australia (for Australian  addresses only), and one print copy for International entrants.

You can enter by answering Anna’s question: Sarah asked me about my ultimate hero. I’d love to know who your ultimate hero is and why!

The winner will be drawn on September 3, 2013,  and will be notified by email.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. bettysunflower

     /  August 27, 2013

    He’s a tortured hero that overcome great odds to win his lady.

    Reply
  2. A Rake’s Midnight Kiss sounds fabulous, Anna. You write such great dialogue!

    Hmmm, heroes. Well as it is my wedding anniversary in two days, I’m going to have to say my husband is my ultimate hero. Anyone who can put up with my craziness for that length of time deserves the hero accolade!

    Reply
    • Jen, I think it’s lovely you choose your husband! And thanks for saying such nice things about Rake. Actually the dialogue in this one was SUCH fun to write. They were two people who didn’t want to give an inch, but in fighting those inches, they ended up surrendering a mile. Always love that dynamic!

      Reply
  3. Soan

     /  August 27, 2013

    My hero is someone who not only loves the heroine with all her quirks (in fact adores her quirks), but respects her as an individual and supports her in all her crazy dreams.
    (Lucky to say this also applies to my fiancé)

    Reply
    • Soan, how lovely! I think it’s so true that a real hero appreciates the quirks in a heroine – and a real heroine appreciates the quirks in a hero! Quirks forever!

      Reply
  4. Denise Matthews

     /  August 27, 2013

    Honestly…God…just because He’s God and He understands me when no one else does, and I can count on Him NO MATTER WHAT! Just keeping it real.

    Reply
  5. Okay, it’s official! I want an RWA conference with a cocktail party theme that means we have to wear a dress off an Anna Campbell novel! (and who is betyy Sunflower. What a wonderful name. It actually made me smile! Lovely post – naturally.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Jenn! Actually I went to a fancy dress party a couple of months ago where you had to go as a character from your books. I went as the UNCLAIMED Courtesan! Snerk! Had fun putting on too much make up and something too tight for me! Betty S does have a great moniker, doesn’t she?

      Reply
  6. Stephanie

     /  August 27, 2013

    Ultimate hero is honest, selfless, protective, humorous and strong willed. Luckily I married a man who fits all those qualities.

    Reply
  7. elena k

     /  August 27, 2013

    The perfect hero is someone honest, protective, smart and with humor. I also love when he is alpha male and playful but with the woman he loves he shows a sweet and romantic side. The book looks great. Thanks for the giveaway

    Reply
  8. Aly P

     /  August 27, 2013

    Hmm. I think whatever works perfectly for the heroine, what might work for one doesn’t work for another. My personal fave is Lothaire, he’s an antihero, ruthless and… well… evil with anyone not the heroine. I love that in my heroes.

    Reply
  9. Oooh! My ultimate hero…any one (or all) of your deliciously naughty rakes would suit me just fine, thanks 😉

    Reply
  10. Hello again, Anna. Loved this interview. I also liked the fact that you used the Aussie Rugby Team as an example/models for your alpha heroes. 🙂 And I liked the last bit of Richard’s dialogue in this excerpt: “I’d like us to be friends.” There is a world of meaning in that small sentence, as if to say “said the spider to the fly.”

    Reply
    • Ha ha, Janice! At one stage, Genevieve actually challenges him with ‘said the spider to the fly’ – she’s pretty awake to what a rogue he is! So glad you enjoyed the bit of dialogue!

      Reply
  11. An intriguing hero is one who is strong on the outside and vulnerable on the inside 🙂

    Reply
  12. Ada

     /  September 1, 2013

    Hi Anna, thanks for the sneak peek of ARMK, I have it on my wish list! A hero should be selfless and true to himself no matter the cost. Thanks for the chance to win!

    Reply
  13. Anita H.

     /  September 1, 2013

    I love reading about heroes who would do anything to win their lady. He has to be protective, loyal and trustworthy with a dash of humor.

    Reply
  14. Hi Anna,
    Fantastic interview. And thank you for the advice about hanging in there. The ultimate hero question is really hard. I know it’s a cliche and it’s not romance but in terms of a heroic figure, Nelson Mandela comes to mind. He spoke out for justice and equality, suffered the consequences and emerged from his lengthy incarceration without losing any of his passion or commitment to a just cause. He is amazing.

    Reply
  15. Elysa Riedel

     /  September 3, 2013

    On the surface he’s perfect but if you did deep enough he has a flaw – just like we all do.

    Reply
  16. And the winners are: ShayneSands, Ada and The Australian Bookshelf. Congratulations to you all. Harper Collins will be in touch with you in order to arrange delivery of your fantastic gift!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    Karen on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
    My naughty story is… on Spicy Bites placegetters
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – The fir…
    quantumgirl65 on Love Gone Wild – The fir…
    Imelda Evans on April OWLs
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

